1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Greetings Guest!!

    In order to combat SPAM on the forums, all users are required to have a minimum of 2 posts before they can submit links in any post or thread.

    Dismiss Notice

Documentation of the Enhanced Client memory leak

Discussion in 'UHall' started by lucitus, Feb 3, 2011.

  1. lucitus

    lucitus UOEC Modder
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Messages:
    1,426
    Likes Received:
    45
    Today i was a bit boored, so i have done an experiment, which should show if there is a memoryleak in the EC or not.

    I tried it and it was crazy, when i ran rounds around Luna it raises and raises and raises until 1.1 GB ram, man thats much! It was unplayable around 3 - 5 fps and then the crazy thing happend, i relogged and after relogin the garbage collector began to work and what should i say i get no more memory leak unbelieveable!! It took 1.1 GB Ram and stands still at 1.1 GB, i tried again to run rounds around Luna nothing happend.

    Here is my documentation with screenshots:

    the start 420 MB
    10 rounds 542 MB
    20 rounds 655 MB
    25 rounds 727 MB
    30 rounds 781 MB
    35 rounds 854 MB
    40 rounds 913 MB
    45 rounds 981 MB
    50 rounds 1050 MB
    53 rounds 1143 MB
    (unplayable)
    Log out
    after logout
    1143 MB +- 5 MB statict
    edit:
    after moving a bit around crash to desktop

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  2. I Play UO

    I Play UO Visitor

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2010
    Messages:
    182
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just hope you don't execute MOM...
     

  3. so ... the conclusion of your "documentation" is: ... ???
    no memory leak?

    :lol:
     
  4. lucitus

    lucitus UOEC Modder
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Messages:
    1,426
    Likes Received:
    45
    Sure there is one, i have tried to relog freshly after restart and it does nothing, iam not a devoloper i cannot say what is wrong here. what i can say is the client has a memoryleak!

    the client becomes unplayable only of running 30 times around luna city, always the same area, always the same vendors, always the same houses, very bad client i would say!

    This memoryleak cause many problems also performance problems, the devs really should do something against it!

    The reproduction is easy, i have tested it again, running around Luna is enough to see what happen, i think you can also use any housing area to reproduce it.
     
  5. lucitus

    lucitus UOEC Modder
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Messages:
    1,426
    Likes Received:
    45
    I have an update for this on version 4.0.11.2 this memory leak is not existant, i have tested it running around luna it seems to reload and load the textures correctly. Iam not at home at the moment, because of that i have access to the old client version, i will transfer it to the new updated installation today.

    For the Devs you should look at what you change to the version now.
     
  6. [JD]

    [JD] Guest

    i had another insta drop to desktop over the weekend, gave faction oranges a free kill. wish they would work on these ec bugs/crashes already.
     
  7. Meat Elemental

    Meat Elemental Journeyman
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2010
    Messages:
    294
    Likes Received:
    25
    Or at the very least acknowledge it or reply to us...
     
  8. lucitus

    lucitus UOEC Modder
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Messages:
    1,426
    Likes Received:
    45
    Tested it, yes it is working you can find the old uosa.exe at my download site.

    Hope the Devs can find the bug soon and fix it again, this would be better because when they change the encryption the old client cant be used anylonger for now it works.
     
  9. covert

    covert Journeyman
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    5
    This would be nice.

    So are there no real repercussions to using the older client executable? It sure is getting to be a pain to do anything that involves running near a house or in Stygian Abyss.
     
  10. [JD]

    [JD] Guest

    so are you saying the old uosa.exe - what version? will fix this crashing problem?
     
  11. lucitus

    lucitus UOEC Modder
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Messages:
    1,426
    Likes Received:
    45
    I cant gurantee that the this older version is 100% stable but how it looks it should be much more stable than the client now.
     
  12. Meat Elemental

    Meat Elemental Journeyman
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2010
    Messages:
    294
    Likes Received:
    25
    Thnx for finding the problem out lucitus, downloaded the old uosa and gona test it out now!
     
  13. covert

    covert Journeyman
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    5
    Hmm, when I try to use the old executable now (since the patch) I get "Connection Lost" when attempting to login. :(

    Anyone else who was using the old executable still able to get it to work?