1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Greetings Guest!!

    In order to combat SPAM on the forums, all users are required to have a minimum of 2 posts before they can submit links in any post or thread.

    Dismiss Notice

Are disappearing ground textures a common problem?

Discussion in 'UO Enhanced Client Discussion' started by Llewen, Sep 18, 2009.

  1. Llewen

    Llewen Grand Inquisitor
    Professional Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend Campaign Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Messages:
    4,699
    Likes Received:
    200
    Just that. I'm experiencing disappearing ground textures in certain places, one of them is near Brit bank. I'm wondering if anyone else is experiencing this problem. I'm trying to figure out if this is an EC problem, or whether it is a video card stability issue (my card is overclocked). It's not consistent so I can't just turn off the overclocking and be sure whether that is the problem or not.
     
  2. Sabbath

    Sabbath Guest

    Llewen, I use the EC exclusively and visit Brit Bank regularly but I've seen no issues with ground textures or otherwise. I don't overclock though. I use the GeForce 9600 with lots of video ram (vid card and system RAM). I still see "blinking" objects that use animations but this is a longstanding and well known issue.

    What kind of card are you using? You've probably made sure the drivers are updated but I just wanted to throw that out there. Good luck!
     
  3. Llewen

    Llewen Grand Inquisitor
    Professional Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend Campaign Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Messages:
    4,699
    Likes Received:
    200
    I think it's an overclocking issue. I changed some things and the problem seems to have gone away.
     
  4. EnigmaMaitreya

    EnigmaMaitreya Crazed Zealot
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    3,402
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ohhh, that is interesting what did you change if you don't mind.
     
  5. Llewen

    Llewen Grand Inquisitor
    Professional Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend Campaign Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Messages:
    4,699
    Likes Received:
    200
    The card was supposed to be overclocked anyway, so I just put the gpu on the default overclock from the manufacturer, and put the memory overclock back to the highest safe number that I had found. I had backed off on the memory overclocking as well because I wasn't sure which was causing the problems, but it appears as though it was the processor, so I put the memory back up to where it was before I started messing around with different rates.

    It's an ATI 3650. I've got the cpu at 800mhz and the ram at 480mhz. That's actually a 20% overclock on the ram, which is pretty significant, and I have found that overclocking the ram can make a big difference in performance.
     
  6. EnigmaMaitreya

    EnigmaMaitreya Crazed Zealot
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    3,402
    Likes Received:
    0
    So if I got it right, the Missing tiles were with a higher GPU rate. Lowering the GPU rate, removed the missing tile issue.

    That in a way is backwards from what I would have expected.

    I am going to need to think on that for a bit.

    Well, I am assuming that previously you had no indication there may be any issue with the O/Cing you were running. Meaning it is possible that the higher GPU rate might have been causing misreads on the transfer of external memory to the cards memory. If so, I would have thought it would show up on the more graphic intense programs.

    On the other hand, it could just be as simple as the rate you had was more or less marginal leaning towards the less side of the fence.

    Hum ... thanks for the information is may end up being somewhat useful. :pint:
     
  7. I've got a Sapphire build of the ATI 4850, which comes overclocked from the factory at 20%. I do see missing tiles now and then. It's not too common, just annoying when it happens. Curious, I've never noticed anything graphical with any other program.
     
  8. Llewen

    Llewen Grand Inquisitor
    Professional Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend Campaign Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Messages:
    4,699
    Likes Received:
    200
    Well, if the enhanced client is using the same 3D engine as KR, it's the Civilization IV 3D engine (a horrible choice in my opinion, although I think I understand why they chose it). That 3D engine is pretty fussy. If I want to see if my card is rock solid stable all I need to do is fire up a game of Civ IV and spend some time zooming around the map. If I am having stability issues it will show up in that game where other games, even newer ones, won't expose any problems.
     
  9. EnigmaMaitreya

    EnigmaMaitreya Crazed Zealot
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    3,402
    Likes Received:
    0
    *Shrug*

    I know that Celeron D 3.2GZH,2GB Ram, NVIDIA 6200LE/256MB system runs Everquest with zero difficulties and they have some fairly complicated special effects. UO's Enhanced Client is really bad on that computer. KR was quite acceptable on it, once I used the BB-Enhanced UI. With the Default UI KR was about like EC is now. Difference being using the 3 Skins so far, for EC has not altered the performance for that computer.

    So if the Engine is the same between them, then for certain the interface to the Engine is different.
     
  10. Llewen

    Llewen Grand Inquisitor
    Professional Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend Campaign Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Messages:
    4,699
    Likes Received:
    200
    Just thought I'd update this. I'm still having problems with ground textures blinking in and out, and objects as well. It doesn't happen all the time, but often enough to be annoying. It happens even with no overclocking, and I know there are other reports of the same thing. So I'm guessing it's a fairly common problem that hopefully they will fix.
     
  11. Llewen

    Llewen Grand Inquisitor
    Professional Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend Campaign Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Messages:
    4,699
    Likes Received:
    200
    Adding another update to this. Switching to full screen mode seems to have finally fixed the problem of the disappearing tiles, as well as improved the stability of the client. I still have problems with objects disappearing though. My guess is however that these are two separate issues.
     
  12. lucitus

    lucitus UOEC Modder
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Messages:
    1,426
    Likes Received:
    45
    I have big problems with that traveling around in Felucca especially the old Dungeons are a big problem, Destard and Terra Keep are very buggy!

    Sometimes it happen that a complete screen blacks out.
     
  13. Llewen

    Llewen Grand Inquisitor
    Professional Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend Campaign Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Messages:
    4,699
    Likes Received:
    200
    I'm still having disappearing ground tiles, but not as many as before. Running in full screen has improved the situation.