1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Greetings Guest!!

    In order to combat SPAM on the forums, all users are required to have a minimum of 2 posts before they can submit links in any post or thread.

    Dismiss Notice

Bugs Again

Discussion in 'UHall' started by cdavbar, Nov 1, 2010.

  1. cdavbar

    cdavbar Lore Master
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,058
    Likes Received:
    276
    First off I do realize there is a bugs sticky above, but due to the lack of devs response on that thread after the first day of High Seas I want to make sure they read this.

    THE LAG IS HORRIBLE. If I open my bank box my client stops responding. If I open a chest at my house, my client stops responding. I never had these issues before HS.

    Placing deeded items. When i attempt to place deeded items in my house they "fall" through the floors to one of the levels below. Sometimes I am able to redeed them, sometimes i have to wait hours for a GM to redeed it for me, like today when I waited 4 hours and gave up on waiting because i had RL stuff to do. Ever since the HS booster i have to log into the Classic client to place deeded items. It is ridiculous that i have to keep the classic client installed and patched just to place items in my house.


    Black and Distorted Death Screens. Now, In the EC, whenever I die the play area of the screen turns black. Sometimes it will still show the image, however it is so distorted it is unusable. I have to again log into the classic client to get rezzed, then log back into the EC to keep playing. This started after High Seas. Again very ridiculous i need to keep a client on hand i dont play just so i can get rezzed if I die.

    Fishing Quests. There has been much speculation on the "points" for turning these in. However, THESE QUESTS NEED FIXED. Many people speculate what these points might be for, however until these quests work properly ALL the time, a lot of us are giving up on them.

    Recalling To My Ship. Many times i try to recall to my ship and i get a message "your ship cannot be located" In one instance I even had to rowboat for an hour and a half back to my ship just to get back on it. The runes and recalling/SJ/ETC to ships needs fixed, asap.

    These are a few of the MAJOR things bothering me as well as many other people. Please get these things fixed asap. OR AT LEAST RESPOND on the boards, that at least lets us know where you are on resolving these issues at the very least.

    Thank You
     
  2. Mapper

    Mapper Crazed Zealot
    Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2005
    Messages:
    3,528
    Likes Received:
    110
    I've also experienced servere lag, EC client turning completely to black, crashing to the desktop and major lag whilst opening containers.

    Totally agree with those bugs, PLEASE fix them.
     
  3. cdavbar

    cdavbar Lore Master
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,058
    Likes Received:
    276
    Thank you Mapper. To many things to remember them all on your own lol.

    This too, randomly (and it seems to happen more often after getting a rez on the CC then switching back to the EC) my client will completely shutdown and crash to the desktop as if it was never running.
     
  4. Rumil of Lorain

    Rumil of Lorain Journeyman
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2005
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    0
    This it is extremely frustrating when you open a chest to have to log back into the game, especially when its in your backpack and you die before you can log back in
     
  5. cdavbar

    cdavbar Lore Master
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,058
    Likes Received:
    276
    Bumping in hopes of a reply from Cal, Mesanna, SOMEONE!
     
  6. Doubleplay

    Doubleplay Lore Keeper
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2007
    Messages:
    754
    Likes Received:
    150
    With regards to losing graphics upon death, make sure your hardware acceleration option is turned off. It is one of the graphics options.
     
  7. Adol

    Adol Certifiable
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2003
    Messages:
    1,502
    Likes Received:
    469
    There's a work around for things falling through the floor; you shouldn't have to do it, but mouse over the area you want to place first, and look for things on the floor below being highlighted... what happens is that when you try and place the item, it thinks you're stacking it on, or placing it into in the case of a container on the next floor down. If there's something there, going downstairs and moving it away, or trying to aim for cursor just a little further away so it doesn't highlight what's down there will allow you to place it correctly.

    If it falls through, go and check the chests downstairs and see if it's in that... you can usually locate where it'll roughly be by using a deeded item that's too big to disappear, like say a Loom. Place one in the same spot, then go downstairs and mouse around the loom area for your things.
     
  8. cdavbar

    cdavbar Lore Master
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,058
    Likes Received:
    276
    Doubleplay, i have set all my graphics settings to help with this issue, still not working that great.

    Adol, I have tried that, but the new issue is if say there is a door underneath that spot on the floor it says "cannot be placed near doors" for some deeded items.

    Really annoying and hopefully they get it fixed soon.
     
  9. Doubleplay

    Doubleplay Lore Keeper
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2007
    Messages:
    754
    Likes Received:
    150
    To be clear, there is an option under graphics tabs in user settings for enabling Hardware Death Effect. Make sure this box is not checked. I had a similar death graphics glitch for a couple weeks before I found this box checked after a previous patch.
     
  10. Lorddog

    Lorddog Crazed Zealot
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2004
    Messages:
    3,118
    Likes Received:
    302
    maybe turning off circle of transparency will help with placing items
     
  11. Adrianas

    Adrianas Sage
    Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend Gilfane

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2003
    Messages:
    526
    Likes Received:
    131
    Nope. I actually hit this problem before Halloween, just after High Seas was released. I was not using Circle of Transparency. I was trying to place things on the 2nd floor. I had to go downstairs and move all containers and deeded items in order to place a tall elven bed and several other items, including items that you would normally just drop onto the floor.
     
  12. Pooker53

    Pooker53 Adventurer

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    1
    I lost a creeping vine last night.Went down thru bottom floor.Couldnt get it.
     
  13. cdavbar

    cdavbar Lore Master
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,058
    Likes Received:
    276
    Yes I've lost deeded items as well falling through the first floor. A GM can retrieve it but who is gonna wait 4-8 hours for a GM?
     
  14. Wormie

    Wormie Guest

    i do agree with this post. what is the point of having test shard when really there is always more damage done when it goes live to other shards. High seas is a kwel expansion and was needed for uo but if i known all these bugs where going to come with it i wouldnt have gotten it till it was fixed.

    Also how come other games experience with major bugs they are fixed within the week? but when uo has small minor little bug (example, tracking) it takes like months to get fix or the next publish which by then the PAYING customer already cancelled his account.
     
  15. cdavbar

    cdavbar Lore Master
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,058
    Likes Received:
    276
    Can Cal or Mesanna respond please?
     
  16. covert

    covert Journeyman
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    5
    I too have ran into a load of these bugs, especially the container lag. It's getting unbareable to open my bank let alone the moving crate (go ahead and try it, it will, or will nearly, crash your client).

    If I could increase the window size and resolution in the 2D client I'd just use that. At my monitors resolution, the game play window is actually smaller than the black area and it's just too hard to play like that.
     
  17. Tina Small

    Tina Small Stratics Legend
    Stratics Veteran 4H

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    7,535
    Likes Received:
    1,927
    In the legacy client, trying to loot all the items from a corse that can be unravelled has become extremely painful. Stuff either doesn't drag at all or lands in an odd spot in the bag in the backpack that I'm trying to drop it into. I have the option checked to need to hold down the Shift key to use context menus and have noticed that sometimes I can't even get a context menu to show up for certain actions (e.g., setting security on a dye tub). Or I need to hold down the Shift key to even be able to move certain small items such as rings and bracelets from or within a container.

    It's very very frustrating to have things you are trying to drag become highlighted and then you can't do anything with them at all and get stupid "you must wait" messages.
     
  18. Pooker53

    Pooker53 Adventurer

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    1
    Here is another crappy bug.I had a Peach TREE.I decided to move it.I chop it,it shows as a Peach tree TRUNK.I chop it again and the deed is now a peach tree TRUNK.These bugs are way messed up and need to be fixed !
     
  19. gortman

    gortman Sage
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    630
    Likes Received:
    0
    Are these bugs showing up for everyone, or just those who upgraded to the High Seas expansion?
     
  20. Pooker53

    Pooker53 Adventurer

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    1
    I didnt upgrade to High Seas.
     
  21. cdavbar

    cdavbar Lore Master
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,058
    Likes Received:
    276
    Im beginning to lose faith in the Dev, we need answers.
     
  22. Picus at the office

    Picus at the office Certifiable
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    1,686
    Likes Received:
    583
    Are all of these issues with the EC? I hate to beat a dead horse but it seems to me that the one constant with a good amount of these threads is that client.
     
  23. cdavbar

    cdavbar Lore Master
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,058
    Likes Received:
    276
    I use the EC yes. Ive never had these issues before High Seas was released. It is getting really frustrating. The prior bugs the EC had I could live with until the day they are fixed, if ever, but these ones are just horrible.
     
  24. Pooker53

    Pooker53 Adventurer

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    1
    I only use CC.
     
  25. MagicStar

    MagicStar Journeyman
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    30
    Did you have lumberjacking on that char?
     
  26. Pooker53

    Pooker53 Adventurer

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    1
    Yep,that character has Lj.
     
  27. Willard

    Willard Seasoned Veteran
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2004
    Messages:
    397
    Likes Received:
    22
    I also have experienced the EC unexpectedly shutting down. It is more like it just instantly disappears! This happens 3-4 times a day if I happen to be playing a lot. Very frustrating if you are not in a safe place.
     
  28. cdavbar

    cdavbar Lore Master
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,058
    Likes Received:
    276
    Still no word from a dev, I will have to keep bumping this every few hours till I hear from one. I have now lost 2 more items that cannot be replaced from them falling through the display case and 2 floors to the foundation of my house. They decayed while waiting for a GM.


    ANSWERS PLEASE!!!
     
  29. MagicStar

    MagicStar Journeyman
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    30
    lol maybe thats why your tree is a trunk?
     
  30. Basara

    Basara UO Forum Moderator
    Moderator Professional Wiki Moderator Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend Campaign Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2003
    Messages:
    8,472
    Likes Received:
    593
    1. I'm getting blackholed in the Classic Client 99% of the time, when I recall off a moving ship. (the "EC going black" mentioned above sounds like blackholing as well, as described by someone who never experienced it in the old days in the CC, or it's been so long they've forgotten). It's usually fixed by recalling to another location, and back.

    2. Runebooks containing a ship rune as default will ALWAYS take you to your ship, if you sacred journey to any rune in the book (recall usually works correctly, and Gate Travel always works). It might not even require it to be default - but I have two ship runes in the same book (mine, and the one my guild uses for anti-pirate operations), and it always goes to the first (default) ship rune in the book.

    3. I had my ENTIRE SHIP go black-holed crossing a server line, during a period when the CC was behaving very strangely after several black hole recalls. It was corrected by totally shutting down the client and restarting. It was like watching the ship sail off the edge of the flat Earth, as it just moved into a totally black screen, then everything froze.

    4. Some fish piles suddenly decide not to allow newer fish to stack on them, but the new fish do stack with each other.

    5. Some areas of the Fishing Emporium boat slips seem to randomly change from shallow to deep water, and back.

    6. Pirate ships seem to congregate, and it can be really bad if you come under fire from 2 or 3 at once (or get crippled while trying to loot your kill). Can we have some spacing code please?

    7. Not a bug, but an issue - since there are 8 possible fish quest crates, how about having their locations in the hold be a static position for each, instead of them overlapping each other.

    8. The Getting a fish quest automatically on turning in, if eligible, has to go.
     
  31. seapup

    seapup Guest

    Every single issues that you are all having , is happening to me also.
    I run in enhanced client also and placing things in house to see them fall down to next floor is stupid.
    Ask for a gm to come and retrieve your stuff thats fallen to floor bellow you when ur on first floor, well may as well forget it like you say becuase by the time a GM shows up (is there GM's in this game) your items are gone bye bye.

    Crashing to desk top happens also and I thought it was my computer but now I see I am not the only one.

    Do not fear help is on the way to fix these problems. (umm wonder when thats going to be)

    Have fun all cu in game
     
  32. cdavbar

    cdavbar Lore Master
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,058
    Likes Received:
    276
    Bumpity Bump Bump Bumpity Bump Bump Where the devs go?

    Bumpity Bump Bump Bumpity Bump Bump Why wont these devs show?