1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Greetings Guest!!

    In order to combat SPAM on the forums, all users are required to have a minimum of 2 posts before they can submit links in any post or thread.

    Dismiss Notice

does anyone know how to

Discussion in 'UHall' started by R Traveler, Jul 24, 2010.

  1. R Traveler

    R Traveler Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2005
    Messages:
    2,950
    Likes Received:
    231
    how to input text in EC using keyboard, not using clipboard tricks?
    to anyone wonder how dumb question is, one more detail - not in English language.
     
  2. Metalstorm

    Metalstorm Seasoned Veteran
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2003
    Messages:
    413
    Likes Received:
    0
    Press enter first then type the text that you wish to speak followed by enter again to display it.

    If you set the EC to Legacy mode, you don't have to hit enter first but you lose the ability to use keys as macros without shift,cntrl,etc..

    It took me a few months to get used to pressing enter first but once you get it down it becomes natural.

    Also, if you wish to emote you press enter then "/" followed by an "E" then a "space" and that sets it to emote mode. Every thing you write will come out as an emote until you reset it to speech mode which is "Enter"-"/"- "S",-"Space"

    Whisper mode would be a "W" instead of "E" and "S" but whisper seems to be broken.
     
  3. Mapper

    Mapper Crazed Zealot
    Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2005
    Messages:
    3,528
    Likes Received:
    110
    If your meaning how to copy text into EC. Its control-v to paste or control-c to copy.
     
  4. Cirno

    Cirno Purple Pony Princess
    Stratics Veteran Alumni

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    Messages:
    961
    Likes Received:
    224
    If I'm reading it correctly, I think the problem is one of inputting laguages in different character sets. Things like Cyrillic, Arabic, or Asian characters.

    I think it should be the same as inputting it into any other program, by using the IME(?) for that language.
    That way, when you type, rather than what you type going directly to the target program, it passes through am intermediate thing, which translates the roman characters to the appropriate character.
     
  5. Metalstorm

    Metalstorm Seasoned Veteran
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2003
    Messages:
    413
    Likes Received:
    0
    ah, I didn't catch the 'not in english language' part

    I read it and saw it but it just didn't register in my noggin and I lack the computer skills to be of any help :(
     
  6. R Traveler

    R Traveler Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2005
    Messages:
    2,950
    Likes Received:
    231
    It works for random result like typing Cyrillic to get random extended latin mix
     
  7. Adol

    Adol Certifiable
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2003
    Messages:
    1,502
    Likes Received:
    469
    Using Alt Codes works, if you're after just the odd letter... Not all of them seem to be implemented though; the Greek letters seem to be incomplete for instance, with alt 224 not giving Alpha (I was trying to get around the limitation on NPC names, which foolishly disables "Compassion")... anyway, here's the codes for each. Use the numpad to input them.

    http://www.alt-codes.net/
     
  8. R Traveler

    R Traveler Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2005
    Messages:
    2,950
    Likes Received:
    231
  9. Cirno

    Cirno Purple Pony Princess
    Stratics Veteran Alumni

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    Messages:
    961
    Likes Received:
    224
    I didn't understand your previous reply, but now, am I understinding it right that you're meaning to use languages that don't use Roman characters, with a keyboard of that language?
    That pressing a key that should correspond to a non-Roman character is resulting in a roman character?
     
  10. R Traveler

    R Traveler Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2005
    Messages:
    2,950
    Likes Received:
    231
    its like pressing key to get something like "T" but getting "o~" instead.
     
  11. Adol

    Adol Certifiable
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2003
    Messages:
    1,502
    Likes Received:
    469
    Um... change Keyboard language just whilst in UO?

    http://www.online-tech-tips.com/computer-tips/change-keyboard-language-in-windows/
     
  12. R Traveler

    R Traveler Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2005
    Messages:
    2,950
    Likes Received:
    231
    same result - wrong layout
     
  13. Trevelyan

    Trevelyan Guest

  14. R Traveler

    R Traveler Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2005
    Messages:
    2,950
    Likes Received:
    231
    read note.