1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Greetings Guest!!

    In order to combat SPAM on the forums, all users are required to have a minimum of 2 posts before they can submit links in any post or thread.

    Dismiss Notice

Did you change something with Stratics-Website?

Discussion in 'Stratics Help and Suggestions' started by Eaerendil, Mar 25, 2013.

  1. Eaerendil

    Eaerendil Professional Mall Santa and Legendary Piglet
    Professional Stratics Veteran King'sYewHighlanders

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2011
    Messages:
    4,053
    Likes Received:
    2,375
    Hi!

    Did you change something recently? The navigation bar in the upper right corner has vanished in both of my computers (IE, Win 7 & Win 8). In addition, I cannot open stratics on my nokia phone anymore (symbian). And when I want to open a thread, sometimes I need to click 2 or 3 times...

    Note: I didn´t change anything in my systems for months.

    Thanks alot!
     
    Luvmylace likes this.
  2. Mentiras

    Mentiras Sage
    Stratics Veteran Alumni

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Messages:
    702
    Likes Received:
    166
    Ditto, seems very laggy. I sometimes have to refresh the page a few times before it moves to the thread im trying to view.
     
  3. Winker

    Winker Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    2,302
    Likes Received:
    627
    In internet explorer the stractics logo has dropped by about 5cm for me and its been that way for a few weeks now, and yesterday I have had to refresh the pages 4-5 times to get them to move to another page

    But everything is ok in Google chrome
     
  4. S_S

    S_S Certifiable
    The Squirrel Empire

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2012
    Messages:
    1,992
    Likes Received:
    1,265
    Having the same issues :(
     
  5. Ron Silverbeard

    Ron Silverbeard Certifiable
    Stratics Veteran Alumni

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2011
    Messages:
    1,741
    Likes Received:
    576
    same here -reported- we working on it
     
  6. Taylor

    Taylor Former Stratics CEO (2011-2014)
    Professional VIP Stratics Veteran Supporter Alumni Campaign Benefactor Alumni

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Messages:
    8,023
    Likes Received:
    1,714
    Sorry for the trouble. We haven't changed anything recently.

    Would some of you help me collect screenshots? I can use these to reach out to XenForo support.
     
  7. Winker

    Winker Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    2,302
    Likes Received:
    627
    Internet Explorer, See how the stratics logo has dropped over the option tabs and making them unusable
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Google Chrome and everything is as it should be.


    [​IMG]

    and in Internet Explorer I am finding it really hard to navagate away from a stratics page without having to open a new page in a new tab.
     
    #7 Winker, Mar 25, 2013
    Last edited: Mar 25, 2013
  8. Taylor

    Taylor Former Stratics CEO (2011-2014)
    Professional VIP Stratics Veteran Supporter Alumni Campaign Benefactor Alumni

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Messages:
    8,023
    Likes Received:
    1,714
    Thanks for the screenshots. I'll try to find a workaround.

    Meanwhile, please try to update to a modern version of IE (IE 9 or IE 10). The older versions ended support for jQuery, which XenForo uses heavily (as do many modern CMS and forum software).
     
  9. Lady_Rachel

    Lady_Rachel Lore Keeper
    Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2004
    Messages:
    957
    Likes Received:
    133
    I'm having trouble pulling up the forums also. I can't bring up the UO Forums at all.
    I can only bring up UO Hall, and the other individual forums from the entire forum listing.
    By scrolling all the way to the bottom..and this little flickering cursor is driving me crazy!!
    While typing this message the stratics symbol keeps flickering on my tab, and the cursor is also flickering. grr...anyway. When trying to read threads I am also having to click the thread several times to get it to open. And some I can't seem to even get open. Seems to be laggy too..hmm.
    This has all come about in just the past few days.
    Thanks

    ps. yes my computer is plugged in...*twirls hair*
     
    #9 Lady_Rachel, Mar 25, 2013
    Last edited: Mar 25, 2013
  10. Winker

    Winker Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    2,302
    Likes Received:
    627
    Im on IE 9, everything was fine up to a few days ago. Someting has went worng in the last week i would say and the links not opening has just started the last few days
     
    Eaerendil likes this.
  11. Taylor

    Taylor Former Stratics CEO (2011-2014)
    Professional VIP Stratics Veteran Supporter Alumni Campaign Benefactor Alumni

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Messages:
    8,023
    Likes Received:
    1,714
    Okay, thank you. Not sure what the problem is, but I'll get it fixed somehow.
     
    Eaerendil likes this.
  12. Ron Silverbeard

    Ron Silverbeard Certifiable
    Stratics Veteran Alumni

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2011
    Messages:
    1,741
    Likes Received:
    576
    It just took me 3 times opening and closing IE 10 i am running on this Laptop to beeing able to open this thread to write this.
    Right before i clicked this thread about 20 times, it started to load but kept me at What's New threads and nothing else loaded up that i clicked - it only worked after i copied the URL to the next registry Card and it opened...

    And as i tried to write this and post the reply, it took me AGES to post it - i always get a SERVER ERROR!!!

    error.JPG

    Houston, we have a probem!
     
    #12 Ron Silverbeard, Mar 25, 2013
    Last edited: Mar 25, 2013
  13. Taylor

    Taylor Former Stratics CEO (2011-2014)
    Professional VIP Stratics Veteran Supporter Alumni Campaign Benefactor Alumni

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Messages:
    8,023
    Likes Received:
    1,714
    That's the server timing out. I think that's separate.
     
  14. cdavbar

    cdavbar Lore Master
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,058
    Likes Received:
    276
    IPB Forum Software FTW!
     
  15. Taylor

    Taylor Former Stratics CEO (2011-2014)
    Professional VIP Stratics Veteran Supporter Alumni Campaign Benefactor Alumni

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Messages:
    8,023
    Likes Received:
    1,714
    Ew, hehe. It's pretty to look at, but a nightmare to admin, imo. Love me some XF.
     
  16. cdavbar

    cdavbar Lore Master
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,058
    Likes Received:
    276
    I have ran a few different forums in the past. I have used many many different software products. IPB was the easiest to use for both my admins/mods and members and the best looking etc etc. I wouldnt give up my IPB licenses for anything. XF though is by far better than the vBulliten Stratics used to use :)
     
  17. Taylor

    Taylor Former Stratics CEO (2011-2014)
    Professional VIP Stratics Veteran Supporter Alumni Campaign Benefactor Alumni

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Messages:
    8,023
    Likes Received:
    1,714
    I'll buy another IPB license at some point. I think XF will be really robust, especially as development accelerates post-lawsuit. I just need to change hosts and do a lot of maintenance to it. Hard to keep up with everything--my fault when things break.
     
  18. Eaerendil

    Eaerendil Professional Mall Santa and Legendary Piglet
    Professional Stratics Veteran King'sYewHighlanders

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2011
    Messages:
    4,053
    Likes Received:
    2,375
    My problems consist of 3 components - which occured simultaneously:

    - Nokia Phone cannot open Stratics anymore (had always worked, for years)
    - Navigation Bar is gone on my Win 7 and my Win 8-System
    - Opening threads Needs 2-3 times or simply doesnt work anymore

    Strange, not? As I said before: Everything worked fine last years... But all of a sudden (last days): A mess...
     
    kRUXCg7 likes this.
  19. Taylor

    Taylor Former Stratics CEO (2011-2014)
    Professional VIP Stratics Veteran Supporter Alumni Campaign Benefactor Alumni

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Messages:
    8,023
    Likes Received:
    1,714
    Question. On your Nokia phone, are you using tapatalk?
     
  20. Taylor

    Taylor Former Stratics CEO (2011-2014)
    Professional VIP Stratics Veteran Supporter Alumni Campaign Benefactor Alumni

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Messages:
    8,023
    Likes Received:
    1,714
    I updated Tapatalk, uninstalled a couple unused plugins, and restarted PHP-FPM. Any change?
     
  21. Luvmylace

    Luvmylace Sage
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    575
    Likes Received:
    194
    ditto it sucks
     
  22. Mentiras

    Mentiras Sage
    Stratics Veteran Alumni

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Messages:
    702
    Likes Received:
    166
    [​IMG]

    I get this white screen of death a lot lately, in fact for a good 10-20min before posting this it was all white screen of death.
     
    #22 Mentiras, Mar 25, 2013
    Last edited: Mar 25, 2013
  23. Spiritless

    Spiritless Seasoned Veteran
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    486
    Likes Received:
    466
    It took about 5 clicks to open this thread just now, so no change.
     
  24. Taylor

    Taylor Former Stratics CEO (2011-2014)
    Professional VIP Stratics Veteran Supporter Alumni Campaign Benefactor Alumni

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Messages:
    8,023
    Likes Received:
    1,714
    Actually, these two were because I was upgrading tapatalk. Eventually, I'll put a splash screen there to let you know a plugin is being upgraded.

    Try again now that it's finished installing.
     
  25. Spiritless

    Spiritless Seasoned Veteran
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    486
    Likes Received:
    466
    lol, it has nothing to do with any upgrades you were running just now. It's been happening for days, tbh, and it's still happening as of 5 seconds ago.
     
  26. Taylor

    Taylor Former Stratics CEO (2011-2014)
    Professional VIP Stratics Veteran Supporter Alumni Campaign Benefactor Alumni

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Messages:
    8,023
    Likes Received:
    1,714
    Your problem sounds maybe slightly different from the header and phone issues in the OP. You're experiencing slow loading times? If yes, I think this'll change when we move hosts within the next few weeks.

    If you're still getting the header blocking menu items, or problems with mobile display, lemme know.
     
    #26 Taylor, Mar 25, 2013
    Last edited: Mar 25, 2013
  27. Spiritless

    Spiritless Seasoned Veteran
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    486
    Likes Received:
    466
    To clarify, no I'm not talking about the logo issue. I never actually saw that. My only issue is the same as all the others who have mentioned this problem:
    This isn't "slow loading times". These are outright loading failures which are happening with a ridiculously high frequency right now which started occurring a couple of days ago. Literally every thread requires 2-3+ clicks before they load. They do not stall whilst loading; you click them, wait a couple of seconds and the page load just stops and you're still on the page where you clicked the link. Trying to navigate back to the forum index page using the breadcrumbs often has the same result.

    The site is virtually unusable in this state for the users experiencing this.
     
  28. Tjalle

    Tjalle Grand Inquisitor
    Professional Stratics Veteran Campaign Supporter Gilfane

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,851
    Likes Received:
    1,317
    Started happening to me last night and is still going on. Sometimes I have to click between 2-20 times before I get to another page. I click, page starts processing for about 4-5 secs then nothing happens and I´m back to square one.


    [​IMG]


    [​IMG]


    [​IMG]
     
    #28 Tjalle, Mar 25, 2013
    Last edited: Mar 25, 2013
  29. Mentiras

    Mentiras Sage
    Stratics Veteran Alumni

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Messages:
    702
    Likes Received:
    166
    ^yea thats the problems i have been having the past few days
     
  30. Taylor

    Taylor Former Stratics CEO (2011-2014)
    Professional VIP Stratics Veteran Supporter Alumni Campaign Benefactor Alumni

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Messages:
    8,023
    Likes Received:
    1,714
    Please include browser info and anything else you think might be relevant--e.g., mobile browsing, location, ads, etc.. What is happening to you hasn't happened to me with Firefox or Chrome, either at home or at work. It's harder to troubleshoot when I can't replicate it, so I need all information possible to pass to XenForo developers.

    There's obviously a problem, but there's no connections to narrow down the cause.
     
    #30 Taylor, Mar 25, 2013
    Last edited: Mar 25, 2013
  31. Tjalle

    Tjalle Grand Inquisitor
    Professional Stratics Veteran Campaign Supporter Gilfane

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,851
    Likes Received:
    1,317
    All I know is I use Internet Explorer. Not sure where to look for additional info. =/

    Home computer. Hardline internet as in no wireless. Located in Sweden heh.
     
    #31 Tjalle, Mar 25, 2013
    Last edited: Mar 25, 2013
  32. Taylor

    Taylor Former Stratics CEO (2011-2014)
    Professional VIP Stratics Veteran Supporter Alumni Campaign Benefactor Alumni

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Messages:
    8,023
    Likes Received:
    1,714
    Where's your location? Europe, per chance?
     
  33. Tazar

    Tazar Guest

    I blame Microsoft... Have they done any updates lately? lol

    Seriously - I have not had any issues at all with Firefox and I just flipped over to IE and also had no trouble. Could it be something with the "theme" being used? I am using Animate.
     
  34. Taylor

    Taylor Former Stratics CEO (2011-2014)
    Professional VIP Stratics Veteran Supporter Alumni Campaign Benefactor Alumni

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Messages:
    8,023
    Likes Received:
    1,714
    Earendil, Winker and Ron are in Europe.

    Mentiras, S_S, and Lady Rachel are in the US.

    Is it currently happening to anyone in any browser besides IE?
     
  35. Lady_Rachel

    Lady_Rachel Lore Keeper
    Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2004
    Messages:
    957
    Likes Received:
    133
    Ok..still having the problems..when I try to click on the Ultima Online on the top bar...next to stratics pro...it acts like it tries to load then I get an error message and it does not load..as I try to read the forums when I do get on..the pages flicker, cursor flickers, tab flickers, as if it is trying to re-load or refresh..some type of activity trying to happen there..and gads it is annoying..lol..worse when I try to reply to something. Course I am in IE..but it has never been a problem before.Do we have a new ad or something that I cannot see that might be causing issues with the forums trying to reload constantly?...
     
  36. Frarc

    Frarc Stratics Legend
    Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2003
    Messages:
    7,770
    Likes Received:
    1,132
    Its only in IE
     
  37. Winker

    Winker Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    2,302
    Likes Received:
    627
    Its an IE problem, everything works fine in Chrome
     
  38. Ron Silverbeard

    Ron Silverbeard Certifiable
    Stratics Veteran Alumni

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2011
    Messages:
    1,741
    Likes Received:
    576
    I have problems on my Android Phone and Tablet too
    On the phone i run Gingerbread.wkf3 and on the Tab i run 4.1.1 (Jellybean?)

    And the Problem on all of my laptops is still up, have to click 3-5 times till a thread opens or a PM, or an Alert...
    Sometimes i cannot post something, i can write it but when i Post the Reply, its freezing up and not showing...have to hit post reply several times...
    Its on IE10 or IE9 botht hte same problems...

    Hope this can be fixed soon....hope i can help with my info!
     
  39. Ron Silverbeard

    Ron Silverbeard Certifiable
    Stratics Veteran Alumni

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2011
    Messages:
    1,741
    Likes Received:
    576
    Exactly my problems...
     
  40. Spiritless

    Spiritless Seasoned Veteran
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    486
    Likes Received:
    466
    I'm in Europe and using IE10 under Windows 7. IE seems to be the common factor among people having the loading issue right now.
     
  41. Mentiras

    Mentiras Sage
    Stratics Veteran Alumni

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Messages:
    702
    Likes Received:
    166
    No I'm in the US using IE10, hardline as well.
     
  42. Mitzlplik_LS

    Mitzlplik_LS Journeyman
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010
    Messages:
    298
    Likes Received:
    197
    I`m in Michigan/U.S. using the latest version of Firefox and 32 bit win 7. My troubles started last night around 11 pm est.

    I don`t have SS`s but in a nutshell I would hit my fav tab for uhall,it would load and than blink out to a white cloudflare page saying maybe the web page is offline or under maintenance and there is no cached version. Try hitting the blue tab to check for a live version and nothing. I deleted cookies this morning and now I am able to get into stratics/uhall and other shard forums but it is SUPER LAGGY.

    I literally 2 finger type faster than the letters appear on the screen. Chrome works alot better and I refuse to even open IE since it has given me more headaches than it is worth. But lately Firefox is catching up fast in that department.
     
    #42 Mitzlplik_LS, Mar 26, 2013
    Last edited: Mar 26, 2013
  43. Taylor

    Taylor Former Stratics CEO (2011-2014)
    Professional VIP Stratics Veteran Supporter Alumni Campaign Benefactor Alumni

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Messages:
    8,023
    Likes Received:
    1,714
    Okay, still looking for a solution. Meanwhile:

    [​IMG]
     
    cdavbar, Mentiras and Tjalle like this.
  44. Lady_Rachel

    Lady_Rachel Lore Keeper
    Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2004
    Messages:
    957
    Likes Received:
    133
    Ok..on firefox I seem to be having no problems..so far.
     
  45. cdavbar

    cdavbar Lore Master
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,058
    Likes Received:
    276
    This made me laugh so hard. IE sucks. As to the issues with Stratics, a few hours after my last post yesterday I couldn't access the Stratics forums at all. I kept getting website offline placeholder. Alas, today while working on some of my own sites and communities, I had to clear my history, cache etc etc, and that fixed my issues with Stratics as well. All I can assume is that I just happened to try to log into Stratics as you were making some changes yesterday and for that split second the website offline got cached to my browser.
     
  46. cdavbar

    cdavbar Lore Master
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,058
    Likes Received:
    276
    Same here but I use Chrome.
     
  47. claudia-fjp

    claudia-fjp Lore Master
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,206
    Likes Received:
    517
    "I don`t have SS`s but in a nutshell I would hit my fav tab for uhall,it would load and than blink out to a white cloudflare page saying maybe the web page is offline or under maintenance and there is no cached version. Try hitting the blue tab to check for a live version and nothing."

    I too use Firefox and had this happen. What i ended up having to do was have NoScript forbid scripts from stratics.com then it stopped trying to run whatever script it was causing the redirect to Cloudflare's website is down page 2 seconds after you went into a forum.
     
  48. Mitzlplik_LS

    Mitzlplik_LS Journeyman
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010
    Messages:
    298
    Likes Received:
    197
    WOW that NoScript has restored sooooo much speed back to firefox it is just ridiculous. Thanks for that. I just got done changing all my fav`s and stuff to Chrome and was finished with FF thinking it was in the same boat as IE.

    Much better.
     
  49. Black Tom

    Black Tom Journeyman
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2008
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    0
    I get a virus error when trying to access the THB maps page.
     
  50. Taylor

    Taylor Former Stratics CEO (2011-2014)
    Professional VIP Stratics Veteran Supporter Alumni Campaign Benefactor Alumni

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Messages:
    8,023
    Likes Received:
    1,714
    Fixed. Was just a link to TGN's site, which apparently has issues. We removed the link and everything should be fixed.
     
    Tazar likes this.