1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Greetings Guest!!

    In order to combat SPAM on the forums, all users are required to have a minimum of 2 posts before they can submit links in any post or thread.

    Dismiss Notice

Devs, please get rid of "Rune Blocking"

Discussion in 'UHall' started by Eric Ravenwind, Dec 17, 2011.

  1. Eric Ravenwind

    Stratics Veteran Gilfane

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2011
    Messages:
    668
    Likes Received:
    286
    This is so frustrating trying to recall somewhere & someone or something has been standing on your rune's marked location.
     
  2. EvilPixieWorks

    EvilPixieWorks Lore Keeper
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    867
    Likes Received:
    6
    It's actually interesting that this is still an issue after all these years.

    Mostly, I see it happen because of stray native animals. Without anyone around, they are not moving and yet sit on your recall spot. Back in the day, I always recommended to have a second rune to the same place if it was very important... like your home... or your vendors. A cheap fix.

    Then... in my massive collections of runes to shopping locations... houses come and go all the time. BEFORE, when a house fell... a new one was in place, but now sat where your rune was marked, you got “something is blocking” message. From that point on, you get a message saying you’re moved to a saver location.

    Why fix one issue and not the other?
     
  3. R Traveler

    R Traveler Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2005
    Messages:
    2,949
    Likes Received:
    231
    More interesting - I have runes to old Magincia bank. They are all blocked by changed terrain and new houses, but I still able to recall. Instead of "something block" failure I recalled with "magic redirects you to other loc"
     
  4. Felonious Monk

    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Messages:
    671
    Likes Received:
    154
    I got ticked off recently when my mark at Luna bank became blocked by a town crier that had Never been there before. A patch goes in and suddenly a rune that has worked for years is junk. I know its not hard to have some one mark for my warrior but the principal of it chaps my ass......
     
  5. Tjalle

    Tjalle Grand Inquisitor
    Professional Stratics Veteran Campaign Supporter Gilfane

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,847
    Likes Received:
    1,305
    While I agree that it can be annoying at times I don´t think it´s a big deal. There are so many other ways to get to places.
     
  6. Tanivar

    Tanivar Crazed Zealot
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    May 28, 2003
    Messages:
    3,590
    Likes Received:
    1,457
    I get this quite often at my Malas house when recalling from a ship with a pet following along. It's blocked or I wind up by a certain house up near Yew.
     
  7. Sevin0oo0

    Sevin0oo0 Guest

    I did that recently.
    Here's the example, Dead on level 3 Shame, w/ 2 fire elementals standing watch over my body. Nobody around, none on 2, and 1 is deserted as well.
    Rez outside finally, no aids; use rune book charge to home, get aids/regs.
    Recall back, Blocked. try a few more times, ditto
    Other way:Look-up map on Stratics, and closest gate to shame. RUN!

    Blocked by a bird
     
  8. Ezekiel Zane

    Ezekiel Zane Grand Inquisitor
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2003
    Messages:
    4,556
    Likes Received:
    113
    I have two runes marked to frequently visited locations i.e. homes, Luna etc.

    Also, I believe the Crystal teleporters work to any bank/town and dungeon regardless if anyone is standing on the spot.
     
  9. Ezekiel Zane

    Ezekiel Zane Grand Inquisitor
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2003
    Messages:
    4,556
    Likes Received:
    113
    Yep, just tested it. The Crystal and Corrupted Crystal teleporters do indeed teleport you even if someone else is standing on that spot.
     
  10. Tjalle

    Tjalle Grand Inquisitor
    Professional Stratics Veteran Campaign Supporter Gilfane

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,847
    Likes Received:
    1,305
    Aye. And for Shame you can also use a Blighted Grove rune if you have one. It´s near Shame.

    And another good way is to find out if there are any easy accessible public town and dungeon crystals on the shard.
     
  11. EvilPixieWorks

    EvilPixieWorks Lore Keeper
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    867
    Likes Received:
    6
    For one... you can NOT use a major traffic bank for recalling away from a hot spot or a ship. Lagtown bank/stable is a prime example of this. People and NPCs... plus like for the EM news crier that moves all the time.

    Best to use a different bank for your home bank... not where all the bank-sitters hang out.
     
  12. Ezekiel Zane

    Ezekiel Zane Grand Inquisitor
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2003
    Messages:
    4,556
    Likes Received:
    113
    My home bank on most of my characters is East Britain bank. It's always been my favorite bank.

    EvilPixieWorks makes a good suggestion. If you have an escape macro/rune setup, it shouldn't be into the most populated area or bank or you risk the rune blocking getting you killed.
     
  13. Sevin0oo0

    Sevin0oo0 Guest

    have several city banks. The top of Ter Mur bank is the one I use most
     
  14. Gospel

    Gospel Seasoned Veteran
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    368
    Likes Received:
    116
    It's getting old seeing people attemp to use UHall as a personal Dev request forum for whatever happens to be bothering them at the time. So many of these "problems" can be solved by just using your brain.

    In this instance the problem is easily solved by not marking runes in stupid locations.

    Any old-time UO player worth a damn will be able to tell you; tune marking is a lost art. Mark your rune near your location, but in a place people or creatures are unlikely to walk. Common sense dude.
     
  15. EvilPixieWorks

    EvilPixieWorks Lore Keeper
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    867
    Likes Received:
    6
    Couldn’t agree more...

    However, in some cases... we have no actual outlet to be herd by the staff otherwise. The last question answered in “ask the dev” section was in MAY. Sometimes the staffers actually tag on notes to these posts and maybe even consider them as items to address in the future. It's really poor customer service we can't get questions answered or problems addressed... but this is the system set up... we throw topics on the table... maybe get an answer. You never know. Can't bust people’s chops for that.

    What else do we have? Call the toll customer service number to some guy who has no clue what Ultima Online even is? Get information that is a guess and not fact? Last time I tried to get an account issue fixed, they were most unhelpful. Zero out of 5 star service.
     
  16. Dermott of LS

    Dermott of LS UOEC Modder
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    5,320
    Likes Received:
    528
    ...

    I dunno, I think it's kind of fun when you spot a script runner and block their recall spots (especially ones to resources).

    Granted I haven't had to do that in quite a while, but it was fun to do.
     
  17. EvilPixieWorks

    EvilPixieWorks Lore Keeper
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    867
    Likes Received:
    6
    That’s one of those other issues where game-masters aren't doing their jobs, when it's so clear someone script-gating 20 hours a day is AFK or whatever. Even then, the advanced ones I’ve seen just move to the next rune and can't be blocked. Doesn’t mean they are paying attention at all. "Thanks for reporting this... we will check into it" blow-off.
     
  18. Percivalgoh

    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 7, 2010
    Messages:
    672
    Likes Received:
    24
    I don't know.... for my house I generally have 2 runes so if one is blocked I will be able to do the other one. Long ago I used to have a safe rune which is a rune marked in a place that is extremely unlikely to have something blocking it. I started off with a spot behind the wall by the Trinsic bank but someone started storing loot in there and then I found a spot on the roof of the building next to the Trinsic bank. I don't know but all these years I have found ways to deal with blocked runes, I don't see the problem.