1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Greetings Guest!!

    In order to combat SPAM on the forums, all users are required to have a minimum of 2 posts before they can submit links in any post or thread.

    Dismiss Notice

Bait

Discussion in 'UO Fishing and Treasure Hunting' started by Doubleplay, Dec 18, 2010.

  1. Doubleplay

    Doubleplay Lore Keeper
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2007
    Messages:
    754
    Likes Received:
    150
    How does bait work? Do you have to apply it before every cast? On traps do you apply it after every catch, or is it good till trap disappears?
     
  2. Doubleplay

    Doubleplay Lore Keeper
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2007
    Messages:
    754
    Likes Received:
    150
    Hmm. I am getting the feeling that I am the only one who doesn't know how to use bait.
     
  3. Northern Whaler

    Northern Whaler Visitor
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    1
    For fishing you apply the bait and if you dont catch anything its still baited but if you pull in a fish or footwear it uses the bait and you have to reapply it.Not really sure about the lobster pots tho
     
  4. Thom

    Thom Lore Keeper
    Governor Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 30, 2008
    Messages:
    907
    Likes Received:
    576
    With the crab traps you have to reapply bait every time you pull it out of the water whether you caught anything or not.
     
  5. Doubleplay

    Doubleplay Lore Keeper
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2007
    Messages:
    754
    Likes Received:
    150
    Thank you very much for your replies. Is your information drawn from experience, or was this documented somewhere?
     
  6. Doubleplay

    Doubleplay Lore Keeper
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2007
    Messages:
    754
    Likes Received:
    150
    OK. A little update here. I went stone crab fishing with baits. I had to bait each trap individually by double clicking on bait, then single clicking on target trap. When the trap was deployed, a message is seen when cursoring over the buoy that a bait has been applied. My experience so far is that for approximately 50 traps baited, one stone crab is caught. This is indeed an improved rate, at least for me.

    When a trap is pulled out of the water, it has to be re-baited regardless if it was full or MT when pulled.
     
  7. Thom

    Thom Lore Keeper
    Governor Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 30, 2008
    Messages:
    907
    Likes Received:
    576
    You should be able to bait a stack of traps so long as the stack isn't bigger then the amount of charges you have left in your bait cup.