1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Greetings Guest!!

    In order to combat SPAM on the forums, all users are required to have a minimum of 2 posts before they can submit links in any post or thread.

    Dismiss Notice

A small introduction and a quick question regarding 3D client

Discussion in 'UO Siege Perilous' started by Teperen, Sep 3, 2009.

  1. Teperen

    Teperen Guest

    Hello everyone,
    first of all i would like to do a small introduction about me at the community.

    My name is Teperen and i a new to UO (xmm already started sounding like an AA meeting :S) I am/was playing WoW and some ppl from my guild mentioned UO and to be more specific they mentioned Siege shard as a very hard core pvp one.
    Having a few days to spare during my holidays i decided to give it a try and see what this UO is all about (I consider it as a tribute to the grandfather of all mmo) and with that in mind here i am starting an account to UO.
    With my background of 3D gaming 2D client was feeling a bit ... weird so i decided to go to the new one the 3D client.

    This was feeling much better than the 2D but still weird, but i got used to it after a few days. Recently someone asked me if i use UO map, well the newbie i am i start looking for it trying to see what it is and how it can be used. I found it, install it then i found out that UO Assist was needed, i installed that as well and then have rounds trying to make it work at windows 7 :S

    To cut the story short, i did eventually figure out how to install UOAssist and make it work with the 2D client.
    Every time i try to do the same on the 3D client it crashes less than 1 min in game, i was wondering, is there any way to use the uomap (and assist) on the 3d client? if so can you please point me to a url with instructions ?

    TIA
    Teperen
     
  2. Duke SP

    Duke SP Guest

    Welcome to Siege Perilous
     
  3. Faeryl

    Faeryl Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran Alumni

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    2,059
    Likes Received:
    476
    Duke, that was completely unnecessary.

    Welcome to Siege Teperen!

    I unfortunately can't be of much help to you, since I've never used UO map or UO Assist before. Hope you get a helpful answer soon though :D
     
  4. Wulf2k

    Wulf2k Stratics Legend
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend Crusader of Chaos

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2004
    Messages:
    7,565
    Likes Received:
    314
    Stay on topic Duke.

    It's bad form to weird out the newbies in their intro thread.

    To (not?) answer the question, I don't know. I only use the 2d client.
     
  5. Duke SP

    Duke SP Guest

    Seriously, no fun.:D
     
  6. Wulf2k

    Wulf2k Stratics Legend
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend Crusader of Chaos

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2004
    Messages:
    7,565
    Likes Received:
    314
    Not as fun as your mother.

    ...No, seriously, she's a fun lady to be around.

    *has violated no RoC*
     
  7. Duke SP

    Duke SP Guest

    She's dead, congrats on the improved post count.
     
  8. Wulf2k

    Wulf2k Stratics Legend
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend Crusader of Chaos

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2004
    Messages:
    7,565
    Likes Received:
    314
    I aim to please.
     
  9. Tiberius

    Tiberius Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2008
    Messages:
    2,269
    Likes Received:
    47
    I think most of us play in 2D, antiquated as it is, because that is what we are used to. I also have no idea about map and uoa mshign with 3D. I use both but I run 2D. IMO I like the 2d better for pvp than I did 3D when i tryed it years ago.
     
  10. Fanta(Siege)

    Fanta(Siege) Guest

    Well if you came to siege because of your friends so called "hard core pvp" which it is you wont want 3d client :p
     
  11. UncleSham

    UncleSham Certifiable
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2004
    Messages:
    1,688
    Likes Received:
    66
    i run 2d ... i believe you are speaking of the "kingdom reborn" (KR) client. uoassist and automap do not function in KR .(they have their own map and macro system)

    its only 3d i know of since they canceled 3rd dawn . 3rd dawn was a monumental failure . it was slow as chrismass and didnt even look very 3dish .

    i tried kr briefly and went back to good ol' 2d. i think youll want to do the same as the 2d client uses much less resources and actually makes you a little faster in game . so unless you have a completely uber system , if you are here for the pvp , youll have to get use to our antiquated graffix . which if you look closely , are prety sweet . you can see that player x has a broadword . you can see him swinging it... its prety detailed for an old client.

    oh and welcome to siege . closest thing you'll get to a true uo experience.
    ive played the "normal shards" ... this is where its at.
     
  12. Teperen

    Teperen Guest

    As far as i understand it people are used to the 2D client, and it fits for them, which is absolutely fine!

    Consider my view now how can i say that 2D is better if i don't have experience on both versions? (2D and 3D)

    ATM because of my background on 3D games, i find it more easy to use than the 2D. If i try the 3D enough and see that "is not cutting it" then i will try the 2D (by that time i will be a bit more familiar with the peculiarities of UO) and maybe agree with you and call myself silly for trying the 3D one.

    Until then i would like to see what the 3D client could offer me :D

    So my question remains, if it can be done, how do i do it? :D
     
  13. Wulf2k

    Wulf2k Stratics Legend
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend Crusader of Chaos

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2004
    Messages:
    7,565
    Likes Received:
    314
    I don't think UOAM will ever work right. Last I heard, development had stopped on it.
    UOA, your best bet would be checking out the official UOA site(/forum?). Which I do not know.
     
  14. UncleSham

    UncleSham Certifiable
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2004
    Messages:
    1,688
    Likes Received:
    66
    cant be done .. automap and uoassist dont funtion in that client.

    perhapse when the SA client comes out on the 8th uoassist is rumored to work with that ... but its not out yet so ... *shrugs*
     
  15. kelmo

    kelmo Old and in the way
    Professional Stratics Veteran Alumni Dread Lord

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    17,375
    Likes Received:
    4,685
    Try the new enhanced client. I feel you will like it fine if you are carrying no preconceived notions. I will elaborate more when I get out of the dish pit.
     
  16. IanJames

    IanJames Certifiable
    Stratics Veteran Alumni

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,769
    Likes Received:
    101
    Go visit the Enhanced Client Forum for more help.
     
  17. Bruin

    Bruin Guest

    Welcome to Siege! Consider NEW if you'd like some guidance about in-game things or training.

    In terms of clients - neither UO-assist or UO-auto map will work with any of the new clients. Most pvp'ers use the 2d client. Perhaps out of habit of being ingrained to it for the last 10 years. Issue was, you needed uo-assist to compete, and uo-assist only properly worked with the old 2d client. Now, the new client has many features that uo-assist brought to the table, I just don't know if it's enough as I've never tried it.
     
  18. Mr.StinkyPants

    Mr.StinkyPants Slightly Crazed
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,448
    Likes Received:
    1

    what to soon?
     
  19. Teperen

    Teperen Guest

    Well after seeing the all of you agree UOAssist and UOMap does not work with the 3D client, i guess i will have to live without them :D

    Now if i see that 3D client is a 'no go' for pvp then i will try the 2D one.

    Thanks once more for the speed and accuracy on your answers.

    Teperen