1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Greetings Guest!!

    In order to combat SPAM on the forums, all users are required to have a minimum of 2 posts before they can submit links in any post or thread.

    Dismiss Notice

Dear Stratics..

Discussion in 'UHall' started by aarons6, Aug 16, 2011.

  1. aarons6

    aarons6 Certifiable
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    1,897
    Likes Received:
    31
    Fire Cloudfire.. they are not doing their jobs

    502 Bad Gateway
    cloudflare-nginx

    every single time i connect to this site i have to push F5 over and over again until the page loads. sometimes as much as 10 times..

    sometimes then after that the page only loads half way, there will be no pictures and miss aligned text.
     
  2. Lord Frodo

    Lord Frodo Grand Poobah
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    5,776
    Likes Received:
    2,286
  3. Ezekiel Zane

    Ezekiel Zane Grand Inquisitor
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2003
    Messages:
    4,556
    Likes Received:
    113
    There was a similar post about this very topic this morning and it mysteriously vanished into the nether.

    I've received this error dozens of times today myself.
     
  4. Cirno

    Cirno Purple Pony Princess
    Stratics Veteran Alumni

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    Messages:
    961
    Likes Received:
    224
    As suspicious as it may seem, threads and posts are really only removed for good reasons.
    A reference list of those reasons can be found: Here.

    The Cloudflare subject isn't verboten, to my knowledge.
    There's a problem.
    You know it, we know it.
    The recent issues with the Ultima Online account management have exacerbated the problem.
    Mo' traffic, mo' problems.

    Now, please excuse me while I go make a little noise :)
     
  5. BluDjinn

    BluDjinn Journeyman

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    17
    It does take waaayyy longer for the pages to load now.

    I run a pretty fast machine and have a good dsl connection.

    No problems with other sites I visit.

    :thumbdown:
     
  6. Ezekiel Zane

    Ezekiel Zane Grand Inquisitor
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2003
    Messages:
    4,556
    Likes Received:
    113

    My comments in the thread that was removed were similar.

    I've had UHall set as my homepage in Firefox for years. Historically, on a cable internet connection, I've enjoyed near instantaneous page loads of Stratics and obviously UHall as my Homepage.

    In the not to distant past however, it started taking 5-15 seconds on average for any Stratics forum to load.

    I'm curious if this correlates to when Stratics began using CloudFlare?
     
  7. AirmidCecht

    AirmidCecht twitch.tv/airmid
    Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2004
    Messages:
    2,297
    Likes Received:
    486
    Cloudflare is not the issue :)

    I've talked with George, Tom, Syrus and Stephen about this.

    Stephen has set aside Thursday to take a better look. There are some issues that we've encountered that he is looking into.

    I'll make sure we communicate what we find and what we intend to do as soon as we can.

    Now lets see if I can't get this to double post! *wink*
     
  8. Petra Fyde

    Petra Fyde Peerless Chatterbox
    Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2001
    Messages:
    30,882
    Likes Received:
    5,165
    We know. Nobody is more aware of the loading problems of the site than those who are trying to monitor the posts on it.
    While we are trying very hard to remain peaceful and calm, pointing out the obvious to frustated people does not have a beneficial effect. We are doing all we can to find a resolution, if only for the sake of our own sanity. Please bear with us. Thank you.
     
  9. heh! might have a simple self heal for others ...

    user control panel
    Settings & Options
    Edit Options
    Default Thread Age Cut Off

    set low, more recently
    NOT max / all

    >Marked Improvement in load speeds for me<

    yw ... :danceb:

    bear with us
    [​IMG]
     
  10. Tazar

    Tazar Guest

    I have also had some problems with Stratics slow loading. I was watching the programs loading list and noticed that myskype.com is what kept holding things up.

    For those of you that also use Skype, go to Tools - Options - Advanced and uncheck "Use Skype to call callto: links on the web". This program seems to go through each website that you load and checks the pages for phone numbers that it creates Skype links for. Ever since I turned this off, the forums are loading much faster.
     
  11. Rupert Avery

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2011
    Messages:
    616
    Likes Received:
    68
    Thank you I've just done that :)
     
  12. Raptor85

    Raptor85 Certifiable
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2007
    Messages:
    1,712
    Likes Received:
    224
    Stratics is just slow because it shares hosting space on the 386SX the UO shards are hosted from.

    I do have to admit though, about 1/2 the time i try to go to stratics it goes to the cloudflare page which is...somewhat amusingly....titled "Always Online".

    Also, why do the forums themselves run through the caching service...that seems somewhat pointless, why not split off a "statics" domain for all static content like images and articles for cloudflare to host and keep the forums directly hosted, wouldn't that save an enormous amount of processing power and bandwidth not replicating data that's useless to have cached?
     
  13. Taylor

    Taylor Former Stratics CEO (2011-2014)
    Professional VIP Stratics Veteran Supporter Alumni Campaign Benefactor Alumni

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Messages:
    8,023
    Likes Received:
    1,714
    This is already set very low.

    Cloudflare does not cache dynamic content, like forums. It only caches static files, like images.
     
  14. Arcus

    Arcus Grand Poobah
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2004
    Messages:
    6,452
    Likes Received:
    107
    I am forced to use nginx in a few cases. It sucks.
     
  15. Ezekiel Zane

    Ezekiel Zane Grand Inquisitor
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2003
    Messages:
    4,556
    Likes Received:
    113
    I don't use Skype at all but I'm getting the same thing. ... waiting or mystatus.skype.com... and it's last forever.
     
  16. Tazar

    Tazar Guest

    Strange. It sounds like Skype has been loaded at some point and has a process running in the background. I'm not techy enough to tell you how to properly disable it though. You might ask in the Tech Forum or hopefully someone here will have some good suggestions.
     
  17. Storm

    Storm UO Forum Moderator
    Moderator Professional Premium Wiki Moderator Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2004
    Messages:
    7,469
    Likes Received:
    361
    go into the task manager (ctrl,alt del) find the proccess skype and click end task
     
  18. Sevin0oo0

    Sevin0oo0 Guest

    maybe he could look to getting The Hunter's Guide comments back some day?
     
  19. Kayne

    Kayne Guest

    Also been experiencing problems. Its such a pain but I know you guys will get it sorted :)

    FYI the mystatus skype thing is actually for those of you who have skype details listed and have the online/offline icon under your name with the ICQ ones.