1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Greetings Guest!!

    In order to combat SPAM on the forums, all users are required to have a minimum of 2 posts before they can submit links in any post or thread.

    Dismiss Notice

Crashing to Desktop

Discussion in 'UO Enhanced Client Discussion' started by Llewen, Feb 5, 2011.

  1. Llewen

    Llewen Grand Inquisitor
    Professional Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend Campaign Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Messages:
    4,699
    Likes Received:
    200
    I'm having problems with crashing to desktop. Is anyone else experiencing this?
     
  2. Storm

    Storm UO Forum Moderator
    Moderator Professional Premium Wiki Moderator Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2004
    Messages:
    7,469
    Likes Received:
    361
    I have been having this problem for a while it happens 1 or 2 times a day ! Seems to happen when i am moving only!
     
  3. Llewen

    Llewen Grand Inquisitor
    Professional Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend Campaign Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Messages:
    4,699
    Likes Received:
    200
    It happened twice to me near Yew gate (Fel). It seems to happen in areas with a lot of housing.
     
  4. Ezekiel Zane

    Ezekiel Zane Grand Inquisitor
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2003
    Messages:
    4,556
    Likes Received:
    113
    It's been happening to me and my two kids a couple times during 2-4 hours gaming sessions.
     
  5. Nimuaq

    Nimuaq Lore Master
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,017
    Likes Received:
    280
    It happens to me mostly after I just recalled to a location or used a moongate. I've also noticed that the spell graphic effects of the mage ratman inside the cavern of the discarded might also trigger a crash. I'm quite used to it now but a fix would be great.
     
  6. Llewen

    Llewen Grand Inquisitor
    Professional Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend Campaign Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Messages:
    4,699
    Likes Received:
    200
    Maybe it's worthwhile posting system specs.

    Windows 7 64
    OCZ Vertex 2 Extended SATA II SSD
    Gigabyte GA-880GM-D2H
    AMD Phenom II X4 955
    Sapphire Radeon HD 5750
    8GB Corsair DDR3 1333MHz XMS3
     
  7. Nimuaq

    Nimuaq Lore Master
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,017
    Likes Received:
    280
    Windows Vista 64
    Intel(R) E8400
    Ati Radeon HD 3800
    4GB Corsair DDR3 1333MHz
     
  8. lucitus

    lucitus UOEC Modder
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Messages:
    1,426
    Likes Received:
    45
  9. Woodsman

    Woodsman Guest

    This was my experience as well. It doesn't happen often (twice in the past 6 days), but both times it was in an area with houses. It's always came back up quickly so it's never been a problem.

    Hardware
    iMac i7 Quad 27-inch
    Mac OS X 10.6.6
    12GB RAM (DDR3)
    ATI Radeon 5750

    I'm running the EC through both CrossOver Games 10.0 with the latest version of DirectX for Windows XP, and through VMWare Fusion (3.1.2) VM that is running Windows 7.

    The two crashes I've had, one was under CrossOver Games, one was under VMWare Fusion running Windows 7.

    If anybody is curious, I prefer running UO through CrossOver Games, it seems to be better on the system. Both are equally fast, but the fan seems to spin up to full speed a lot less when running under CrossOver Games.

    Both are good for running UO seamlessly within Mac OS X though.
     
  10. Woodsman

    Woodsman Guest

    For whatever reason, no matter what account I'm on or whether it's through CrossOver, VMWare, or Boot Camp, I can crash the EC on the docks at Skara Brae, on the island side of the docks, as I'm heading to the boats to cross over.
     
  11. Llewen

    Llewen Grand Inquisitor
    Professional Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend Campaign Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Messages:
    4,699
    Likes Received:
    200
    That's a fun setup. :)
     
  12. Woodsman

    Woodsman Guest

    I was surprised at how smooth and fast it was.

    I've occasionally run the classic client in the past through Parallels Desktop and VMWare just for checking a few things or helping some friends do something, but decided to try out CrossOver with the EC for some serious play on a whim. It's a much more elegant solution and doesn't require me running a copy of Windows, so the overhead is better.

    About as close to having a Mac client as they'll ever get.
     
  13. Merion

    Merion Lore Master
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    1,006
    Likes Received:
    9
    I experience the same problem. I don't think it's the memory leak though, because it happened to me a second very shortly after re-starting the client.

    I went to Yew gate, saw a Minax guy, fought him, crashed after ~20 sec, re-started the client and was dead of course. So I was pissed, changed chars, went back there, started to fight him, crashed again after ~20sec, was pissed even more and called it a night.

    Very annoying to be in stat with 2 chars just because of client crashes.
     
  14. [JD]

    [JD] Guest

    Happens all the time, die to monsters and faction oranges when my client suddenly vanishes without error and i'm looking at the desktop...

    win xp sp2
    4gb ram
    gigabyte mobo, 2.8 ghz processor
    pc express 2 1gb nvidia card
    directx 9 or 10 (cant remember)

    this NEVER used to happen and only started after their "sonoma upgrades". at the same time i began experiencing ping rates up to 10x normal (usually i ping 26-28 and now intermittently i'll just randomly ping for 200+) along with timeouts. again never used to happen prior to sonoma "upgrades"

    how so many people can be complaining of similar occurances and they dont even say they are investigating is crazy