1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Greetings Guest!!

    In order to combat SPAM on the forums, all users are required to have a minimum of 2 posts before they can submit links in any post or thread.

    Dismiss Notice

Devs could you please fix water troughs?

Discussion in 'UHall' started by Jirel of Joiry, May 14, 2009.

  1. Jirel of Joiry

    Jirel of Joiry Certifiable
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2004
    Messages:
    1,570
    Likes Received:
    504
    I see them stuck in the air after idocs, and if you click on them it says you need an axe to destroy it. However if you try to destroy it with an axe it says you need to be in your house to do that. :p

    I found a castle size spot but can't place cause of the water trough in space anging there.
     
  2. Zodia

    Zodia Guest

    Someone told me that you can page a GM and ask them to remove them, but that it's sorta hit-or-miss because some GMs will tell you no and some will say yes.
     
  3. Jirel of Joiry

    Jirel of Joiry Certifiable
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2004
    Messages:
    1,570
    Likes Received:
    504
    Yeah, I've gotten the canned message they're not Allow to move items. I dunno. Its a glitch cause used to you could just hit em with a axe and they'd redeed.
     
  4. Zodia

    Zodia Guest

    yeah, it's definetly something the Devs need to fix or just make it a firm policy that GMs can nuke em.
     
  5. Snakeman

    Snakeman UO Forum Moderator
    Moderator Professional Premium Wiki Moderator Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2002
    Messages:
    4,961
    Likes Received:
    165
    They have come to move leftover bar keeps, they are in the same category as items left & bugged. I'd just page again & fully explain problem that it is a bug item & it is a left over item from a house fall & needs to be moved to place another home.
    Could always place a keep & put trough in the open area for time being (mark rune next to trough, recall in & destroy it once keep is up), then go into resize house size & place the castle. ;)
     
  6. UltimatePower

    UltimatePower Lore Keeper
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2006
    Messages:
    820
    Likes Received:
    27
    Water Troughs do not block house placement. They will dispear when you try to place, must be something else blocking you from placing a castle.
     
  7. TheScoundrelRico

    TheScoundrelRico Stratics Legend
    Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend Secret Society

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2001
    Messages:
    35,539
    Likes Received:
    908
    Operator error...la
     
  8. kittykat

    kittykat Journeyman
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 11, 2001
    Messages:
    287
    Likes Received:
    0
    they seem kinda fussy about blocking/not blocking. I had a spot i couldn't place in till i did a house that covered the full area the trough was in (i was just going for a certain size and it was only catching part of the trough *i think*).
     
  9. Aboo

    Aboo Guest

    Not sure about trying to place a castle, but I found a spot next to one of my houses where the house decayed and all that was left was the water trough. My first attempt to place a house caused the water trough to go poof. Of course I was attempting to place a much smaller house than a castle (15 x 18 eventually fit there).

    Have you tried placing a smaller house first?
     
  10. Risso

    Risso Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    2,581
    Likes Received:
    102
    Place a small plot beneath the trough, axe it, then resize the plot to a castle :)
     
  11. MalagAste

    MalagAste Belaern d'Zhaunil
    Reporter Professional Governor Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend Campaign Supporter Royal Knight

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2000
    Messages:
    18,957
    Likes Received:
    5,449
    You know I placed a house the other day that had left a vendor hanging around ... at first the vendor moved out from under the house... to under the house sign... not the vendor is ON my property.... odd behavior... and it's NOT my vendor... not sure now what to do with it or if I can access it...
     
  12. Orthus

    Orthus Guest

    Same thing with parrots. I placed after an IDOC and had a dozen or so parrots move to under the house sign. They eventually disappeared, but it took a few days.
     
  13. Spelosty

    Spelosty Adventurer
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    I seem to remember returning to an Idoc with an axe and successfully axing a left over water trough one time...
     
  14. Dragonchilde

    Dragonchilde Guest

    Actually, I've found that it's not even necessary to axe it, more often than not. Usually, when I test-place, the trough vanishes when the plot appears.