1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Greetings Guest!!

    In order to combat SPAM on the forums, all users are required to have a minimum of 2 posts before they can submit links in any post or thread.

    Dismiss Notice

Bug In Necromancy coding?

Discussion in 'UHall' started by Barl DeAbreago, Sep 23, 2008.

  1. Hey there,

    Apologies if this is already documented or has been talked about, but I'm having a hell of a problem and wanted to get some feedback on it if I could.

    I love the necromancy skill, as both an rper and pvper it is a big part fo what I do.

    Recently I revamped one of the said necros and gave him 120 necro and ss. Now usually when it comes to skill gain my general mode of operation is to use the forms to gain as much of the skill as possible, with the last spells I ever cast to finish up being lich form and vamp form. I've never had a problem with this before, but now I definitely am.

    Most of the way with necro goes pretty fast, I've done it all before. However this time I noticed that after working lich form for a little while I started having problems. I would start, go for a while, and then boom uo crashes and gives me a message about virtual memory. So out of curiosity I open up my task manager and start doign the same thing, just casting lich form every few seconds, and what do you know I notice the VM size/usuage jumping up quite a bit with ever single casting.

    Well admittedly I was feeling lazy, and didn't want to try reinstalling ultima so I figured hey, I'll just deal with it till' I get to vamp form and maybe I won't have problems with vamp form. Unfortunately this isn't working out either.

    I am as of right now sitting at 110 necro(120 with ossian), with two friends on their necros, casting vamp form.

    I myself have timed it with task manager open, and in the last 30 minutes my vm size/usage has gone from 84,000 on the client, to 400,737.

    Literally that much of a jump in thirty minutes. Both of my friends are viewing the same thing happenign to them. One of my friends, who onyl has 512 mb of crappy ram, is only able to cast vamp form for a few minutes without uo crashing on her.

    So this tells me that its a global coding problem. We all are suffering the same issue with uo itself. I and one friend are using uoa, the other is in plain old uo without a third party app.

    It seems pretty unreasonable for uo to crash in such a short amount of time from casting a spell. I tried a few mage spells and didn't see this at all.

    Anyoen else seeing this problem or aware of it? Any fix to it or feed back would be apprecaited. Thank you mucho.
     
  2. Bomb Bloke

    Bomb Bloke Lore Keeper
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Messages:
    850
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just tested it myself, every time I go liche/vamp form UO takes up about another meg of RAM. It just keeps going up. I got bored after about 40mb though.

    Polymorph does something similar, only the memory usage quickly goes back down. Animal Form doesn't give me the memory back, but only takes it just the once.

    Running around, teleporting, logging in/out doesn't seem to reclaim it.
     
  3. Jeremy

    Jeremy Guest

    I know something's severely wrong with my life when I see this and think "Oh, neat! A memory leak! We haven't had one of those in a while!"

    Sending it to QA :p
     
  4. Pinco

    Pinco UOEC Modder
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2005
    Messages:
    5,675
    Likes Received:
    865
    there is a workaround for this bug...
    when you reach an high memory usage try to minimize the game for few seconds and maximize it again. If you check the memory usage after that you will see that is back to normal usage :)
     
  5. Doomsday Dragon

    Doomsday Dragon Visitor

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
    Messages:
    477
    Likes Received:
    0
    you could grab a memory manager online something like memturbo or membooster. These programs force your system to release memory at a specified amount so setting it to release memory before the client crashes from being out of memory to use would solve this issue for now.
     
  6. Pinco

    Pinco UOEC Modder
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2005
    Messages:
    5,675
    Likes Received:
    865
    this kind of software force the system to paging and not release nothing... the only way is minimize the game and the game itself will release the unused resources...
     
  7. Violence

    Violence Lore Keeper
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Messages:
    875
    Likes Received:
    0
    Jeremy could this bug or a close "relative" of it be choking our systems when we cast Animal Form in KR?
     
  8. Violence

    Violence Lore Keeper
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Messages:
    875
    Likes Received:
    0
    So no then?
     
  9. Sir Kenga

    Sir Kenga Guest

    I had same problem with Shadow Jumps when trained ninja.
     
  10. Gildar

    Gildar Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2004
    Messages:
    2,354
    Likes Received:
    4
    I did some testing, and they don't show the same symptoms.
    Also, the memory leak issue isn't present in KR (checked both Liche form and Vampiric Embrace).

    Too bad... it's always nicer when one bug can fix many issues.
     
  11. GarthGrey

    GarthGrey Crazed Zealot
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend GoT

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2003
    Messages:
    3,636
    Likes Received:
    1,394
    Sorry, but I'll have the client minimized and logged out,and it's still a hog....:next: