1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Greetings Guest!!

    In order to combat SPAM on the forums, all users are required to have a minimum of 2 posts before they can submit links in any post or thread.

    Dismiss Notice

bard mastery questions

Discussion in 'UO Bard' started by hamburger, Jun 11, 2013.

  1. hamburger

    hamburger Journeyman
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2009
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    26
    is the base mana cost reduced by LMC?

    is the upkeep cost reduced by LMC?

    how viable are masteries in open field pvp (not choke with para/poison fields)? will taking any pvp break your mastery and trigger the long cool down?

    will hiding or invising after you cast a mastery break the mastery?

    thanks
     
    #1 hamburger, Jun 11, 2013
    Last edited: Jun 11, 2013
  2. Logrus

    Logrus UO Legend
    VIP Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2009
    Messages:
    857
    Likes Received:
    389
    Mastery abilities are only broken under 4 conditions.
    1. Interrupted from Damage (I think the threshold is 19 damage or 20)
    2. Out of Mana
    3. Recasting the ability
    4. Target resists, the effects or Max number of rounds reached (Disco Masteries Only

    Cast Cost and Upkeep Cost are both affected by LMC

    Mastery Abilities will reveal the bard while they are in use.

    In a group fight, a bard running the mastery abilities can be helpful. As a solo PvPer the bard masteries are much less viable, since you will get interrupted.
     
  3. CorwinXX

    CorwinXX Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2011
    Messages:
    2,954
    Likes Received:
    450
    And what about solo PvM? Can an archer upkeep a mastery (if she/he has enough mana)?

    How mastery bonuses interact with caps? For example, can I get 60% HCI, 180 HP, etc?
     
  4. Elron Pumperknic

    Elron Pumperknic Adventurer
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2004
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    1
    Depends on yor archers mana regen and your abilities. I will confirm that stuns my mastery was upkept for discord
     
  5. Logrus

    Logrus UO Legend
    VIP Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2009
    Messages:
    857
    Likes Received:
    389
    Mastery Abilities won't go over the hard caps.
    So your DCI will be Capped at even if you have 30 on your suit/weapon and have a bard buffing you with an extra 22. The only way you'd be able to get to that 52 is if you had refinements raising your cap.

    Most bard additions count as Magical enhancements and so do not count to item caps. The exception to this rule being the SDI and DI that Inspire gives you. These are applied the same way as item caps. The regeneration abilities are applied as magical enhancements and so are not subject to the item limitations.
     
    CorwinXX likes this.
  6. CorwinXX

    CorwinXX Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2011
    Messages:
    2,954
    Likes Received:
    450
    What does 4th condition mean?
     
  7. Elron Pumperknic

    Elron Pumperknic Adventurer
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2004
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    1
    Disco has a set number of "ticks" that it does off as an spell, ie channeled spells
     
  8. Logrus

    Logrus UO Legend
    VIP Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2009
    Messages:
    857
    Likes Received:
    389
    4th condition is PvP
    Resist Spells skill can allow players to resist the effects of the disco masteries
     
    CorwinXX likes this.