1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Greetings Guest!!

    In order to combat SPAM on the forums, all users are required to have a minimum of 2 posts before they can submit links in any post or thread.

    Dismiss Notice

Does anyone play the EC in win 7 professional x64 THIS ISSUE HAS BEEN RESOLVED

Discussion in 'UHall' started by Cear Dallben Dragon, Aug 25, 2010.

  1. Cear Dallben Dragon

    Cear Dallben Dragon Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2005
    Messages:
    2,005
    Likes Received:
    17
    so throughout the ages in the EC forums there have been scattered complaints that people cannot make it past the login screen.
    Most of these threads have died with no hope or solution.

    this pretty much sums up most peoples threads:

    Since a lot of time has passed I figured i'd toss this out to the Uhallers and see if anyone has found a way to work it. I know some people have installed the EC and had no problems. I'm hoping for the best. My computer exploded yesterday and I upgraded to win7.... :stretcher:


    ISSUE RESOLVED:
    if anyone is playing this game and having this problem this may be why.
    You may have a motherboard with an Nvidia chipset. If you do, try to locate under add remove programs/drivers
    Nvidia ForceWare Network Access Manager
    Uninstall this and reboot.
    It's semi-hardware based (implemented inside the chipset) so it has some advantages over a software firewall. however, having multiple firewalls can sometimes cause problems.
    This solutions works 100% for me. I hope it helps you all and that this gives EA a bit of insight.
     
  2. Storm

    Storm UO Forum Moderator
    Moderator Professional Premium Wiki Moderator Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2004
    Messages:
    7,469
    Likes Received:
    361
    Re: Does anyone play the EC in win 7 professional x64

    I run EC on x64 win 7 premium
    I am curious what graphics cards are being used by the peoples with problems ?
     
  3. Dermott of LS

    Dermott of LS UOEC Modder
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    5,320
    Likes Received:
    528
    Re: Does anyone play the EC in win 7 professional x64

    ...

    Same as Storm... Win 7 x64 Premium (used Ultimate during Beta/RC, but looking at the features chart, Premium was a better fit for the $$$) and no problems with the EC here.
     
  4. Llewen

    Llewen Grand Inquisitor
    Professional Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend Campaign Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Messages:
    4,699
    Likes Received:
    200
    Re: Does anyone play the EC in win 7 professional x64

    I've been running the EC on Win 7 64 Pro with no major issues for months now.
     
  5. Cear Dallben Dragon

    Cear Dallben Dragon Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2005
    Messages:
    2,005
    Likes Received:
    17
    Re: Does anyone play the EC in win 7 professional x64

    i'm running a GTX 285
    I also have a quad core which was making it a pain in XP (always having to set affinity to 1 core)
     
  6. Llewen

    Llewen Grand Inquisitor
    Professional Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend Campaign Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Messages:
    4,699
    Likes Received:
    200
    Re: Does anyone play the EC in win 7 professional x64

    And in fact performance wise I'm kicking the ass of other players with far better machines than I have - I have an AMD Athlon II 240. I'm known as the fastest man on the shard. I don't actually run any faster than anyone else at top speed, but I very rarely lag, or I should say everyone else lags more than I do, and no one can catch me if I decide to get away. This is in part due to Windows 7 64 Pro.

    I've been caught once when I've tried to run away in the past several months. I do occasionally lag, but usually restarting the client fixes the problem. Unfortunately that one time I wasn't in a position to restart the client... :)
     
  7. MalagAste

    MalagAste Belaern d'Zhaunil
    Reporter Professional Governor Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend Campaign Supporter Royal Knight

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2000
    Messages:
    18,957
    Likes Received:
    5,447
    Re: Does anyone play the EC in win 7 professional x64

    I have been running the EC exclusively now using windows 7 premium 64 Intel Core i5, with an ATI Radeon HD 5400 Series Card and I haven't had any problems.

    Got my new PC in April I think.
     
  8. Storm

    Storm UO Forum Moderator
    Moderator Professional Premium Wiki Moderator Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2004
    Messages:
    7,469
    Likes Received:
    361
    Re: Does anyone play the EC in win 7 professional x64

    Just thought of a couple things first make sure direct x is 8.1 or better the second thing is try running it compatable with a different service pack like winxp service pack 2

    http://www.uoherald.com/guide/guide.php?guideId=112
     
  9. Dermott of LS

    Dermott of LS UOEC Modder
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    5,320
    Likes Received:
    528
    Re: Does anyone play the EC in win 7 professional x64

    ...

    PhenomII x4 810 2.6Ghz
    GeForce GTX 275 1.5G video
    and just upped to 8 Gig DDR3 1333 RAM

    I was already running pretty fast, but with the extra RAM, even the "Recall lag" is almost completely gone.

    However I'm fully aware that the OP problem is very real... just wish I had an answer for it.
     
  10. Re: Does anyone play the EC in win 7 professional x64

    No problems for me at all:

    Win7 Pro 64bit
    AMD Phenom II 6-core at 2.6ghz
    8GB Memory
    1GB Radeon 5750

    By the way, I disabled UAC, gave myself full admin rights, and installed UO in root directory from start after other programs gave me problems with permissions and file ownership. Don't really know if that helped me avoid issues others have had.
     
  11. Goonball FC

    Goonball FC Guest

    Re: Does anyone play the EC in win 7 professional x64

    run as administrator?
     
  12. Llewen

    Llewen Grand Inquisitor
    Professional Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend Campaign Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Messages:
    4,699
    Likes Received:
    200
    Re: Does anyone play the EC in win 7 professional x64

    I had to disable UAC and us an administrator account as well, although not specifically for the EC.
     
  13. Storm

    Storm UO Forum Moderator
    Moderator Professional Premium Wiki Moderator Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2004
    Messages:
    7,469
    Likes Received:
    361
    Re: Does anyone play the EC in win 7 professional x64

    What we need is for the people with the problems to list THEIR system specs and maybe we can figure out what the problem is common to for every one that does not work there is 10k that do
     
  14. Re: Does anyone play the EC in win 7 professional x64

    Having full admin rights over the PC is not the same as run as admin, or even having an admin level user account.

    On some other apps/programs, even though I was the administrator/only account on the PC and selected run as admin, I would still get messages telling me I had to be the admin, so I had to repeatedly use the icacls and takeown commands. You can get around that permanently all together, but you're basically disabling security features Microsoft put in to protect you by doing this. So, I wouldn't recommend it to most users unless you're an advanced user and UAC/permissioins is really causing you problems.

    Again, I have to stress that these were other programs giving me an issue, not UO. I don't know if it would solve any UO problems.
     
  15. lucitus

    lucitus UOEC Modder
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Messages:
    1,426
    Likes Received:
    45
    Re: Does anyone play the EC in win 7 professional x64

    We are at 4.0.8.3 please check if it is completly updated, you can also pm me i can get you a link to a full patched version again ;)
     
  16. Thav12

    Thav12 Seasoned Veteran
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Messages:
    416
    Likes Received:
    26
    Re: Does anyone play the EC in win 7 professional x64

    EC in windows 7 64 bit. Use it exclusively. Never had a problem. Run it on several machines and laptops.

    Since all people that have the problem hang right at the point where the game world is supposed to pop up, I suspect it is either graphic driver related or network software related.

    One thing you may want to try is to see if running it in windowed mode results in the same problem. Windowed mode is a very different graphics modality c/w full screen.

    Another thing may be that there is something in the network preventing you from doing this. The one time I could not do this was in a network (work :) ) where switching ip addresses was not allowed by the network and firewall. I am not an IT person, but it had something to do with proxy's... Right at the moment of logging in you are passed from one server to the next. I don't know. But try to connect directly to the cable modem. It may be something firewall or NAT like is messing with your connection, something that the old client handles quite differently.
     
  17. Cear Dallben Dragon

    Cear Dallben Dragon Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2005
    Messages:
    2,005
    Likes Received:
    17
    Re: Does anyone play the EC in win 7 professional x64

    maaaaaan...
    this sucks.
     
  18. jtw1984

    jtw1984 Seasoned Veteran
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Messages:
    301
    Likes Received:
    1
    Re: Does anyone play the EC in win 7 professional x64

    I have only recently had this start happening.

    EC worked great until about 3 weeks ago. Where this exact same problem started happening.

    I will post system specs. But as I said, EC was allowing me to log in until about 3 weeks ago.

    I have not changed anything either.
     
  19. Llewen

    Llewen Grand Inquisitor
    Professional Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend Campaign Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Messages:
    4,699
    Likes Received:
    200
    Re: Does anyone play the EC in win 7 professional x64

    Well all I can say is bug report the hell out of it. Use the contact information on the UO website and email in a bug report and make sure you attach your dxdiag.txt file. On top of that tell them what kind of internet service you are getting, who your service provider is, and what kind of router you are using, if you are using one.
     
  20. cdavbar

    cdavbar Lore Master
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,058
    Likes Received:
    276
    Re: Does anyone play the EC in win 7 professional x64

    Yeah works fine for me, Im using a HP dv7-3165dx Laptop to play on, win7 64x

    At first it didnt want to install right so i ran in admin mode with windows xp compatibility, no problems since.

    As far as graphics cards goes this as an AMD M880G with ATI Mobility Radeon HD 4200.

    Nothing to spectacular but better than my last computers basic crap lol.

    Anyways bug report it and keep checking these forums. I have had tech issues in the past and many people on here were able to help me out tremendously with getting them fixed

    Good Luck
     
  21. JoO

    JoO Seasoned Veteran
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2008
    Messages:
    365
    Likes Received:
    21
    Re: Does anyone play the EC in win 7 professional x64

    I use the EC on Windows 7 64 Pro. I run as an admin and I am using an intel core 2 duo and an nvidia 9800gt.
     
  22. Cear Dallben Dragon

    Cear Dallben Dragon Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2005
    Messages:
    2,005
    Likes Received:
    17
    ISSUE RESOLVED:
    if anyone is playing this game and having this problem this may be why.
    You may have a motherboard with an Nvidia chipset. If you do, try to locate under add remove programs/drivers
    Nvidia ForceWare Network Access Manager
    Uninstall this and reboot.
    It's semi-hardware based (implemented inside the chipset) so it has some advantages over a software firewall. however, having multiple firewalls can sometimes cause problems.
    This solutions works 100% for me. I hope it helps you all and that this gives EA a bit of insight.
     
  23. Llewen

    Llewen Grand Inquisitor
    Professional Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend Campaign Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Messages:
    4,699
    Likes Received:
    200
    Great! I'm glad your problem has been resolved. I didn't realize that was actually a firewall. Seems to me I had problems with it a long time ago and removed it as well (that was on my last system, not the present one).
     
  24. Dermott of LS

    Dermott of LS UOEC Modder
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    5,320
    Likes Received:
    528
    ...

    This is good to hear/read/whatever.
     
  25. Thav12

    Thav12 Seasoned Veteran
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Messages:
    416
    Likes Received:
    26
    If you have been reading about this problem, then you should also know that this solved YOUR problem, but not ALL problems. My post may be not very technical, but it is a standard approach in trouble shooting: trying to help narrow down where the problem might be. It seems that your solution is dead-on when it is network/firewall related. I am not sure all problems are resolved in this fashion.
    Maybe a more productive way to post your solution is to ask the question rather than providing the end all solution: Is anyone still having this problem in the EC client after trying a fix that worked for me? A lot less assuming than restating your solution, in bold, and copying it a few times.

    Never-the-less, I hope that only very few people continue to have problems, as I love the EC, and I like windows 7 as well. I think it is a winning combination fo sho.
     
  26. Cear Dallben Dragon

    Cear Dallben Dragon Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2005
    Messages:
    2,005
    Likes Received:
    17
    I'm sorry.. are you having a problem with windows 7 and the EC? Did this thread relate to your problem?
    I can say, its worked for us...
     
  27. Llewen

    Llewen Grand Inquisitor
    Professional Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend Campaign Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Messages:
    4,699
    Likes Received:
    200
    This isn't an official support thread. He had a problem, he found the solution, he was considerate enough to share the solution, and he was happy about it. Nothing wrong with any of that. :)

    My guess is that this is also a fairly common problem. I'm not sure that that Network Access Control was such a bright idea on the part of nVidia...
     
  28. Thav12

    Thav12 Seasoned Veteran
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Messages:
    416
    Likes Received:
    26
    Agree with all the above. The cool thing about the uo community is that we seem to always be able to work around the bugs uo throws at us. In part that is what keeps this interesting. I didn't mean to come off harsh, I see how obe can read that in my post though. Just wanted to add that for some people this was not the solution.