1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Greetings Guest!!

    In order to combat SPAM on the forums, all users are required to have a minimum of 2 posts before they can submit links in any post or thread.

    Dismiss Notice

Accounts' status

Discussion in 'UHall' started by Ivory Norwind, Jan 9, 2010.

  1. Ivory Norwind

    Ivory Norwind Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    2,373
    Likes Received:
    10
    If i buy a new account how can to know if it's "clean"?
    Without jail, warning and so on?
    Also for my accounts, i have a more 120 months account. I don't remember is sometimes i was in jail ( sure one time many years ago :()
    Is there a way to know the status of one's own account?
    Thanks
     
  2. hungry4knowhow

    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2008
    Messages:
    579
    Likes Received:
    116
    not sure on checking status of your own account. good question

    on buying accounts, the only way to get a clear account is to use EA's account transfer program, uo.com > Acct Managment > Transfer Program. That clears any and all marks on the account.
     
  3. Ivory Norwind

    Ivory Norwind Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    2,373
    Likes Received:
    10
    I can't because i would to call in America :(
    But i'd like to know for my own accounts. In the site manage account there's nothing, and nothing between the information of the account....
     
  4. Ivory Norwind

    Ivory Norwind Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    2,373
    Likes Received:
    10
    Some answer?
     
  5. Tina Small

    Tina Small Stratics Legend
    Stratics Veteran 4H

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    7,527
    Likes Received:
    1,914
    Ivory, based on this question and answer in the official Knowledgebase, it looks like EA has a policy against giving players this type of information about their own account:

    http://support.ea.com/cgi-bin/ea.cfg/php/enduser/std_adp.php?p_faqid=677.


    P.S. It's still just Saturday morning in North America. Most of us are in a time zone six to nine hours behind you, Ivory.
     
  6. mandosa-nice

    mandosa-nice Guest

    The First owner of the account you want to buy can't reclaim it after you have pay 30 Fully day charge in the account. This rule is in the FAQ EA Account policy.

    You can be scammed only for the 30 first days, Transfer EA solution or not is the same rule. Only after you have pay the first 30 days and its cool for you !

    PS : For the transfer EA account solution, you need to phone and send a FAX to EA with all your coord etc, and this solution take 1 at 2 weeks...
     
  7. Salivern_Diago

    Salivern_Diago Lore Master
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,112
    Likes Received:
    41
    Ahh now here's a thing...

    According to EA's website they will only divulge information if a court orders it or for a criminal investigation. Ok fair enough in SOME countries...

    Now EA is a registered company in the UK and trades here... Now under the Data Protection Act, if a company within the UK is ordered by a 'person' to give them a copy of ALL information held within thier systems (Be it computerised, paper or images) then that company is held accountable by law to do so (For a small fee which is normally a £1 or some simular amount). If they refuse to do so or fail to comply with said order from persons seeking thier personal information, they are breaking the DPA and thus liable to be sued.

    I dont know where your located Ivory but if your country has simular data protection laws and EA is a registered company in your country then they HAVE to give you that data upon request. Companies often try to tell you that thier Terms of Service is binding etc, but that dosnt mean it surpasses the law. If the law says you can do something, then it dosnt matter a bean what the Terms of Service says... Your covered by law.

    So in short, if you have a data protection law in your country then you can request the information from EA and they are liable if they refuse.

    Hope that helps a little.
     
  8. Restroom Cowboy

    Restroom Cowboy Visitor

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2008
    Messages:
    3,283
    Likes Received:
    0
    I think that accounts are cleared of any marks upon purchase and usage of expansion. I cannot verify this, but perhaps a dev. could.
     
  9. Ivory Norwind

    Ivory Norwind Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    2,373
    Likes Received:
    10
    It's a fine thing:)
    Thanks, Restroom Cowboy. I hope is it true :)
    But where i can see it' if it's really true? I think that i have to write to a dev.

    Tina small, you have all the reason but normally i've been playing on Europa forums and sometime i forgive that when it's time to work for me, for many other person it's time to sleep. Sorry again.

    Salivern_Diago, i'll try to go to EA and i hope to resolve my problems.

    Thanks to all :)
     
  10. Ezekiel Zane

    Ezekiel Zane Grand Inquisitor
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2003
    Messages:
    4,556
    Likes Received:
    113
    Accounts are only cleared of all previous marks IF you use the official 'Account Transfer program', it's the only way.

    Just taking over an account and paying the monthly fee to play does NOT clear any previous marks.
     
  11. Ivory i am a keepper of memories! I can tell you that you have 2 marks on your current account due to unattended macroing. I remember you making a post about it.
     
  12. Lynk

    Lynk Grand Poobah
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Messages:
    6,032
    Likes Received:
    145
    :lol:
     
  13. Ivory Norwind

    Ivory Norwind Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    2,373
    Likes Received:
    10
    No, it's not for the account of Ivory.
    I have 5 accounts but normally i post as Ivory also if it is for another account of mine.
    I have 1 mark for afk, but not in the account of Ivory ( that you know, i've posted very angry because i've seen the GM, but i've crashed and my internet connection was back about after 1 hour)
    So i must know the status of all my accounts :)
    I have 2 marks in the forum ( i have to say all that i think, always)
    But i don't remember other mark in all accounts.
    But i want to be sure :)
    How can i do?
     
  14. Ezekiel Zane

    Ezekiel Zane Grand Inquisitor
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2003
    Messages:
    4,556
    Likes Received:
    113
    Ivory, you may as well just stop worrying about it. There's no way to find out how many marks an account has.

    I'd like to know, out of curiosity, about one of my accounts. I took one over many years ago and couldn't use the account transfer process because the guy I bought it from wasn't the original owner either. Bottom line is, they will not tell you.

    If you really want to clear it, then find someone to do the official transfer with and then transfer it back either officially or unofficially.
     
  15. Ivory Norwind

    Ivory Norwind Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    2,373
    Likes Received:
    10
    'Account Transfer program' is for account that i buy. But for my accounts?
    Accounts 8, 9 years ? Memory lack, sometimes :(
    And the 'Account Transfer program' needs a call in america. 2 months of job ( i mean money), for me, in Italy? Calls are very very expensive
    And me, that i don't understand spoken english?
    Ultima online is a play for all languages, also if italian is not supported. What can i do, close my accounts?
    Tina Smalll, i've understand. But in many years i can make some mistakes that i don't remember.
    What have i do?
    No, i don't like this. If i can't know the status of my accounts i really became very angry
     
  16. wanderer1origin

    wanderer1origin Lore Master
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Messages:
    1,064
    Likes Received:
    48
    could just not cheat then have no worries LOL!!!!!!!!!!!
    if u script and get caught it happens why scripters use temp accounts




    QUOTE=Ivory Norwind;1573252]No, it's not for the account of Ivory.
    I have 5 accounts but normally i post as Ivory also if it is for another account of mine.
    I have 1 mark for afk, but not in the account of Ivory ( that you know, i've posted very angry because i've seen the GM, but i've crashed and my internet connection was back about after 1 hour)
    So i must know the status of all my accounts :)
    I have 2 marks in the forum ( i have to say all that i think, always)
    But i don't remember other mark in all accounts.
    But i want to be sure :)
    How can i do?[/QUOTE]
     
  17. Muu Bin

    Muu Bin Guest

    One thing to consider based on what Salvern suggested to you is that EA could simply refuse to provide you with the service. Sure, it might be possible to get the courts to order the release of the information in the UK, but then EA could simply turn around and tell you your account is closed and they no longer want you as a customer. Call it a silly conspiracy theory but stranger things have happened between multinational companies and individuals. They have deeper pockets than you do...
     
  18. Xenobia

    Xenobia Lore Keeper
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Messages:
    790
    Likes Received:
    5
    Who cares? I mean, if you don't do anything wrong...why are you so worried? I have accounts that belonged to other people and have had no issues at all. One of the accounts still has a guy sitting in jail on another shard which totally cracks me up. I don't cheat, script etc. so I don't care.
    Just chill, play the game and don't "AFK" as you put it, while macroing.
     
  19. Ivory Norwind

    Ivory Norwind Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    2,373
    Likes Received:
    10
    That is the problem :)
    AFK
    I remember that there is 2 times, in two different accounts, that have me a warning for afk while i'me here.
    The first time i was macroing in vesper bank, lockpicking. A GM put me in the moongate room but i was speaking with him. But no account blocked.
    The second times was when i had a computer crash. I saw the GM, i saw his words but i've crashed for about an hour ( i live in country and the internet connection is very very bad):
    So i'd like to know if there some warning that i don't remember.
    In so many years there is a chance to have had one.
    PS: I don't AFK :)