1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Greetings Guest!!

    In order to combat SPAM on the forums, all users are required to have a minimum of 2 posts before they can submit links in any post or thread.

    Dismiss Notice

Anyone else getting lag again

Discussion in 'UHall' started by Snakeman, Nov 25, 2008.

  1. Snakeman

    Snakeman UO Forum Moderator
    Moderator Professional Premium Wiki Moderator Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2002
    Messages:
    4,961
    Likes Received:
    165
    I know last evening (Mon) a few friends in Canada were unable to play because of lag. I was fine. Now this am I am getting the intermitent lag monster :sad4:. My trace route from a few min's ago to napa


    [​IMG]
     
  2. Chaosy

    Chaosy Guest

    I have a friend who gets routed through ATT servers and gets 100% packet loss through each of them, so his lag has been pretty bad.
     
  3. Nastia Cross

    Nastia Cross Guest

    Yeah my lag was pretty bad last night.. sheesh I can't even get the UO trace utility to work =\ But my ping was around 200-300 last night when it is usually 20-40.
     
  4. MalagAste

    MalagAste Belaern d'Zhaunil
    Reporter Professional Governor Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend Campaign Supporter Royal Knight

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2000
    Messages:
    18,959
    Likes Received:
    5,449
    Never quit getting lag.
     
  5. Iget routed thru Level3.net and AT&T. Level3 last 2 hops and all AT&T hops are 100% loss. I have not even logged in for days - it's just not worth it any more.
     
  6. drinkbeerallday

    drinkbeerallday Visitor

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,175
    Likes Received:
    0
    my ping is fine and i have no packet loss but i'm still getting the jagged gameplay. (as of now) this happens even in dungeons. it's not the occasional stutter you get while running near houses or in Luna.
     
  7. Aboo

    Aboo Guest

    What do you mean again? I've never gotten rid of the lag.
     
  8. drinkbeerallday

    drinkbeerallday Visitor

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,175
    Likes Received:
    0
    it's been 1 full week since this post

    you are starting to abuse our patience.
     
  9. Tina Small

    Tina Small Stratics Legend
    Stratics Veteran 4H

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    7,527
    Likes Received:
    1,914
    After experiencing some bad freezing multiple times on GL this morning, I let the UOTrace program run for most of the afternoon and evening today, polling the Great Lakes server. Below is what it's come up with so far.

    HTML:
    Host Name                                       IP Address          Hop    Ping Time   Ping Avg   % Loss   Pkts r/s      Ping best/worst
    * Unknown Host *                                0.0.0.0             2      0ms
    ge-2-1-ur01.denver.co.denver.comcast.net        [redacted]          3      9ms         9ms        0%       1785 / 1789   7ms / 114ms
    te-8-3-ar01.denver.co.denver.comcast.net        68.86.103.1         4      8ms         9ms        0%       1785 / 1789   7ms / 206ms
    * Unknown Host *                                68.86.128.249       5      8ms         9ms        0%       1784 / 1789   7ms / 36ms
    * Unknown Host *                                68.86.91.17         6      10ms        10ms       0%       1786 / 1789   7ms / 55ms
    pos-0-10-0-0-cr01.denver.co.ibone.comcast.net   68.86.86.22         7      11ms        11ms       0%       1782 / 1789   9ms / 51ms
    te-4-4.car2.Denver1.Level3.net                  4.79.82.57          8      10ms        21ms       0%       1786 / 1789   9ms / 283ms
    ae-32-56.ebr2.Denver1.Level3.net                4.68.107.190        9      9ms         16ms       0%       1786 / 1789   9ms / 116ms
    ae-1-100.ebr1.Denver1.Level3.net                4.69.132.37         10     10ms        16ms       0%       1785 / 1789   9ms / 141ms
    ae-2.ebr2.Dallas1.Level3.net                    4.69.132.106        11     37ms        31ms       0%       1788 / 1789   24ms / 190ms
    ae-62-62.csw1.Dallas1.Level3.net                4.69.136.138        12     30ms        31ms       0%       1785 / 1789   24ms / 147ms
    ae-1-69.edge2.Dallas3.Level3.net                4.68.19.12          13     25ms        29ms       0%       1786 / 1789   23ms / 134ms
    * Unknown Host *                                192.205.35.141      14     25ms        26ms       0%       1786 / 1789   24ms / 128ms
    tbr2.dlstx.ip.att.net                           12.123.16.198       15     72ms                   100%     0 / 1789
    cr2.dlstx.ip.att.net                            12.122.18.205       16     72ms                   100%     0 / 1789
    cr1.attga.ip.att.net                            12.122.28.173       17     73ms                   100%     0 / 1788
    cr2.wswdc.ip.att.net                            12.122.1.174        18     72ms                   100%     0 / 1788
    tbr2.wswdc.ip.att.net                           12.122.16.70        19     73ms                   100%     0 / 1788
    gar2.ascva.ip.att.net                           12.122.113.73       20     72ms                   100%     0 / 1788
    * Unknown Host *                                12.116.77.34        21     74ms        72ms       28%      1277 / 1788   69ms / 419ms
    fert08-eqx-iad.ea.com                           159.153.224.234     22     73ms        82ms       0%       1783 / 1788   69ms / 289ms
    greatlakes.owo.com                              159.153.233.71      23     75ms        72ms       0%       1781 / 1788   69ms / 167ms
    The "Unknown Host" at 12.116.77.34 (last hop before hitting an EA router) with the 28% packet loss is another AT&T router. It's too bad the other AT&T routers in line before it apparently don't respond to polling requests.
     
  10. Basara

    Basara UO Forum Moderator
    Moderator Professional Wiki Moderator Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend Campaign Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2003
    Messages:
    8,464
    Likes Received:
    587
    It varies by firewall software, but what keeps uotrace from working is usually either the firewall stopping the program itself (in which case you need to add it to the list of programs allowed to access the internet) or the firewall blocks the ICMP protocols it uses (a little more complicated to fix, but doable). Check the documentation for your firewall (and check any forums they might have for users to help each other with issues)
     
  11. Basara

    Basara UO Forum Moderator
    Moderator Professional Wiki Moderator Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend Campaign Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2003
    Messages:
    8,464
    Likes Received:
    587
    Gotta love internet backbone issues.

    I was getting 300ms+ pings to the chicago sprintnet router (the first one upstream of my ISP, and my 4th hop total), though I'm running good now.

    Snakeman's trace shows an Alter.net issue at the time he made his

    And, Tina's.... well, that's just an insane trace. It's the longest trace I've seen for a trace within 2000 miles, I've seen.

    1. There were some twitters at an ISP level (one should never see a 3-digit ping in your first two stops of a trace upstream of your router, unless you are having to manually allow those two sites on the first jump through your firewall), but since they average out, they appear to have been abberations - but if they continue, it's something to talk to a real tech about. The jump onto level 3 is as bad as mine onto sprintnet earlier, and is an issue of itself right there.

    2. Then, her trace goes wandering around Dallas for a while. My guess is that Level 3 is having issues there, and had to reroute onto AT&T's backbone, because SIX stops in Dallas (3 Level 3, 2 AT&T, and an unknown between them that is probably the bridge between the two) are a bad sign.

    3. Then you get to Ashburn, VA (all east coast shard taces go to DC, then to Ashburn on the way to EA, it seems, regardless of whose backbone is used), with no pings allowed, so you can't tell the exact point where that issue is occurring that is making the earlier level 3 issues that much worse at the interchange between AT&T & EA (hop 21, that last unknown host).

    It's enough to make you want to scream.

    BTW, something to keep in mind for traces - It's a good idea to learn the naming conventions for the routers on the major backbones you routinely find your traces going down.

    Examples:

    1. Level 3 is usually easy. They put the City name in the router name, City(number) - Dallas1, Dallas3, Denver1, etc.

    2. Alter.net is a bit harder, but you can guess the names from the abbreviations - I think I see Boston, MA and San Jose, CA in Snakeman's jumps.

    3. AT&T is a bit more difficult. Look at the 5 letters prior to ip.att.net.
    (2-letter city)(letter - no clue what it's for)(2-letter state)
    Examples of this are wswdc (Washington DC), ascva (Ashburn, VA), dlstx (Dallas), attga (Atlanta)

    4. Then you got Sprintlink. sl-(XX)##-XXX.sprintlink.net. The numbers and (XX) is the router type code (backbone, data center, gateway, etc). The XXX is the 3-letter city abbreviation for the router location. Harder to figure out, but sprintlink actually has a publicly accessible page that makes it easier to look around, even ping between their routers. It also has maps of their net backbone to let you see where the links between them are. Sprint's Looking Glass
     
  12. Snakeman

    Snakeman UO Forum Moderator
    Moderator Professional Premium Wiki Moderator Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2002
    Messages:
    4,961
    Likes Received:
    165
    Early Thanksgiving morn (12:30am) Still the lag pockets. Playing with 5 different people, from all over the USA & Canada. All 5 getting the lag at the same time & may times if we are running side by side in the same place we are getting it... So to me that points to EA server issues. (people are located in Vt 1, Saskatchewan Canada 2, Calif 1, & Arizona 1 )

    [​IMG]
     
  13. Flutter

    Flutter Always Present
    Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    May 12, 2004
    Messages:
    21,553
    Likes Received:
    3,840
    You're not really getting 100% loss to those AT&T servers. They have just blocked them so you can't ping them.
     
  14. Beastmaster

    Beastmaster Guest

    The problem is in EA routers/switches, noth the servers, trouble is the people that made them work have been laid off and the people that took credit for all their work in the past now have to do the job and don't know how.

    *down off soapbox*

    Happy Thanksgiving America!

    Rest of the world, carry on.
     
  15. drinkbeerallday

    drinkbeerallday Visitor

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,175
    Likes Received:
    0
    bump: huge, game stopping problem. needs to be fixed ASAP.

    note to Stratics mods: threatening/harassing me is not going to fix the problem for me, you, or anyone else. the Dev's/EA are the ones to blame here.
     
  16. Inspector

    Inspector Guest

    Nope lag free since 2003
     
  17. Phaen Grey

    Phaen Grey Lore Master
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,053
    Likes Received:
    7
    Low pings, but 90+ % packet loss to all North American servers since Tuesday.
     
  18. drinkbeerallday

    drinkbeerallday Visitor

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,175
    Likes Received:
    0
    I agree, everything has been great since AoS and even before AoS.

    Problem is a lot of us are experiencing intermittent stutter, etc...

    The Dev's are doing absolutely nothing about it. It's been weeks. I figured we might hear something this past Monday and obviously now I don't expect to hear anything until at least Dec. 1st. I've been having problems since Nov. 9.

    Pretty sad..............
     
  19. Zooithion

    Zooithion Crazed Zealot
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    3,771
    Likes Received:
    0
    They fixed the router problem so my trace route looks good but when actually playing, there is BAD stutter and lag like behavior. It's really getting old. I had not had problems for several years but the last 2 months have been terrible.
     
  20. Maplestone

    Maplestone Crazed Zealot
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2008
    Messages:
    3,657
    Likes Received:
    9
    *raises eyebrow*

    Interesting ... I'm not experiencing that at all - for me everything has returned to normal. Are you seeing any packet loss?
     
  21. BadManiac

    BadManiac Guest

    I'm also in Canada, North BC, and I'm having the same issues. I had lag of above 500 before whatever they did, now it's more realistic.
    I get about 40 ping to pacific now, which is my closest shard, and about 150 to Europa, my old home shard. 150 ping isn't great but it should be playable, and 40 should be flawless, but it's still step-step-freeze on both those shards, exactly the same. Totally unplayable for me.

    This is on a 10Mb/1Mb cable connection, router is fine, DMZ set up to my PC so no port forwarding issues, windows XP pro on my PC with all updates and latest drivers, and TCP Optimizer ran, recent anti virus and malware scans done... Tested both with wireless network card, on board, and a gigabit ethernet card, exactly the same problem.

    My ISP, Shaw, also have no problem, for as long as I'm on the Shaw network my ping to each step stays below 20 all the way out.

    So 40 ping 0% packet loss to Pac, still freeze lag every few steps. Europa, three times the ping, 0% loss, exactly the same freeze lag.
     
  22. drinkbeerallday

    drinkbeerallday Visitor

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,175
    Likes Received:
    0
    no, and this is becoming insulting.

    i and others have said REPEATEDLY that there is no packet loss, and that ping times are low.

    there is a problem.

    the problem is intermittent patches of stutter stepping. this is not rubberbanding. it feels like luna or house lag but it is not that. it happens in dungeons where there is no vendors or houses.

    I assume the Dev team has not had to work since Wednesday. I expect to hear what is going on with this early on Monday.
     
  23. Lug

    Lug Lore Master
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2003
    Messages:
    1,136
    Likes Received:
    164
    I have the same problem, however, my traceroutes do show ea routers as the problem today.
    Code:
    Host Name                                       IP Address          Hop    Ping Time   Ping Avg   % Loss    Pkts r/s          Ping best/worst
    * Unknown Host *                                70.151.230.153      2      17ms        16ms       0%        34 / 34           15ms / 23ms
    * Unknown Host *                                205.152.208.12      3      17ms        16ms       0%        34 / 34           15ms / 19ms
    axr01msy-0-3-1.bellsouth.net                    65.83.236.31        4      17ms        17ms       0%        34 / 34           16ms / 22ms
    * Unknown Host *                                65.83.238.80        5      17ms        18ms       0%        34 / 34           16ms / 36ms
    * Unknown Host *                                65.83.238.174       6      16ms                   100%      0 / 34
    cr1.attga.ip.att.net                            12.122.141.18       7      37ms                   100%      0 / 34
    cr2.wswdc.ip.att.net                            12.122.1.174        8      36ms                   100%      0 / 34
    tbr2.wswdc.ip.att.net                           12.122.16.70        9      38ms                   100%      0 / 33
    gar2.ascva.ip.att.net                           12.122.113.73       10     36ms                   100%      0 / 33
    * Unknown Host *                                0.0.0.0             11     0ms
    fert08-eqx-iad.ea.com                           159.153.224.234     12     230ms       45ms       0%        33 / 33           37ms / 230ms
    * Unknown Host *                                159.153.233.23      13     38ms        38ms       0%        33 / 33           37ms / 41ms
    
    
    Last night though, my ping and traceroute were perfectly normal, yet I experienced some of the worst stutter stepping during pvp ever. It's not just me either, many guildmates in vent also are having the same problem. It's very frustrating to pvp at the moment. So much so, I dont feel like logging in, despite the all of the great content that is to come.

    Please fix the lag
     
  24. Maplestone

    Maplestone Crazed Zealot
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2008
    Messages:
    3,657
    Likes Received:
    9
    Is it clearly happening in some areas and not others? Some shards and not others? I'm just rather surprised because I haven't seen anything like this - for me there was a sudden change around the 18th and all my daytime problems went away - and since the volume of complaints has dropped way off, I personally had been assuming that what was left was just people with other problems.
     
  25. drinkbeerallday

    drinkbeerallday Visitor

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,175
    Likes Received:
    0
    it's obviously 2 different problems. it's just that this problem may have been masked by the latency/packet loss and when that was fixed people started noticing this.
     
  26. Infiniti

    Infiniti Guest

    My game play used to be smooth and fast. It has been stuttering and choppy for a few weeks now. Not enough to stop me from playing but very, very annoying.
     
  27. RoseBlue

    RoseBlue Seasoned Veteran
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 25, 2008
    Messages:
    256
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes! The lag is terrible! Getting worse.
    Makes the game nearly unplayable.
    What's going on???:sad4:
     
  28. Beastmaster

    Beastmaster Guest

    Whenever I think about playing now I take a run in front of my home near Zento. I have stretch of about 60 tiles I can run in a straight line. I judge the playability by how many times I hit pauses in 3 passes. Once per pass and I can play pretty well. 5 or more pauses per pass I logout. In between 1 and 5 I restrict my activity to the naturalist quest.

    A normal 5 step naturalist run takes me 5m35s give or take 5 sec. When I'm seeing lag it's usually about 6m15s at best. That's 12% of my playtime lost to lag. I lose no time to mobs while doing the quest as I'm friended to the hive and peace any nearby ant lions. Besides lag pauses in running I also will get alot of pauses when recalling to the ant holes, naturalist, and desert.
     
  29. GalenKnighthawke

    GalenKnighthawke Grand Poobah
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    6,641
    Likes Received:
    1,163
    Yes.

    :(

    -Galen's player
     
  30. BadManiac

    BadManiac Guest

    Dear EA/Mythic, please let me play UO again.
    That's all.
     
  31. 5% Luck

    5% Luck Guest

    Loggin and recall lag only. I seem fine other than these two things. It makes me worry though as the nightmare that was last month is still too close to feel safe!
     
  32. drinkbeerallday

    drinkbeerallday Visitor

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,175
    Likes Received:
    0
    bump, still a problem.
     
  33. Im beginning to wonder if the event thats going on ingame is causing some of the lagg issuse's. I lag at certain times of the day here normall from like 7pm eastern time till 10pm eastern time and then in the morning from 8am til like 11am.
     
  34. Deb

    Deb Guest


    This is what I and some friends are experiencing on Napa. I ping from 18
    to 21 normally and still do but I am having the "Stutter Stepping and
    Choppiness" for the past few weeks.
    I am wondering to if maybe it's the latest event that is causing it. If so,
    then hopefully when we move to the next phase it will correct itself.
     
  35. MalagAste

    MalagAste Belaern d'Zhaunil
    Reporter Professional Governor Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend Campaign Supporter Royal Knight

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2000
    Messages:
    18,959
    Likes Received:
    5,449
    At some of my homes everything is just fine..... at others NOT .... My home near the Yew Trammel Gate.... Terrible lag.

    My home up North of the gate Fine.....

    The Castle west of Wrong....... LAG CENTRAL..... not as bad as the Yew house but bad.

    The other houses also near there not so bad.

    Another thing I noticed going into custom mode on ANY of my houses starts off just fine I'm able to move around place tiles np...... however within about 10 min the lag sets in and I'm not talking just a bit of lag I'm talking game stopping lag I'm talking about I can "place" 12 or so tiles before tile #1 actually shows up on my screen and it takes me over a min and a half to place the 12 tiles.....

    I did notice this is the exact same sort of situation I get in when I'm in the Log in screen if I delay at all...... If I just have the log in screen up it sits just fine for about 2 min then all the sudden I don't know exactly what it's doing but it eats up EVERY tiny bit of Ram on my computer...... I can see my computer go from one or two bars to a full set of bars in no time at all.... the longer I stay in the log in screen the worse it gets..... to the point where if I don't log in quickly I may never log in.... as the window won't close, it won't move on and it never gets out of it without me bringing up the task manager and ending task.... which is a super long process.

    I can also say that at least on the GL shard Skara Brae is THE laggiest city in all of Sosaria..... Except maybe Luna.... But even in Britain I can move 10 times faster than I can in Skara...... Heck even in that rift of Moonglow I could move faster and better than I can in Skara Brae at any given moment.....

    I know something is totally messed up not sure what, but what ever it is seems to be getting worse not better...
     
  36. Rio Grande

    Rio Grande Guest

    A whole month with a 100-120 ping.
    Since yesterday after some cl ingame i have 50-60,somebody has changed something.
    But 50-60 ist still not fast enough to play and fight.
     
  37. drinkbeerallday

    drinkbeerallday Visitor

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,175
    Likes Received:
    0
    The Developer's silence on this issue is insulting to say the least.
     
  38. BadManiac

    BadManiac Guest

    Just a response from EA/Mythic would satisfy me at this point. "We are aware that something is messed up, we have no idea what and no ETA on a fix" Even that would make me much happier than I am now. Not been able to play UO for months due to a move IRL, finally come back and it's so laggy I can't play, even on my new local shard. I'm having WITHDRAWAL!
     
  39. drinkbeerallday

    drinkbeerallday Visitor

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,175
    Likes Received:
    0
    Checked again just now, still stuttering lag.

    What a disaster.
     
  40. Flora Green

    Flora Green Guest

    Lagging on UO and Stratics. For several days I've had trouble getting Stratics to load, but all other sites are fine. UO I can barely move most of the time except for an occasional burst of speed. And all I'm doing is decorating and checking vendors.
     
  41. drinkbeerallday

    drinkbeerallday Visitor

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,175
    Likes Received:
    0
    daily bump, still lagged.
     
  42. xxmoondancerxx

    xxmoondancerxx Seasoned Veteran
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2006
    Messages:
    498
    Likes Received:
    1

    Bumping from Great Lakes on Thurday!! I am so angry....I cant walk 3 steps on a T1 without lagging. That is insane.:cursing:
     
  43. I'm pretty sure it's something between anyone that's lagging and EA's servers. I play Pacific from Texas and get no lag whatsoever, and haven't had any lag even when everyone else is reporting they have it. The only lag I EVER get lately is from Stratics, but then I don't spend much time here anymore so it's no loss.

    *shrugs*

    Maybe you guys should contact your ISP's and have them look into it.
     
  44. drinkbeerallday

    drinkbeerallday Visitor

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,175
    Likes Received:
    0
    obviously you didn't read the thread, i suggest you do that.

    IT IS NOT MY ISP

    I ping fine to LS

    I have 0% packet loss (a few days ago I did 18 thousand pings with 0 loss)

    Also, It is some sort of game lag that happens for 5 seconds every 30 seconds. Totally different from when there was high pings/packet loss.
     
  45. And I suggested you contact your ISP.

    Let's see who listens to who's suggestion first....


    If it was EA, then everyone would be getting the lag. Since everyone isn't, then it would suggest that it's something between the 2.

    Amazing what a little logic will get ya.
     
  46. Lord Kotan

    Lord Kotan Slightly Crazed
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    1,299
    Likes Received:
    60
    Yes, lagging again.
     
  47. funkymonkey

    funkymonkey Lore Keeper
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2008
    Messages:
    960
    Likes Received:
    162
    Bump im getting lag spikes or stuttering on Atl, been like this for well since this lag has hit me, my ping is back to what it normaly is , but Stuttering is well there....


    Bump for great justice!
     
  48. drinkbeerallday

    drinkbeerallday Visitor

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,175
    Likes Received:
    0
    if there's nothing about this in the FoF I won't be re-activating my account next week.
     
  49. Vertigo

    Vertigo Guest

    I want your stuff
     
  50. drinkbeerallday

    drinkbeerallday Visitor

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,175
    Likes Received:
    0
    i'm not quite sure why people are so furious that other people are experiencing lag and speaking out about it.

    I reported this post to mods. (among others including Connor's second post)

    D. Trolling is prohibited.Trolling is whenever someone is clearly, deliberately posting in a manner for the purpose of angering and/or insulting the other participants of the board. Trolling DOES NOT encourage further discussion in the long run, it only encourages personal attacks (if left unchecked).

    also FYI: just checked today and still lagged.