1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Greetings Guest!!

    In order to combat SPAM on the forums, all users are required to have a minimum of 2 posts before they can submit links in any post or thread.

    Dismiss Notice

Baits

Discussion in 'Beta Testing Archive' started by Cailleach, Sep 28, 2010.

  1. Cailleach

    Cailleach Certifiable
    Stratics Veteran Alumni

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Messages:
    1,842
    Likes Received:
    126
    Has anyone worked out how these work yet? I only ask cos I put Holy Mackeral bait on my rod just now and pulled up a Yellowtail Barracuda ...
     
  2. Crysta

    Crysta Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran Alumni

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    2,418
    Likes Received:
    73
    They seem to work so long as you're in the proper location for catching the named fish (it increases the chance of them appearing by an undeterminable amount). You also seem to need to rebait after each cast.

    It would be nice to get some sort of tag that shows an item has been baited rather than have it be invisible.. it can be confusing.
     
  3. Cailleach

    Cailleach Certifiable
    Stratics Veteran Alumni

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Messages:
    1,842
    Likes Received:
    126
    Aha, that makes sense. And yes, I agree about the tag of some kind. A use disappeared off the bait pot, but there was no indication as to where it'd actually gone to.
     
  4. Petra Fyde

    Petra Fyde Peerless Chatterbox
    Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2001
    Messages:
    30,884
    Likes Received:
    5,165
    I *think* the bait stays on for a while, I just caught a holy mackeral and it wasn't with the same cast as I applied the bait.
    It would be nice to be able to see if your hook is still baited or not.
     
  5. Lady Tia

    Lady Tia Certifiable
    Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Messages:
    1,708
    Likes Received:
    114
    ok so you
    1. be in the right location
    2. double click the bait
    3. target the rod
    4. fish

    rinse and repeat aye?
     
  6. Cailleach

    Cailleach Certifiable
    Stratics Veteran Alumni

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Messages:
    1,842
    Likes Received:
    126

    I guess so; I haven't actually had time today to try it out properly! (see my FB for details :p)

    If you're inclined to give it a go, Petra has posted some big fish locations, and there's a pile of different baits in the hold of my ship; feel free to help yourself :)
     
  7. Crysta

    Crysta Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran Alumni

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    2,418
    Likes Received:
    73
    It is worth noting that using a bait cup and targeting another cup of the same bait type will combine the two.
     
  8. Cailleach

    Cailleach Certifiable
    Stratics Veteran Alumni

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Messages:
    1,842
    Likes Received:
    126


    Ooer. Will it work if you do that? As in, will you have a better chance of catching both those fish?
     
  9. Crysta

    Crysta Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran Alumni

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    2,418
    Likes Received:
    73
    I said two baits of the same type... in a bit of a more roundabout fashion, but still...
     
  10. Cailleach

    Cailleach Certifiable
    Stratics Veteran Alumni

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Messages:
    1,842
    Likes Received:
    126

    Doh, my bad!

    Gonna save some storage space tho :)
     
  11. Lady Tia

    Lady Tia Certifiable
    Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Messages:
    1,708
    Likes Received:
    114
    Has anyone figured out how long the bait stay's applied yet?