1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Greetings Guest!!

    In order to combat SPAM on the forums, all users are required to have a minimum of 2 posts before they can submit links in any post or thread.

    Dismiss Notice

Anyone Else With Severe Lag Spikes...

Discussion in 'UHall' started by Snakeman, Jan 13, 2011.

  1. Snakeman

    Snakeman UO Forum Moderator
    Moderator Professional Premium Wiki Moderator Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2002
    Messages:
    4,961
    Likes Received:
    165
    Ever since the Major Hardware upgrade, there are 2 hops of EA's that have severe lag spikes ,(it had been occasionally off & on a week before the upgrade, but no where near what it is now) The lag spikes on ping are jumping from my normal 105 to 115 to well into the 240 range & upwards to over 300. These 2 hops are (and I have run several trace routes at many times of the day & night) are the only 2 IP's having severe issues. All other hops are normal. Is there a logical hardware issue or reason for this problem?

    157.130.194.226
    Hostname:ea-gw2.customer.alter.net
    ISP:Verizon
    BusinessOrganization:Verizon Business

    157.153.192.234
    Hostname:napaonline-gw.customer.alter.net
    ISP:Verizon Business
    Organization:Verizon Business
    Host Name IP Address Hop Ping
    * Unknown Host * 10.19.10.1 2 24ms
    * Unknown Host * 64.222.84.24 3 24ms
    * Unknown Host * 208.192.176.233 4 33ms
    * Unknown Host * 152.63.25.70 5 33ms
    * Unknown Host * 152.63.0.150 6 114ms
    * Unknown Host * 152.63.53.189 7 114ms
    * Unknown Host * 157.130.194.226 8 278ms
    * Unknown Host * 159.153.192.234 9 115ms
    * Unknown Host * 159.153.209.30 10 114ms

    Taken 3 mins later
    Host Name IP Address Hop Ping
    * Unknown Host * 10.19.10.1 2 24ms
    * Unknown Host * 64.222.84.24 3 23ms
    * Unknown Host * 208.192.176.233 4 33ms
    * Unknown Host * 152.63.25.70 5 33ms
    * Unknown Host * 152.63.0.150 6 114ms
    * Unknown Host * 152.63.53.189 7 114ms
    * Unknown Host * 157.130.194.226 8 115ms
    * Unknown Host * 159.153.192.234 9 317ms
    * Unknown Host * 159.153.209.30 10 114ms
     
  2. GalenKnighthawke

    GalenKnighthawke Grand Poobah
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    6,641
    Likes Received:
    1,163
    I am indeed getting lag spikes since the upgrades, though I have not run a trace route or anything.

    In Global Chat, several confirm they are also getting lag spikes.

    A tad disappointing though not necessarily as discouraging as it maybe should be.

    -Galen's player
     
  3. Spellbound

    Spellbound Lore Keeper
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    808
    Likes Received:
    85
    Yes It's been bad on Napa since the alleged hardware upgrades. Oftentimes, recalls have taken as long as 12 seconds. This morning hasn't been quite as bad...yet; but this poll was a few moments ago. Friends don't even want to play with such horrible lag spikes!

    Host Name IP Address Hop Ping Time Ping Avg % Loss Pkts r/s Ping best/worst
    XXX 71.196.240.1 1 13ms 9ms 0% 96 / 96 6ms / 38ms
    XXX 68.85.107.49 2 11ms 10ms 0% 96 / 96 7ms / 38ms
    XXX 68.86.103.13 3 25ms 11ms 0% 96 / 96 8ms / 43ms
    XXX 68.86.128.242 4 10ms 11ms 0% 96 / 96 9ms / 29ms
    XXX 68.86.91.1 5 12ms 12ms 0% 96 / 96 10ms / 41ms
    XXX 68.86.85.174 6 27ms 28ms 0% 96 / 96 24ms / 60ms
    XXX 68.86.86.94 7 26ms 28ms 0% 96 / 96 25ms / 58ms
    sl-st31-dal-0-5-2-0.sprintlink.net 144.232.25.33 8 28ms 27ms 0% 96 / 96 25ms / 57ms
    sl-crs3-fw-0-0-2-0.sprintlink.net 144.232.18.73 9 29ms 30ms 0% 96 / 96 26ms / 60ms
    sl-crs1-fw-0-7-0-0.sprintlink.net 144.232.1.44 10 29ms 30ms 0% 96 / 96 28ms / 44ms
    sl-crs1-ana-0-8-0-2.sprintlink.net 144.232.18.38 11 63ms 65ms 0% 96 / 96 62ms / 94ms
    sl-crs1-sj-0-7-0-0.sprintlink.net 144.232.20.223 12 67ms 67ms 0% 96 / 96 65ms / 83ms
    sl-st20-sj-0-0-0.sprintlink.net 144.232.18.106 13 69ms 69ms 0% 96 / 96 66ms / 88ms
    * Unknown Host * 144.223.242.14 14 78ms 63ms 0% 95 / 95 61ms / 78ms
    * Unknown Host * 159.153.192.238 15 64ms 70ms 0% 95 / 95 61ms / 270ms
    central-aw3.owo.com 159.153.209.30 16 62ms 64ms 0% 95 / 95 62ms / 82ms
     
  4. gortman

    gortman Sage
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    630
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm experiencing the same things on Lake Austin since the upgrade.
     
  5. Sevin0oo0

    Sevin0oo0 Guest

    In my house, I am frozen in place whenever a new sound plays, until it has played thru.
    (such as teleporter ,singing ball or vet rewards). it's easily very repeatable, over & over.
    Makes no difference if I turn sound off. This has started in the last few months I think. I didn't have this problem even w/ a 486, and dial-up.
    Several occasions lately where I freeze until a targeting monster gets within 1-2 tiles of me, while I'm fighting another (stops swinging too) (this was only in the dungeon w/ fire steeds)
     
  6. Mervyn

    Mervyn Certifiable
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,677
    Likes Received:
    372
    I'm pinging 14 ms to Europa as normal with 0 packet loss, however it feels like i have protection casted when casting spells. My guild members are reporting to me a similar issue.

    p.s i don't have protection casted
     
  7. Tazar

    Tazar Guest

    Maybe they listened to your complaints and nerfed 2D to match EC. Might as well switch over now. lol
     
  8. Mervyn

    Mervyn Certifiable
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,677
    Likes Received:
    372
    no it's the casting speed which is the issue, not the cast recovery time
     
  9. Lord Frodo

    Lord Frodo Grand Poobah
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    5,774
    Likes Received:
    2,281
    Yes. Vallejo Ca to UO Baja. Use to ping at 12-15 before upgrade.
     
  10. Snakeman

    Snakeman UO Forum Moderator
    Moderator Professional Premium Wiki Moderator Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2002
    Messages:
    4,961
    Likes Received:
    165
    So any Information or Idea's you can share on why this is happening Dev's & Cal ......
     
  11. Supreem

    Supreem Founder, Citadel Studios
    VIP Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2008
    Messages:
    153
    Likes Received:
    25
    Since the physical hardware for some of our shards have moved, the old owo.com hostnames no longer point to the actual shard hardware. Here is a list of shards that have moved so far and their new IPs:

    65.216.123.32 Origin
    65.216.123.33 Pacific
    65.216.123.34 Baja
    65.216.123.35 Sonoma
    65.216.123.36 Lake Austin
    65.216.123.37 Napa Valley
    65.216.123.38 Oceania
    63.117.27.137 Lake Superior
    63.117.27.138 Chesapeake

    If you want to give us information related to lag and performance, please use these IPs.
     
  12. come on sup ... the question is easily answered
    The SPECIFIC question is:
    did Oz physically move to cali/states/ ... off the continent of australia?

    /simple:wall:
     
  13. Voodoo990

    Voodoo990 Guest

    If they moved the geo location shard server (which it looks like they did) without even a hello to the people in the geo location, that's pretty ****ing shady
     
  14. Tazar

    Tazar Guest

    Googling the IP's show them to still be in the same geographic location with west-coast shards being outside of LA and the east-coast shards in Virginia.
     
  15. :lol: again ... where's oz?

    "I see"

    IP Address Locator - Enter an IP address to find its location - Lookup Country Region City etc

    "You"?


     
  16. Lord Obsidian

    Lord Obsidian Journeyman
    Professional Stratics Veteran Campaign Benefactor

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    Messages:
    202
    Likes Received:
    74
    I am afraid yes, they moved it to the US. Traces at this very moment point to the region of Los Angeles, where the other west coast shards are located.
    *ducks*
     
  17. Cloak&Dagger

    Cloak&Dagger Guest

    Also if you look at the IP address it is obviously in the same region as the west coast servers.

    65.216.123.37 or Napa Valley, becomes mail.arvatousa.net this can't be right?
     
  18. Lord Frodo

    Lord Frodo Grand Poobah
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    5,774
    Likes Received:
    2,281
    Why did they move West Coast Servers and Oceania to LA Ca?
     
  19. Lord Obsidian

    Lord Obsidian Journeyman
    Professional Stratics Veteran Campaign Benefactor

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    Messages:
    202
    Likes Received:
    74
    With all network problems Mythic had with Oceania lately, there is still some room for speculation that this move is only a temporary solution.

    mail.arvatousa.net (65.216.123.37 / Napa Valley) seems to be an orphaned DNS entry (or we are supposed to play on a mail server now :coco:)
     
  20. Deb

    Deb Guest

    The lag is horrendous, I am getting 100 percent packet loss at
    IP 65.245.224.33

    And it sure looks like a mail server to me. I have never crashed so much as I have today.

    And the lag spikes are unreal.
     
  21. Snakeman

    Snakeman UO Forum Moderator
    Moderator Professional Premium Wiki Moderator Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2002
    Messages:
    4,961
    Likes Received:
    165
    Ya, noticed the new IP was a mail. IP address also, all I know is the ping to all the last 5 hops as increased on each about roughly 20ms, hopefully it gets better & the nasty lag out periods cease, for if it doesn't soon.... These 5 to 20 seconds to recall any where stinks (for you never know if it will be 5 or up to 20sec), you cast spells & they either never go off or do like recalling even tho you can be moving around! You recall to certain places & you lock up & can not move for 10 to 30 sec's or crash to desk top almost like the info has to loaded... Dual core 2.8g, Dual 1g SLI cards, way more then UO needs to run on :sad4:
     
  22. Cloak&Dagger

    Cloak&Dagger Guest

    As opposed to?

    Well, Cal said somewhere the "they" thought the move would have gone better than this, as they were trying to figure out how to move it or something like that. And yea the mail server thing is questionable.

    I dunno how you get that, although when I ping that IP address I always get "destination link unreachable" If the packet loss was truly 100% then none of the packs would ever reach the actual server you are trying to get to (I assume Napa) When I ping to Napa I come up with the same results you are, except I have no lag when I play, and (as of right now since I thought to retest it) I am experiencing 2% packet loss at the server? But my ping is still 41. Hmm a few of the hops are experiencing 1-2% packet loss now, they were not earlier.
     
  23. Petra Fyde

    Petra Fyde Peerless Chatterbox
    Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2001
    Messages:
    30,881
    Likes Received:
    5,164
    I've polled a few of these. All go through a penultimate 'unknown' server which does not respond to ping requests. There is a noticable variation in the time the poll takes to pass this server, sometime instantaneous, sometimes with a considerable delay. They're not all going through the same server, but they're all showing the same kind of response.
     
  24. Cloak&Dagger

    Cloak&Dagger Guest

    I have been pollin for about 23,525 Packets worth, and all of them have basically maintained a 40ms ping. While there is the 1 host with a 100% loss, and of course my highest ping is 227, I have to add that the ping of 227 at the server also pinged 185 at my modem, so the lag had nothing to do with the server or the various hops as they all experienced that lag.
     
  25. Lord Frodo

    Lord Frodo Grand Poobah
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    5,774
    Likes Received:
    2,281
    As opposed to?

    [/QUOTE]
    Prior to upgrade
    EA is currently headquartered in the Redwood Shores neighborhood of Redwood City, California.

    Baja old IP Address 159.153.209.18 located Redwood City, California
    Server at EA site


    After upgrade
    Baja new IP Address 65.216.123.34 located North Hills, California

    EA Los Angeles Playa Vista, CA

    Server about 23 miles from site. WTF?

    Again I ask is why did they move everything to LA, Ca and not just bring Oceania server to Redwood City to work on it?
     
  26. sirion

    sirion Seasoned Veteran
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Messages:
    463
    Likes Received:
    114
    I can also tell you that Formosa is noticeably lagged too, since the patch. Many of my guildies also say the same thing.
     
  27. Cloak&Dagger

    Cloak&Dagger Guest

    The answer to moving to LA is implicit in the fact of why they took the servers down at all. To upgrade the hardware. Oceania moving had nothing to do with them "working" on it. Cal said they were trying to take them out of AU for whatever the reason may be, and somehow they thought bringing them to the west coast USA would not cause lag.

    If I am not mistaken the servers were never located "on site" And you can not accurately tell where the IP is hosted, unless they told us somewhere I am not aware? Not saying your location is wrong, just that it "could" be. :) But again the moving of the west coast servers was for updating....Why that location? I dunno, maybe the hosts in-between there and most the rest of the world are more up-to-date than the ones between where they were and the rest of the world? You could also argue that LA is more central than redwood and thus lessens various "distances" over all.

    Mostly speculative, but then you responded to my question with the same question.....
     
  28. Snakeman

    Snakeman UO Forum Moderator
    Moderator Professional Premium Wiki Moderator Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2002
    Messages:
    4,961
    Likes Received:
    165
    Just tried to go to Heartwood to get a quest on a toon, locked up "4" out of 5 different times I tried to enter there. The Client would freeze up tight every time I tried to go through the field type gate & each time I had to completely restart the client to get back into game. If I didn't, it would freeze/hang up solid upon Entering Britannia window. Bad enough w/lag & recall lagging, now add locking up tight going through gates..... It's getting worse not better guys. :thumbdown:
     
  29. Cloak&Dagger

    Cloak&Dagger Guest

    I still don't have any lag on Napa snake =\. Although today on atl I was having a terrible time doing anything.... I am not sure what is causing the "lag" but it does not seem to be affecting everyone, so I am not sure how easily they will be able to fix it. >.<