1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Greetings Guest!!

    In order to combat SPAM on the forums, all users are required to have a minimum of 2 posts before they can submit links in any post or thread.

    Dismiss Notice

Container Security Setting Doesn't Return to "Owner Only" After House Trade

Discussion in 'UHall' started by Tina Small, May 23, 2013.

  1. Tina Small

    Tina Small Stratics Legend
    Stratics Veteran 4H

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    7,535
    Likes Received:
    1,927
    I just finished trading a house between two accounts. After the trade, I had to re-access characters from several accounts and ended up with the same accounts as I had before set up as co-owners or friends. So far, so good.

    However, I was very surprised to discover, after the trade, that all the containers I previously had set up so they were accessible to friends of the house still had that same security setting. The only thing that appeared to have changed is which character/account now showed as the owner of the container (i.e., the new owner of the house).

    I guess I had just assumed that not only would all the containers in the house change to being owned by the new house owner, but that the access level on all of them would have defaulted at the same time to "Owner Only."

    Maybe it's not a bug. It definitely saved me some time to have it work this way because I didn't have to change the security level on all those containers back to "friends." However, this isn't at all what I expected and it concerns me that others might have assumed the same as I did, that everything would reset so that only characters on the new house owner's account could access containers in the house if no other action was taken.

    In any event, just thought I'd point it this out as something to keep in mind if you receive a house with containers in it from someone else. The security level settings apparently stay as they were before the trade, so be cautious about which characters you add to the house sign in any capacity until you've checked every container's security level to make sure it is what you want it to be.
     
  2. Olahorand

    Olahorand Slightly Crazed
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2004
    Messages:
    1,337
    Likes Received:
    243
    This was always the case - and it is good so. It is annoying enough, that a coowner can no longer unlock items he locked down before an house transfer happens.
    If you trade a house to a stranger, its usually an empty house. If you trade it to an own account (sometimes even only temporary), auto resetting security would be ugly (imagine all the runebooks in a library etc).
     
  3. Merus

    Merus Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran CasteoftheForgotten

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Messages:
    2,629
    Likes Received:
    2,086
    Would be awesome if there was a "master" set security feature in the house sign. One for "Lockdowns Only", "Containers Only", and "All"... these features would function just as the normal security features for Owners, Co-Owners, Friends, Guild, Anyone but would set everything inside the house to such... Want all lockdown items usable by anyone, boom! done! Want to reset all the secure containers in the house to Co-Owners, boom! done!