1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Greetings Guest!!

    In order to combat SPAM on the forums, all users are required to have a minimum of 2 posts before they can submit links in any post or thread.

    Dismiss Notice

Crashing upon login

Discussion in 'UHall' started by Flutter, Apr 19, 2013.

  1. Flutter

    Flutter Always Present
    Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    May 12, 2004
    Messages:
    21,553
    Likes Received:
    3,840
    Sorry I have been out of the loop.
    Is crashing when you log in a known issue or should I report it?
    My computer is brand new so I don't think that's the issue.
     
  2. Elden of Baja

    Elden of Baja Journeyman
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010
    Messages:
    261
    Likes Received:
    85
    At what Point are you Crashing?

    Connecting
    Verrifying Account
    Entering Britania

    Do you get a fatal error or is it just Freezing Up on you.
     
  3. Tazar

    Tazar Guest

    Which client?

    I can't say that I've seen posts about crashing on log-in... stuck posts - yes... but not log-in crash. Maybe a corrupted install on the new computer? maybe a conflict with something else running? (I've seen some programs grab a port that UO needs - where if UO is running when the other software is installed - the other software will setup for a different port)
     
  4. Flutter

    Flutter Always Present
    Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    May 12, 2004
    Messages:
    21,553
    Likes Received:
    3,840
    Thanks for the response.
    It seems to be when I actually go into the actual in-game screen. I *almost* see the game screen and then I get the "windows had detected an error" type message, in fact it's kinda greyed out as windows trys to solve the problem or whatever that automatic pop-up says. Then it closes to desktop.
    I haven't actually played in a while but I logged in and out frequently today and it seemed to happen every time I changed characters.
    I am running a fully updated version of windows 7.
    At one point I actually did get to log on and take two steps before it happened.
     
  5. Flutter

    Flutter Always Present
    Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    May 12, 2004
    Messages:
    21,553
    Likes Received:
    3,840
    Old client. I should really move up to the EC. I just like the avatars in the old client better.
    Anyway, the only thing running is Ventrilo when I am in UO, same as I always have.
     
  6. Flutter

    Flutter Always Present
    Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    May 12, 2004
    Messages:
    21,553
    Likes Received:
    3,840
    I should mention the strangest thing is I always get in on the second try.
     
  7. Tazar

    Tazar Guest

    Anything from Adobe running in the background? That's done it before.
     
  8. Flutter

    Flutter Always Present
    Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    May 12, 2004
    Messages:
    21,553
    Likes Received:
    3,840
    Hrm I will have to check. I have logged for the night, but I will update this thread tomorrow.
     
  9. Flutter

    Flutter Always Present
    Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    May 12, 2004
    Messages:
    21,553
    Likes Received:
    3,840
    Now that I know this isn't a "known issue" I will experiment with it more tomorrow and try to get more specifics.
    I just noticed:
    A) When I initially try to log on I crash, every time no matter what time of day
    B) The second time I try to log into that character after crashing I always get in with no issues.

    I will see if it's per account or per each character tomorrow and take notes now that I know this isn't a general issue with the last patch/publish.
     
  10. Elden of Baja

    Elden of Baja Journeyman
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010
    Messages:
    261
    Likes Received:
    85
    Hmm... I seem to remember someone posting something about crashes in windows seven... Had to change something in the Properties of the Client.exe. I'm running windows 8 with no issue, so can't remember the Specifics.