1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Greetings Guest!!

    In order to combat SPAM on the forums, all users are required to have a minimum of 2 posts before they can submit links in any post or thread.

    Dismiss Notice

Don't ask me why...

Discussion in 'UHall' started by TheScoundrelRico, May 2, 2009.

  1. TheScoundrelRico

    TheScoundrelRico Stratics Legend
    Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend Secret Society

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2001
    Messages:
    35,539
    Likes Received:
    908
    but I tried KR again, but still can't get it to patch. Anyone have a fix for this...other than just logging in with 2d?...la
     
  2. Black Sun

    Black Sun Grand Poobah
    Stratics Veteran Alumni

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2003
    Messages:
    5,361
    Likes Received:
    19
    Check the "C:\Program Files\EA GAMES\Ultima Online Kingdom Reborn\patch" directory.

    If there's any files in there, delete them and try patching again. If one of them is corrupt it will mess up the patching process.
     
  3. TheScoundrelRico

    TheScoundrelRico Stratics Legend
    Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend Secret Society

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2001
    Messages:
    35,539
    Likes Received:
    908
    Done. But...

    wtf?...la
     
  4. Aran

    Aran INFRACTION INFRACTION INFRACTION!
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend -A-

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2000
    Messages:
    14,717
    Likes Received:
    1,021
    Did you try clicking OK and attempting to log in?
     
  5. TheScoundrelRico

    TheScoundrelRico Stratics Legend
    Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend Secret Society

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2001
    Messages:
    35,539
    Likes Received:
    908
    Nope, the ok button isn't active, only the cancel...la
     
  6. Black Sun

    Black Sun Grand Poobah
    Stratics Veteran Alumni

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2003
    Messages:
    5,361
    Likes Received:
    19
    I had the same problem after the last publish. I had to re-download and re-install everything from scratch.
     
  7. TheScoundrelRico

    TheScoundrelRico Stratics Legend
    Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend Secret Society

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2001
    Messages:
    35,539
    Likes Received:
    908
    Thanks, I'll giver a try...la
     
  8. Tina Small

    Tina Small Stratics Legend
    Stratics Veteran 4H

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    7,530
    Likes Received:
    1,915
    Uh......don't know about you, but every time I patch UO (regardless of client), my firewall program sees that it has changed and blocks access until I give permission. Check your firewall's "program permissions" page and see what it is doing.
     
  9. Gildar

    Gildar Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2004
    Messages:
    2,354
    Likes Received:
    4
    He's got a corrupt file (UOKR.exe) - he needs to re-install (or find somebody with the version he's on that has an uncorrupt version of that file... but since he's so outdated that's unlikely).
     
  10. I've never been able to swap clients from one computer to another, but had to do a complete install. It would be nice to know how to do that, save some download time.
     
  11. Viper09

    Viper09 Grand Poobah
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    6,680
    Likes Received:
    824
    Why?
    :D
     
  12. Cear Dallben Dragon

    Cear Dallben Dragon Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2005
    Messages:
    2,005
    Likes Received:
    17
    ah damnit. this post made me try and i got this message

    [​IMG]

    i clicked cancel and it said i need a graphics card that meets min requirements.

    I have a GTX 285
     
  13. TheScoundrelRico

    TheScoundrelRico Stratics Legend
    Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend Secret Society

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2001
    Messages:
    35,539
    Likes Received:
    908
    I got it to work.

    I will say the zoom in and out feature is nice. Trying to mess around with the macros right now.

    I need to find a way to pick up regents like UOA allows...la
     
  14. One thing you might enjoy is that with KR, players cannot hide items under other things to protect themselves from thieves! The grid view of the backpack shows everything laid out nicely for easy pickings.
     
  15. Bomb Bloke

    Bomb Bloke Lore Keeper
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Messages:
    850
    Likes Received:
    0
    Presumably you've tried to update your card drivers, as well as DirectX?
     
  16. uoBuoY

    uoBuoY Guest

    I had this problem about a year ago. Created a support issue with UO. Received several emails from UO tech support with many suggestions and still nothing worked. The tech then sent me email saying he would mail a CD to me containing a totally updated copy of his own KR folder, just copy it over. When I received the CD, I was up and running in about 10 minutes!

    I don't understand why UO, Stratics, UO Guide or some other site doesn't offer a simple download of the most current client build. No 30 minute install, no endless patching, just copy it over!
     
  17. Pindershot

    Pindershot Guest

    If one PC has an installation of UO, you can copy an updated/patched UO directory from one machine onto it.

    I've never tried it w/o installing some version of UO.

    At least this saves you from undergoing the patching process.
     
  18. christy1221

    christy1221 Slightly Crazed
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,329
    Likes Received:
    18
    I love the zoom feature but I crash to much when I'm on KR.
     
  19. Gildar

    Gildar Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2004
    Messages:
    2,354
    Likes Received:
    4
    Click & drag.
     
  20. Tina Small

    Tina Small Stratics Legend
    Stratics Veteran 4H

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    7,530
    Likes Received:
    1,915
    Back on August 29, 2007, Jeremy posted in the Herald that you can order a UO DVD from SwiftCD. The UOHerald article is here (for now, until pages renumber): http://www.uoherald.com/news/archives.php?offset=6&cat=genNews.

    The SwiftCD site with the order form is here: https://sites.fastspring.com/mythic/instant/mythic007. It looks like shipping and handling in the U.S. is $6.99 and $8.99 for anywhere else.

    Edited to add: I placed an order and paid via PayPal. Received almost immediate confirmation of my order. This is what the confirmation e-mail says:

    There was no option for choosing a class of delivery, so I'm not sure how the DVD is being sent. Will post more details in (hopefully) a few days after it arrives. I'm in the U.S., so I hope it will only take a few days.

    One more addition: Well, I just checked the delivery tracking page and it shows delivery will be via First Class/Airmail.

    May 7th: The DVD arrived this afternoon in a plain mailer.
     
  21. TheScoundrelRico

    TheScoundrelRico Stratics Legend
    Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend Secret Society

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2001
    Messages:
    35,539
    Likes Received:
    908
    Yeah, I know I can do that, but UOA allows for a simple macro button that will auto pick up any regent that is sitting on the ground near you...la