1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Greetings Guest!!

    In order to combat SPAM on the forums, all users are required to have a minimum of 2 posts before they can submit links in any post or thread.

    Dismiss Notice

Bracelets of Binding

Discussion in 'UO Players Corner' started by Shelleybean, Feb 6, 2010.

  1. Shelleybean

    Shelleybean Certifiable
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2003
    Messages:
    1,856
    Likes Received:
    51
    Do players use these? What are some situations in which you would want to use them? Thanks in advance
     
  2. Tazar

    Tazar Guest

    Not very often...

    They can be good for when a newer player that you are teamed with gets lost...

    They can be good in super-rare situations (When Blackrock first came out, we used it to blow a person through the wall to the Brit Throne - then he self ressed, grabbed his corpse, then started bringing the guild through with bracelets. We had a fun party!

    I am sure the RP'ers can find some uses and I know of at least one use in running a player-run event.

    Any others?
     
  3. Storm

    Storm UO Forum Moderator
    Moderator Professional Premium Wiki Moderator Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2004
    Messages:
    7,469
    Likes Received:
    361
    Thats very creative lol never thought of that!
     
  4. Silverbird

    Silverbird Slightly Crazed
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2001
    Messages:
    1,405
    Likes Received:
    52
    Anyone knows, if those can be imbued?
    The problem with those bracelets is ... that they occupy the bracelet slot of your armour. So usually it is better to wear one with stats on it.
    I always wonder, if you can use the bracelet teleport to reach a player, who actually is in an non-recall area (like Illshenar or a fel dungeon/champ area).
     
  5. Tina Small

    Tina Small Stratics Legend
    Stratics Veteran 4H

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    7,539
    Likes Received:
    1,932
    Seems to me I tested that once with a character in Ilshenar and one in Trammel and they wouldn't work. I suspect they probably follow the same rules as pet summoning balls, so they won't work when inside places such as faction strongholds, the Abyss, Sanctuary, etc.
     
  6. Tetricyde

    Tetricyde Journeyman
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    278
    Likes Received:
    1
    I probley shouldnt mention this but we used to use these to steal items from players.. We'd find a player that had an item un-insured in tram and give them the bracelet and make up a story about what they did... then we'd go to fel and tell them to use it...

    ...It'd bring them right to us and we could easily steal the item we wanted then we'd run off... :mf_prop:


    Creativty is the key to success...
     
  7. hawkeye_pike

    hawkeye_pike Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    2,466
    Likes Received:
    11
    These bracelets do not work in locations where recalling is not allowed (Felucca dungeons, Ilshenar). Other than that, they can be handy if you have a companion you often want to meet. Both hve the bracelet in their backpack, linked to each other. On demand, put on the bracelet and your companion can teleport right to your current location.
     
  8. Schuyler Bain

    Schuyler Bain Lore Master
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,131
    Likes Received:
    1
    These must have come in while I was on a break sometime in the past. Cap'n Pike mentioned "putting them on" so my question is will these work while in your pack or do they need to be worn by both parties before they work? I assume that if they were causing a real problem people would be talking about them and I also assume that if they were really that useful people would be talking about them.

    UO Guide Entry: http://www.uoguide.com/Bracelet_of_Binding

     
  9. Shelleybean

    Shelleybean Certifiable
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2003
    Messages:
    1,856
    Likes Received:
    51
    They can be imbued. I saw a pair go up for auction not too long ago. I may try to test out a few things with them. FYI they can hold up to 999 charges. I saw someone powder them up that high on accident. :)
     
  10. Tina Small

    Tina Small Stratics Legend
    Stratics Veteran 4H

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    7,539
    Likes Received:
    1,932
    I'm pretty sure both parties must have them equipped at the same time in order for them to work.
     
  11. Stupid Miner

    Stupid Miner Guest

    They can be imbued just fine, hold up to 999 charges (infinitely rechargeable?)
    Can't use them to teleport into non-recall zones. Pretty much any thing that prevents recall prevents the bracelets. (including "Heat of Battle")
     
  12. hawkeye_pike

    hawkeye_pike Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    2,466
    Likes Received:
    11
     
  13. Russell123

    Russell123 Guest

    thanks TAZAR i never thought about it before. its very interesting