1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Greetings Guest!!

    In order to combat SPAM on the forums, all users are required to have a minimum of 2 posts before they can submit links in any post or thread.

    Dismiss Notice

Downloaded well, apply patch error

Discussion in 'UHall' started by Yalp, Oct 12, 2010.

  1. Yalp

    Yalp Guest

    classic client, downloaded patch, but can't get it to apply, now can't get in via classic client.. what's the fix for this?
     
  2. Tangled Metal

    Tangled Metal Lore Master
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,032
    Likes Received:
    144
    Close the client. Right click over Client. Run as Admin. Should patch properly.
     
  3. Yalp

    Yalp Guest

    oh thank ye!
     
  4. Promathia

    Promathia EM Bennu Fanclub
    Premium Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,425
    Likes Received:
    2,114
    Im having the same problems as the OP but this did not fix it for me.

    Any other suggestions?
     
  5. Ls Jax Ls

    Ls Jax Ls Visitor

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    Messages:
    709
    Likes Received:
    0
    Going out on a limb here, but replace any altered data files with the original.
     
  6. Promathia

    Promathia EM Bennu Fanclub
    Premium Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,425
    Likes Received:
    2,114
    I dont have any files altered. I tried uninstalling and reinstalling the client off uo.com. Im still getting an error on patch
     
  7. Petra Fyde

    Petra Fyde Peerless Chatterbox
    Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2001
    Messages:
    30,889
    Likes Received:
    5,175
    I set uo.exe, client.exe and uopatch.exe all to run as administrator. Patch went through for me. That's windows 7
     
  8. Vaelix

    Vaelix Guest

    Im having the same Patch Error.. Classic Client

    I have 0 Altered Files, I've run the all clients (And patch) as Admin, and I've cleared my patch files.. Notta.

    Anything else?

    This is on Vista.
     
  9. I am having the same problem. I run Vista and have altered no files.
     
  10. Fat Midnight

    Fat Midnight Visitor

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    413
    Likes Received:
    2
    It amazes me how many times this has to be said every single day.
     
  11. Beastmaster

    Beastmaster Guest

    If you get "Error applying patch" you need to check your patchlog file in the UO folder. It will tell you why it cannot patch. If you can't figure it out you are welcome to PM me your patchlog file and I will try to assist you. I do this just about every time we patch because EA Customer Disservice cannot help you with it.
     
  12. Rit0690

    Rit0690 Visitor
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    I run as admin on uopatch.exe and I get this. If I try to run client or uo.exe and nothing happens if in admin or not
    -----------------------------------------------------------------
    Starting patch session...
    Transferring patch information
    Downloading patch uosa_win32_7-0-7-3.rtp( 229298715 bytes )
    Downloading patch uosa_win32_7-0-7-3.pat( 13 bytes )
    Downloading patch uosa_win32_7-0-7-3.rtp( 229298715 bytes, resuming )
    Error writing file
    Error receiving "uosa_win32_7-0-7-3.rtp"
    Error during session
    Your client may not be the most recent version.
    You may be able to play the game with your current client.
    Check http://www.uo.com/ for help on resolving patching issues.
    Click OK to play the game or Cancel to abort.

    -----------------------------------------------------------------

    Internet Explorer cannot download readme.xml from www.uo.com
    Internet Explorer was not able to open this internet site. The requested site is either unavailable or cannot be found. Please try again later.

    ----------------------------------------------------------------

    An error has occured on the script on this page
    Line: 105
    Char: 5
    Error: The stylesheet does not contain a document element. The stylesheet may be empty, or it may not be a well-formated XML document.
    Code: 0
    URL: http://www.uo.com/uokrpatchlaunch41807/util.js

    Do you want to continue running scripts on this page?

    Yes No

    ----------------------------------------------------------------
    If I click yes I get the following

    fatal:
    Ok

    ---------------------------------------------------------------
    any help here is helpful. I've reinstalled and it's on patch 7.0.7.1. and it did the same when I was fully updated. Running winxp64pro.

    everything works fine on my netbook with xp home
     
  13. Basara

    Basara UO Forum Moderator
    Moderator Professional Wiki Moderator Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend Campaign Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2003
    Messages:
    8,473
    Likes Received:
    593
    Note that the oddball 2D patching system applies new versions of a file, then deletes the old versions, one at a time.

    Sometimes, the process glitches, and either fails to apply a file, then deletes the old one as it crashes, or accidentally overwrites the old with the new, and deletes the new version.

    When this happens, there's no way to resume the patch past this point (update fails when file isn't found to update), unless you have a backup copy of that deleted file to restore into the directory (and usually, it has to be the one from either the version being upgraded from, or upgraded to, for the checksums to match). Without that, you have to reinstall (or get someone to send you the missing file - which is difficult with some of the .mul files due to size). You can see the exact point (and sometimes the reason) for a failed update in the patchlog file in the game directory.

    That's why I try to make a backup copy of the client directory after each patch. So, if I have the next client update crash, and give me the error that a file is missing, I can just copy the old file's backup into the directory, and resume, with the client update starting with that file.

    Having two or more machines with the game installed, helps as well (as then, each can be the other's source for backup files).
     
  14. I had to uninstall and reinstall the client. I don't know what happened, but now it's fixed, at least for me.
     
  15. Beastmaster

    Beastmaster Guest

    The bolded part is your issue. It never downloaded the complete patch. That is a 220+mb file. Delete the contents of your patch folder and make sure you have twice that much free space on your drive. Then patch again.
     
  16. Rit0690

    Rit0690 Visitor
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    the patch file i'm using i used before when i had to install and it worked so i know the DL of the installer is good, it was the fact i was on IE8 and for some reason everyone in my guild with problems with everything today has had the same base issue and it's been IE8 i removed and went back to IE7 and it dl'd fine

    anyone else with DL problems may try to go back to a lower issue of IE from 8
     
  17. Fat Midnight

    Fat Midnight Visitor

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    413
    Likes Received:
    2
    Why upgrade or use IE at all?
     
  18. Elffin

    Elffin Lore Keeper
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2004
    Messages:
    776
    Likes Received:
    21
    Starting patch session...
    Transferring patch information
    Downloading patch uosa_win32_7-0-9-0.rtp( 38739910 bytes )
    Downloading patch uosa_win32_7-0-9-0.pat( 13 bytes )
    Downloading patch uosa_win32_7-0-9-0.rtp( 38739910 bytes, resuming )
    Downloading patch uosa_win32_7-0-9-0.pat( 13 bytes, resuming )
    Applying patch patch\uosa_win32_7-0-9-0.rtp
    Error applying patch
    Error during session
    Your client may not be the most recent version.
    You may be able to play the game with your current client.
    Check http://www.uo.com/ for help on resolving patching issues.
    Click OK to play the game or Cancel to abort.

    This is what i get when i try to patch, I tried to delete the contents of the patch file, that didnt work, i then went into the patchlog file to see what the problem was and the only part that says Error is this bit at the bottom

    error ept0036:

    Old File not found. However, a file of the same name was
    found. No update done since file contents do not match.


    Any ideas on how to fix this would be great.

    Elf.

    P.S. I think Rit0690 is showing the wrong patchlog, it should be 7.0.9.0
     
  19. Basara

    Basara UO Forum Moderator
    Moderator Professional Wiki Moderator Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend Campaign Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2003
    Messages:
    8,473
    Likes Received:
    593

    That's the kind of error we were describing earlier. Either your file got altered, or is the wrong one.

    You need to find a pristine copy of the file it is choking on (should be the last file mentioned above that error), either for the current patch, or the patch it is replacing, and copy it into the folder for the game.

    If you can't do that, your only recourse is to reinstall.
     
  20. Elffin

    Elffin Lore Keeper
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2004
    Messages:
    776
    Likes Received:
    21
    Luckily the missus plays on the computer next to me (Identical computer) i just popped a chipstick in copied the whole folder, renamed the old one and replaced it, works a charm.

    Hope others can sort this just as easy, as a full install can be a pain in the buttox as anywhere along the way you can get the same problem and have to start again :(

    Elf.