1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Greetings Guest!!

    In order to combat SPAM on the forums, all users are required to have a minimum of 2 posts before they can submit links in any post or thread.

    Dismiss Notice

50 - 90% CPU Usage?

Discussion in 'UHall' started by Vyal, Mar 27, 2012.

  1. Vyal

    Vyal Guest

    Since the last patch client.exe has been using 50 - 90% CPU, how do I fix that? Also have been having 75% packet loss to every single shard.
     
  2. Uriah Heep

    Uriah Heep Crazed Zealot
    Stratics Veteran Alumni

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    Messages:
    3,834
    Likes Received:
    2,361
    I run Norton, even tho a lot of yall dont like it, Ive never picked up any problem it couldnt handle. And I'm a in and out player during the days, play 20-30 mins, then log and work around here, then back to play. When I log out, I just log out, and dont quit the game, I always left the login screen showing to save a bit of time when I came back to play. Was never a hassle till lately, now when I come back to log back in, Norton will have a warning up about UO using excessive system resources, this is new from a couple of months ago. If I've shut it down, how can it still be using one whole processor?
     
  3. Llewen

    Llewen Grand Inquisitor
    Professional Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend Campaign Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Messages:
    4,699
    Likes Received:
    200
    Maybe this is the reason the publish has been delayed?
     
  4. Bobar

    Bobar Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    2,044
    Likes Received:
    577
    I also use Norton as it happens and I too now get the occasional warning telling me a file is using most of a CPU. It also identifies the culprit as UO.

    A new phenomena for me as well, must be something in the recent patches.
     
  5. CovenantX

    CovenantX Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    Messages:
    2,778
    Likes Received:
    1,418
    I've been having problems patching on my Win-XP-Pro system, both win-7 and one win-vista systems patch/work fine though.

    about half way through the patch it hangs and stays there for hours on end (win XP system) I just haven't tried to reinstall yet, since I normally don't play UO on that pc anyway.
     
  6. Lynk

    Lynk Grand Poobah
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Messages:
    6,032
    Likes Received:
    145
    IF I'M NOT AT 100% CPU USAGE THAT MEANS MY <THIRD PARTY PROGRAM OMITTED> ISN'T CRANKED UP ENOUGH BROS.
     
    sirrojen likes this.
  7. Vyal

    Vyal Guest

    So should I use it, would that help if I do?
     
  8. Cirno

    Cirno Purple Pony Princess
    Stratics Veteran Alumni

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    Messages:
    961
    Likes Received:
    224
    At the login screen (and the connection lost dialogue), the Classic Client will nom an entire core of CPU cycles.
    It just isn't coded not to.
    Within the game, it should be down to how much is going on in the game window, and how many gumps/spell icons you have up.

    75% packet loss to all servers sounds like a problem with your internet, probably within a few hops of your home.
     
    Lord Frodo likes this.
  9. Vyal

    Vyal Guest

    It was comcast was having issues thats what caused the packet loss. But the CPU usage is another story, ever since the recent publish it's been doing it. When the client changed to the UOP files.
     
  10. Dan123The123Man

    Dan123The123Man Lore Master
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2004
    Messages:
    1,162
    Likes Received:
    57
    8 gigs of ram with a decent computer only running UO I often spike 30-40% CPU usage... Kind of ridiculous. Someone in-game told me to run /reducecpu so i'm always trying to remember to turn it on when I get in game. I have /releasemem tied onto a macro to a few keys that I use often and even using those I still lag... It suck ass.