1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Greetings Guest!!

    In order to combat SPAM on the forums, all users are required to have a minimum of 2 posts before they can submit links in any post or thread.

    Dismiss Notice

Disable F1 "Codex of Wisdom"

Discussion in 'UO Resources' started by startle, Mar 21, 2011.

  1. startle

    startle Siege... Where the fun begins.
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend Gilfane

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2004
    Messages:
    3,279
    Likes Received:
    1,263
    Hi all,

    I'd like to use the F1 key for UOAssist. Is there any way to disable UO's use of this key for the "Codex of Wisdom" help?
     
  2. AMEN! I don't think you can disable the 10 YEARS out-dated "Codex of Wisdom" but I'd sure like to NOT accidently hit the F1 key and have it pop up in the way!
     
  3. Cirno

    Cirno Purple Pony Princess
    Stratics Veteran Alumni

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    Messages:
    961
    Likes Received:
    224
    I usually set the F1 key to "hiding". It's been a keybinding I've been using for years and years, and old habits die hard.
    Sometimes I hit "log out" without hiding in my house first, but you can still use bound keys while the log out confirmation is up, so I quickly hide then click okay.
    If I don't have the key bound, it brings up the codex of wisdom on top of the log out confirmation gump, and you then have to close the client fully, since you can't get to the log out confirmation, and can't close the codex which is blocking it.
    I don't like the codex very much :(
     
  4. Basara

    Basara UO Forum Moderator
    Moderator Professional Governor Wiki Moderator Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend Campaign Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2003
    Messages:
    8,491
    Likes Received:
    601
    It's VERY easy to disable the codex of wisdom. I did it 8 years ago when I first started playing, even before I started using UOAssist.

    Go into the UO (not UOAssist) macros. Define the F1 key as whatever you like (I did mine as saying "All follow me"). Apply. Close the macro gump, then reopen it. Click through your assigned macros to make sure your new meaning of F1 is the only one present (deleting any others).

    and the Codex is gone from F1.

    As long as you don't click the button to revert to defaults, you're good.

    Also, look for the the box for passing the keystroke info to UO, in each UOA keybinding.

    Usually, you DON'T want to pass the keybinding on, for anything not one of the basic 36 keys (A-Z, 0-9).

    However, it's possible to create some nice double-macros (a combination of a UOA macro and a UO macro, running at the same time) this way, such as one to disarm and rearm in UOA, with a potion use timed (using delays in each) to occur between them.
     
  5. Risso

    Risso Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    2,581
    Likes Received:
    102
    I have a UO macro for F1 set to say " " (space)
     
  6. startle

    startle Siege... Where the fun begins.
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend Gilfane

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2004
    Messages:
    3,279
    Likes Received:
    1,263
    Thx Basara, I'll do that... I hadn't tried lately because somewhere in the back of my mind - I seemed to remember that the "Codex" came up no matter what I tried. I probably didn't think to check on the "pass on" option.
    :eek:
     
  7. Gilmour

    Gilmour Certifiable
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2003
    Messages:
    1,848
    Likes Received:
    283
    yes just overwrite with with an ingame or assist macro and it doesnt show :)