1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Greetings Guest!!

    In order to combat SPAM on the forums, all users are required to have a minimum of 2 posts before they can submit links in any post or thread.

    Dismiss Notice

Castle Lag... HELP

Discussion in 'UHall' started by Endrik, Dec 8, 2012.

  1. Endrik

    Endrik Sage
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2007
    Messages:
    711
    Likes Received:
    161
    Something happened in the last few weeks that has made it impossible to function in one of my castles (fel). The lag is unbelievable; it takes me up to 30 seconds to take a single step. Nothing was wrong immediately after the change that allowed us to lock things down in the courtyards, but at some point after that the lag went through the roof. I have tried removing all carpet tiles, I have removed over 200 goza mats, and I have removed a ton of other items in the hopes of reducing the number of items that have to load; nothing works.

    This lag is happening on all of my accounts for each character that enters the fel castle. As soon as I leave the house or go to my Tram castle, things are fine. There is something seriously wrong here. The only items I have added to the castle courtyard are about 10 small hedges and two shard shields, so I dont think it has anything to do with number of items in a courtyard. I should also note that my tram castle has 2-3 times as many items in the courtyard and no lag problems at all.

    Is anybody else experiencing this issue? Any ideas what the problem may be and if it is possible to be fixed?
     
  2. Olahorand

    Olahorand Slightly Crazed
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2004
    Messages:
    1,336
    Likes Received:
    243
    Seems you have built up a black hole, which now consumed Atlantic on total? (just joking, since you did not mention the shard)

    Does it happen on both clients (classic and extended)?
    For a new created character or friends? From another PC, if you have the choice?

    If it is limited to your PC, it could be that something is wrong with the cache. Check the event log if there are any file system related warnings or error messages. If the disk starts to develop damaged or hardly readable sectors, this could be a reason, if the cache is occupying one of them.
     
  3. Endrik

    Endrik Sage
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2007
    Messages:
    711
    Likes Received:
    161
    It is on Sonoma. And yes, I have tried from different accounts, different computers, and different chars. It is definately a problem with the castle, not with some other external factor. :(
     
  4. MalagAste

    MalagAste Belaern d'Zhaunil
    Reporter Professional Governor Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend Campaign Supporter Royal Knight

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2000
    Messages:
    18,957
    Likes Received:
    5,443
    Having a Castle on GL's I can safely say I have NOT experienced any issue with it at all and I did add a good bit of deco to the courtyard. Not sure why your place would be effected in such a way if I had time I'd come check out your Castle just to see if it effects others as much. Perhaps you could get some friends to come see if they experience the lag as well.

    Perhaps it's not YOUR castle that is the problem but one of your neighbors there.
     
    #4 MalagAste, Dec 8, 2012
    Last edited: Dec 8, 2012
    Bazer likes this.
  5. Olahorand

    Olahorand Slightly Crazed
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2004
    Messages:
    1,336
    Likes Received:
    243
    It must be something within or around your castle then, since my castles did not develop any lag effects either.
    *Salute*
    Olahorand
     
  6. Winker

    Winker Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    2,297
    Likes Received:
    620
    I have a castle in fel on Europa and no lag there either
     
  7. Endrik

    Endrik Sage
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2007
    Messages:
    711
    Likes Received:
    161
    Thanks for the input guys. I just had a guildmate come check it out and they had the same thing (major lag) as soon as they stepped inside. The castle is in a secluded location so I know it is not an issue with neighbors. I have also cleared out over 1000 gozas, carpet tiles, non-decaying items, and lockdowns since the lag started to see if that would help, bit it did not. :(
     
  8. PinkPandora

    PinkPandora Rares Fest Host | LS April 2011
    Stratics Veteran Campaign Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2007
    Messages:
    662
    Likes Received:
    246
    Endrik; you are not the only one. My friend's castle on LS trammel - coordinates: 87 48N 130 8E is experiencing horrible lag inside and even outside prior to castle load. They have no gozas, no carpet, no courtyard deco. There are no ships nearby either. This castle is also in a secluded location. However, this castle was placed recently (Oct 2012) by resizing a keep. Endrik - what are the coordinates of your castle on Sonoma? Please somebody help - thanks .....
     
  9. Giggles

    Giggles Forum Administrator
    Administrator Moderator Professional Stratics Veteran Social Media Liaison Campaign Supporter The Squirrel Empire

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    2,227
    Likes Received:
    1,641
    I am having the SAME problem. Fel castle located in a remote area just east of vesper on Catskills. I crash 60% of the time that I use my house tele there, takes about 10 seconds or more to load.... awful awful lag all throughout the castle but especially in the center. I bagged up all my decorations and still have the same issue.

    I don't know whats wrong, but I hope it gets fixed or I'm moving =(
     
    #9 Giggles, Dec 12, 2012
    Last edited: Dec 12, 2012
  10. PinkPandora

    PinkPandora Rares Fest Host | LS April 2011
    Stratics Veteran Campaign Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2007
    Messages:
    662
    Likes Received:
    246
    I saw a post last night where Mesanna said the castle lag issue would be fixed. And for the castle i was referring to on LS; the lag has been fixed. Thank you for listening. I hope the issue is resolved for the other folks on this thread this morning (Wed, Dec 12).
     
  11. Giggles

    Giggles Forum Administrator
    Administrator Moderator Professional Stratics Veteran Social Media Liaison Campaign Supporter The Squirrel Empire

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    2,227
    Likes Received:
    1,641
    ITS FIXED!!!!!!!

    Now I am off to redecorate!! Its going to look amazing =)

    Ty for listening to us dev's :heart:
     
    #11 Giggles, Dec 12, 2012
    Last edited: Dec 12, 2012
  12. Snakeman

    Snakeman UO Forum Moderator
    Moderator Professional Premium Wiki Moderator Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2002
    Messages:
    4,961
    Likes Received:
    165
    Good as gold again, no lag in Castles ;)