1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Greetings Guest!!

    In order to combat SPAM on the forums, all users are required to have a minimum of 2 posts before they can submit links in any post or thread.

    Dismiss Notice

consistant gamefreeze for 1 second every 2 minutes

Discussion in 'UHall' started by Shadefox, Sep 6, 2015.

  1. Shadefox

    Shadefox Certifiable
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2004
    Messages:
    1,725
    Likes Received:
    28
    I dont get this. The last year or so, everytime I tried to start playing again, everything freezes for a second or two, just about every 2 minutes ingame. This time I wont let it stop me though, so looking for a fix.

    could it be anything in this list? (see traceroute)

    Or is it a problem with newer pc's`?

    Currently running:

    Processor Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-4700HQ CPU @ 2.40GHz
    Manufacturer Intel
    Speed 2.4 GHz
    Number of Cores 4
    Video Card 1 NVIDIA GeForce GTX 880M
    Manufacturer NVIDIA
    Chipset GeForce GTX 880M
    Dedicated Memory 6144 MB
    Total Memory 6144 MB
    Video Card 2 Intel(R) HD Graphics 4600
    Manufacturer Intel
    Chipset Intel(R) HD Graphics 4600
    Dedicated Memory 112.5 MB
    Total Memory 4.0 GB
    Memory 16 GB

    Operating System Microsoft Windows 10 (build 10240), 64-bit
    Service Pack 0
    Size 64 Bit
    Edition

    on my laptop, but same problem occurs on my desktop.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. THP

    THP Stratics Legend
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2003
    Messages:
    9,909
    Likes Received:
    1,698
    I had major lag issues yesterday... today is a lot lot better....who knows
     
  3. Scribbles

    Scribbles Babbling Loonie
    Professional Alumni

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2013
    Messages:
    2,675
    Likes Received:
    2,027
    Ive been having the same issues. Havent been able to pvp very much because of it. My computer runs other more intensive games extremely smooth. I have a feeling that the lag has to do with something UO has done, or perhaps tracert.... Not sure just wish it would go away.
     
  4. Shadefox

    Shadefox Certifiable
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2004
    Messages:
    1,725
    Likes Received:
    28
    I had to every single session for 2 years, why I hardly played more than one hour a month.
     
  5. MalagAste

    MalagAste Belaern d'Zhaunil
    Reporter Professional Governor Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend Campaign Supporter Royal Knight

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2000
    Messages:
    18,957
    Likes Received:
    5,444
    I used to have that problem.... switched to the EC don't have it anymore.
     
    HoneythornGump likes this.
  6. Shadefox

    Shadefox Certifiable
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2004
    Messages:
    1,725
    Likes Received:
    28
    Seems to work for me aswell.. I just dont like it
     
  7. MalagAste

    MalagAste Belaern d'Zhaunil
    Reporter Professional Governor Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend Campaign Supporter Royal Knight

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2000
    Messages:
    18,957
    Likes Received:
    5,444
    Like it or not you may as well get used to it... trust me 99% of the time it outperforms the old 2d anyway. At any rate if you want help with it or Pinco's UI let me know. I'm always willing to help folk convert.

    I made the switch about 6 years ago and have never gone back. After getting a new pc that didn't like the old 2d I just forced myself to get over the looks of the EC. Now I pretty much would never go back.
     
  8. Lord Frodo

    Lord Frodo Grand Poobah
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    5,780
    Likes Received:
    2,288
    I am still running the CC and UOA and guess what people, I do not have this problem so please stop saying it is the CC because it ain't.
     
  9. Duncan McDermott

    Duncan McDermott Seasoned Veteran

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2015
    Messages:
    410
    Likes Received:
    132

    I am not an computer expert by any means so take my words carefully. What I would do is start windows in safe mode with only windows needs running. Make sure your virus checker is not running in the background giving you this hesitation. Once in safe mode start the game and see how it runs. If it is better then run down the list of programs running and or taking up memory in normal startup mode. One of them might be the root cause.
     
    Deep Ellum Dan likes this.