1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Greetings Guest!!

    In order to combat SPAM on the forums, all users are required to have a minimum of 2 posts before they can submit links in any post or thread.

    Dismiss Notice

[Gardening] Cocoa Tree with no resources

Discussion in 'UO Botany and Nutrition' started by TullyMars, Apr 7, 2012.

  1. TullyMars

    TullyMars Sage
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    525
    Likes Received:
    55
    I have a couple cocoa trees going in my raised garden box.
    I believe these were started from seeds that passed through my veteran reward seed box.
    They are maturing and I went to harvest some seeds and resources today.

    Surprisingly...there was no cocoa pulp on these trees...ex'd out..non-resource producing trees...just seeds.

    Is this a known bug? Am I doing something wrong? Anyone seen this before or recently?
    Sure could use some help confirming before I submit a bug report. (I hate submitting bug reports that are inaccurate as I feel like I "cry wolf" if that were to happen)
     
  2. Barok

    Barok Grand Inquisitor
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2004
    Messages:
    4,894
    Likes Received:
    330
    I've seen the seed box do some funky things to some of the peculiar seeds. Sometimes when I take an identified peculiar seed out of the seed box it reverts back to unidentified in my backpack, and then if I put it back in the seed box it remains just a 'peculiar seed'

    It's hard to reproduce though. Happens about once in a couple hundred times.
     
  3. Percivalgoh

    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 7, 2010
    Messages:
    672
    Likes Received:
    24
    I have 2 piles of fragrant seeds. One is identified and grows normal cocoa trees the other one just planted but it has indicators that there will be seeds and resources.
     
  4. TullyMars

    TullyMars Sage
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    525
    Likes Received:
    55
    Just making sure, both piles seem to produce resources for you correct?
    Were either identified using the vet reward seed box or were they identified using the poppies dust?
     
  5. Percivalgoh

    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 7, 2010
    Messages:
    672
    Likes Received:
    24
    I don't know how the seeds were ided because I found them in an IDOC the other seeds just say fragrant seeds but planted grow a cocoa tree and the seed and resource indicator says 0/8 for both.
     
  6. Percivalgoh

    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 7, 2010
    Messages:
    672
    Likes Received:
    24
    well it could be the seeds are from a cocoa tree since mine from the tree stack with them
     
  7. Ryna

    Ryna Sage
    Stratics Veteran Alumni

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2004
    Messages:
    672
    Likes Received:
    4
    I can confirm this. I have no idea where the stacks of seeds came from or what they've been through as they were gifted to me, but I have two stacks and one gives resources and the other does not.

    [​IMG]
     
  8. TullyMars

    TullyMars Sage
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    525
    Likes Received:
    55
    Thank you Ryna. I have submitted it as a bug now using the bug form on uoherald.
    This is definitely from seeds identified with the seed box.
    I do still need to identify some with the poppies dust to see if the same thing happens.
     
  9. Ryna

    Ryna Sage
    Stratics Veteran Alumni

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2004
    Messages:
    672
    Likes Received:
    4
    No, poppies dust doesn't break them as far as I've experienced.
     
  10. TullyMars

    TullyMars Sage
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    525
    Likes Received:
    55
    You beating me to all my tests. (And for that I am grateful! Don't want to sound unappreciative)
    Now I am going to test if poppies dust can be used on the broken ones from the seedbox to fix them.
    Long shot but just maybe.
    I just have to wait a week, gave away all my poppies dust recently.
     
  11. Barok

    Barok Grand Inquisitor
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2004
    Messages:
    4,894
    Likes Received:
    330
    Are you on Atlantic? I still have a crap-load of poppies dust from before I got my seed box.
     
  12. Ryna

    Ryna Sage
    Stratics Veteran Alumni

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2004
    Messages:
    672
    Likes Received:
    4
    It just gave me the message that it has already been identified, and planted as the same bugged type (seeds only)
    Also, the seeds from the bugged plants produce more bugged plants, even when identified with poppy dust.
     
  13. Petra Fyde

    Petra Fyde Peerless Chatterbox
    Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2001
    Messages:
    30,889
    Likes Received:
    5,175
    just out of curiosity, why are you using poppy dust on them? Fragrant seeds can only produce cocoa trees, only peculiar seeds make different plants.
     
  14. TullyMars

    TullyMars Sage
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    525
    Likes Received:
    55
    This is true and a good point, but it happened out of an accident and then OCD.
    At first I'd go out hunting and gets stacks of peculiar seeds and fragrant seeds.
    I'd hit every seed stack in my bag with poppies dust before putting them in my seed supply chests.
    Then I realized I had two stacks going of the same thing...one labelled cocoa tree seeds or whatever and one labelled fragrant seeds.
    This drives my OCD crazy.
    I have a small small house for my gardener, with lots of supplies, so I want to keep the number of items down and would rather not have multiple stacks for the same item.
    Also the seeds claimed off a fragrant seed say cocoa tree seeds thus creating two separate stacks. Even named seeds put in two different stacks (or at least used to) one named seed unidentified when harvested from a plant and named seed identified. Drive me nuts but poppies dust was fixing it for me. Then poppies dust was replaced by my shiney new seedbox.

    When the seed box reward came along...I just kept loading up the seed box till it filled before moving the overflow to my chests.
    I noticed things didn't stack once again (seeds identified with poppies dust vs seeds identified with seed box)
    so I ran all my seeds through the seed box so I was again with one stack.

    Now I have 636 cocoa tree seeds that don't produce diddly.
    I have more on sale from my vendor that I have to pull because I don't want to give anyone defective seeds.

    But in short, OCD and because it was there is why. Lol
     
  15. Ryna

    Ryna Sage
    Stratics Veteran Alumni

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2004
    Messages:
    672
    Likes Received:
    4
    Yeah, me too. "Because it's more organized that way".
     
  16. Ryna

    Ryna Sage
    Stratics Veteran Alumni

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2004
    Messages:
    672
    Likes Received:
    4
    Ok, here's for odd. The seeds the previously pictured cocoa trees gave me today: [​IMG]
     
  17. Barok

    Barok Grand Inquisitor
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2004
    Messages:
    4,894
    Likes Received:
    330
    The O'hii Tree is the base item type of the Cocoa Tree. Looks like all the modified info that made them Cocoa Trees has been stripped off.
     
  18. Ryna

    Ryna Sage
    Stratics Veteran Alumni

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2004
    Messages:
    672
    Likes Received:
    4
    Aye. They stay that way when identified, but plant as 'Fragrant seed's. They have both resources and seeds, though, so I don't care what they call themselves!