1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Greetings Guest!!

    In order to combat SPAM on the forums, all users are required to have a minimum of 2 posts before they can submit links in any post or thread.

    Dismiss Notice

Can you raise large fishing nets?

Discussion in 'UO Homes and Castles' started by Duncan McDermott, Oct 19, 2015.

  1. Duncan McDermott

    Duncan McDermott Seasoned Veteran

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2015
    Messages:
    410
    Likes Received:
    132
    I just fished up this fisherman's first large fishing net. I placed it in front of the clawfoot tub. If it were raised a bit the effect would be that much nicer. Is there a method to raise them?
     
  2. Irulia Darkaith

    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2004
    Messages:
    610
    Likes Received:
    298
    Of course, you can either place gozas, raise them up a bit, place the fishing net on top, lock it down. Axe the Gozas and drop the fishing net to the desired height. Alternatively the stone blocks we can make now are also handy, put two of them down where you want the net, place the net on top lock it down, remove blocks. Decorating 101
     
    Duncan McDermott likes this.
  3. Duncan McDermott

    Duncan McDermott Seasoned Veteran

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2015
    Messages:
    410
    Likes Received:
    132
    Thank you I wasn't sure about the gozas and hadn't made any of them. Never thought about the blocks. I have some stone and will give it a try.
     
  4. Duncan McDermott

    Duncan McDermott Seasoned Veteran

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2015
    Messages:
    410
    Likes Received:
    132
    I made 2 rough blocks and placed them along side the tub. First I
    DBL clicked them and tried to place the net it didn't work. Not DBL clicking the blocks allowed the net to place on top of them. Once locked down the net stayed in place after removing the blocks.
    I had to buy the book making stone items but it is worth it. Thanks for the help.
     
  5. Irulia Darkaith

    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2004
    Messages:
    610
    Likes Received:
    298
    Not sure why locking the blocks down created an issue - I was able to do it with the block double clicked and not double clicked - worked both ways for me. Anyway, glad you were able to get it to work. If you ever have trouble placing on top of something don't forget the old "axe the pouch" trick.
     
    Duncan McDermott likes this.
  6. Duncan McDermott

    Duncan McDermott Seasoned Veteran

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2015
    Messages:
    410
    Likes Received:
    132
    Not sure I know the axe the pouch trick
     
  7. Kirthag

    Kirthag Former Stratics Publisher
    Professional Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend Campaign Benefactor Evergreen

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2004
    Messages:
    4,269
    Likes Received:
    1,640
    There is also the circle of transparency... sometimes when you place an item, you kinda gotta target through a backing wall.
     
  8. Irulia Darkaith

    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2004
    Messages:
    610
    Likes Received:
    298
    If you have trouble dropping an object on a tile it's often easier to drop a pouch (like you buy from the provisioners) on the spot. Then place the item inside the pouch and chop up the pouch with an axe. Voila, the item appears in the spot, now just lock it down and move it up or down as desired. You an also use the trash barrel - but for that to work you have to be able to walk on to the spot which isn't always possible.

    As for the circle of transparency - as Kirthag already mentioned - it helps a lot to drop items close to walls if you make the wall "invisible" first.