1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Greetings Guest!!

    In order to combat SPAM on the forums, all users are required to have a minimum of 2 posts before they can submit links in any post or thread.

    Dismiss Notice

Can’t log in since patch!

Discussion in 'UHall' started by Rama21, Sep 8, 2009.

  1. Rama21

    Rama21 Guest

    I’m on dialup using Windows 98SE. I spent over 12hrs downloading the new patch just to get an error message when I try to log in. I get the “Patch session completed.” message but then when I hit “Ok” I get:

    Error Starting Program
    The CLIENT.EXE file is
    linked to a missing export KERNEL32.DLL: SetFilePointerEx.

    If I remember right, this happened after another patch about a year ago and it’s something that needs to be fixed by EA.

    Anyone else having this problem?
     
  2. Frarc

    Frarc Stratics Legend
    Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2003
    Messages:
    7,770
    Likes Received:
    1,132
    Do you have the latest directX drivers?
     
  3. sablestorm

    sablestorm Certifiable
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,951
    Likes Received:
    317
    I had the same thing on my old Win98 machines and I did update DirectX but still no luck.
     
  4. Astrel

    Astrel Guest

    Same problem
     
  5. Grahir

    Grahir Guest

    I was just on the phone with a friend who was having the same error trying to help her with it. She was able to talk with Tech Support earlier and they told her to uninstall, download an installer and reinstall.

    Before she did that, she called me to see if I was having any problems. I'm running Win XP, she is still using Win 98. I had no problem but didn't actually enter the game for long. She went through all that Tech Support suggested and got the same error. A little while later she received an email about her ticket....basically it said the problem stemmed from UO switching support to XP and no longer supporting Win98. Looks like anyone using the Win98 OS is out of luck.
     
  6. Rama21

    Rama21 Guest

    That’s interesting since they have been assuring us for months that it will still work on 98SE and on the uo game codes site it says SA will run on 98SE. :mad:
     
  7. RoseBlue

    RoseBlue Seasoned Veteran
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 25, 2008
    Messages:
    256
    Likes Received:
    0
    Same with Millenium.
     
  8. Astrel

    Astrel Guest

    Try switching off yr antivirus, then try. Although not using dial up or any older OS software, just switching off the antivirus tray worked for me.
     
  9. Rama21

    Rama21 Guest

    They need a :bump: smilie. :sad4:
     
  10. Rama21

    Rama21 Guest

    Still no luck.
     
  11. Rama21

    Rama21 Guest

    Re: Can?t log in since patch!

    Has anyone gotten in yet? I still can't. I sent in a report but haven't heard back from them. Guess they don't care that they just cut off a bunch of loyal players.
     
  12. Ender

    Ender Crazed Zealot
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Messages:
    3,550
    Likes Received:
    549
    Re: Can?t log in since patch!

    It's almost 2010, good god, upgrade already. <_<
     
  13. FionanPac

    FionanPac Journeyman
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    1
    Rama I know that some people who have altered the UO art files (making trees look like tree stumps etc) couldn't log in and had the same problem as you. Once they put the original art file back in they logged in instantly. So if you have ever altered the art file to make a chicken look like a cow or whatever that may be your problem.
     
  14. LoneSwan

    LoneSwan Visitor
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    I had no problem with my XP Pro ServicePack 3 computer, other than the unavoidable frustration with dial-up (slowww dial-up < 33.1!). [Even though my location is on the Potomac River (less than 2 hours drive from Mythic HQ... in Fairfax, VA?), broadband service is unavailable.]

    With both Windows 98se computers, I received the exact same error message. The latest patch will not work with Windows 98se (or ME). Did some quick research with Google. Found the reason (cited, below).

    I do recall a similar situation a while back that was quickly fixed with another special patch for Windows 98 users. Haven't done a search to refresh my memory on that. So, it is possible that a fix might be provided. However, I'm also ready to deal with not using the old OS to play UO, though I'll miss the convenience of using my antique machines and marveling that such a complex game can live on them... until this week.

    see URL: https://support.istaria.com/index.php?act=article&code=view&id=12

    QUOTE: "The problem is caused by the latest version of the client using windows functions that were not yet implemented in older versions of Windows. Because of technical issues, a patch can not be released that solves this problem..."

    see URL: http://forums.station.sony.com/eq2/posts/list.m?topic_id=438412&post_id=4884810

    I'm not a programmer, but my read on this is that a "function call/request" is being made that does not exist in the Windows 98 system's vocabulary; so the process halts and returns error message.

    Be nice if this can be patched. I love to send the ~flying_finger~ to Microsoft by continuing to use Windows 98, especially with a program as sophisticated and communication(transfer protocol) efficient as Ultima Online.

    Sharing your pain.
     
  15. Jhym

    Jhym Guest

    People are STILL using win 98? Really?

    No, really?

    :wall:

    *sigh*
     
  16. Rama21

    Rama21 Guest

    I believe it was Draconi who said like 6 months ago that it would work on 98SE. If it's not going to then they really need to take this off of uogamecodes.com:

    ULTIMA ONLINE™ STYGIAN ABYSS SYSTEM REQUIREMENTS
    OS: Windows XP or 98SE

    And yes, some of us can't afford to just go out and buy a new computer.
     
  17. Konge

    Konge Lore Master
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2006
    Messages:
    1,045
    Likes Received:
    2
    Unless I'm horribly mistaken... you probably wouldn't need to buy a computer to upgrade to windows XP... Just the disk which costs about... 50USD If I remember correctly, unless theres a compatibility issue with your hardware being too ancient to run XP I'd see no reason why you'd have to buy a new computer.
     
  18. Xenobia

    Xenobia Lore Keeper
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Messages:
    790
    Likes Received:
    5
    Re: Can?t log in since patch!

    My thoughts exactly. At least do an upgrade to 2k??? NTFS not FAT32...You gotta get beyond 98. Anymore, thats like saying you are running DOS. *shudders* And I am NOT trying to be mean, just realistic.