1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Greetings Guest!!

    In order to combat SPAM on the forums, all users are required to have a minimum of 2 posts before they can submit links in any post or thread.

    Dismiss Notice

Drachenfels unplayable

Discussion in 'UHall' started by Miriandel, Jan 22, 2010.

  1. Miriandel

    Miriandel Seasoned Veteran
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    Messages:
    387
    Likes Received:
    7
    My pings are under 50 ms for all servers worldwide, Drachenfels has seconds long lag.

    Edit: Drachenfels and Europa are lagging.
     
  2. CatLord

    CatLord Guest

  3. AzSel

    AzSel Lore Keeper
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    870
    Likes Received:
    4
    Yea something is up with europa, ive never, ever had lagg on europa before, but now im suddenly lagging and sometimes even loosing connection.
     
  4. Salya Sin

    Salya Sin Guest

    Hmm.. I've been unable to sign onto Napa for about a week or more now. I even have someone coming out to fix the internet lines... I wonder if UO is part of the problem. I've not had lag like this since I was using AOL to play, years ago! I just get booted every time I sign on... did EA downsize somewhere they shouldn't have?
     
  5. Its like the good old days, when you made the mistake of logging out at brit bank, and there were so many people that it made logging back in a nightmare. But we no longer have this amount of people in one place and we have moved on from 28k modems.

    So whats the problem? I dont understand where the lag comes from. But its there!
     
  6. Splup

    Splup Guest

    Yep, Europa deffo freaking laggy.
     
  7. Luna [MoD]

    Luna [MoD] Journeyman
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2003
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    0
    lags like hell again :(
     
  8. Kiminality

    Kiminality Guest

    Try running a traceroute to either europa.owo.com or drachenfels.owo.com

    Near as I can figure it, you're all connecting from outside the UK.
    No one I know within the UK has commented on lage, which means you're probably getting routed through a common node on the way into the UK (both servers are in the same place).
     
  9. Miriandel

    Miriandel Seasoned Veteran
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    Messages:
    387
    Likes Received:
    7
    Could this be related to the enhanced client?

    It's indeed a pain to play these days, but I don't think I have so much trouble with the classic client. I can't be positive, of course, just a weird feeling.
     
  10. Mapper

    Mapper Crazed Zealot
    Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2005
    Messages:
    3,528
    Likes Received:
    110
    Nope, I use the EC client and haven't had any lag on Europa.
     
  11. Merion

    Merion Lore Master
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    1,006
    Likes Received:
    9
    It's rather weird, indeed.

    I have a ping of around 40 to Drachenfels, but of late I get the occasional lag spike. Not very often but 2 or 3 per hour. looks like there's some kind of problem somewhere, but I can't pinpoint it, as my ping is as good as always. strange..
     
  12. Zandros

    Zandros Guest

    Still the same - since days now.

    The game is currentyl not playable when you want to do a bit more than banksitting.

    Or is it only me ???
     
  13. hen

    hen Certifiable
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,709
    Likes Received:
    420
    Verry laggy today, connecting from UK.
     
  14. lucitus

    lucitus UOEC Modder
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Messages:
    1,426
    Likes Received:
    45
  15. Merion

    Merion Lore Master
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    1,006
    Likes Received:
    9
    I ran a continuous ping to drachenfels.owo.com while playing tonight and watched it closely when I experienced lag. Interestingly my ping did NOT go up when I was lagging. Not at all. So the lag seems to be something other than the connection to the server.
     
  16. Coyt

    Coyt Guest

    someone forgot to renew the contract to colt.net?
     
  17. Lexfixr

    Lexfixr Seasoned Veteran
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    Messages:
    447
    Likes Received:
    183
    I'm playing Drach from West Coast of Canada no lag
     
  18. Miriandel

    Miriandel Seasoned Veteran
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    Messages:
    387
    Likes Received:
    7
    Yesterday we were doing Melisande and while I didn't experience any lag, my wife had seconds long lagspike during the whole fight.

    This observation is not really new. Last week I was experiencing heavy lag while playing on the enhanced client and, at the same time, I had no lag at all on another account playing the classic client.

    I suspect some weird bug lags the enhanced client out, but I hope I'm wrong, because if I'm right this might prove very difficult to track down.
    The enhanced client was indeed screwed up with last patch (See another bug report here) and I won't be playing the classic client anymore.

    In a nutshell, I don't know if the european servers are lagging or not, if the enhanced client is bugged or not, but we are not in 1998 anymore, this is not acceptable.
     
  19. T'Challa

    T'Challa Certifiable
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,969
    Likes Received:
    15
    I feel your pain. The East coast servers had some trouble with Level3.net some time back and it went on for months. You could almost set your clock by what time the lag started every day. Made the game unplayable from the West coast.

    The culprit was found after many many traceroutes were compared, and it was found that it wasn't EA's fault, btw. It did eventually get fixed though.

    I suggest start comparing tracerts...tech forums, etc.
     
  20. Zandros

    Zandros Guest

    I am playing classic client only.
     
  21. Miriandel

    Miriandel Seasoned Veteran
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    Messages:
    387
    Likes Received:
    7
    Yes, you can never know for sure what's causing the problem.

    I just had very bad lag spikes in the 2D client aswell a few minutes ago and my connection is just fine:

    >ping -t drachenfels.owo.com

    Pinging central-eu2.owo.com [159.153.156.150] with 32 bytes of data:

    Reply from 159.153.156.150: bytes=32 time=28ms TTL=49
    Reply from 159.153.156.150: bytes=32 time=30ms TTL=49
    Reply from 159.153.156.150: bytes=32 time=29ms TTL=49
    Reply from 159.153.156.150: bytes=32 time=30ms TTL=49
    Reply from 159.153.156.150: bytes=32 time=29ms TTL=49
    Reply from 159.153.156.150: bytes=32 time=29ms TTL=49
    Reply from 159.153.156.150: bytes=32 time=30ms TTL=49
    Reply from 159.153.156.150: bytes=32 time=28ms TTL=49
    Reply from 159.153.156.150: bytes=32 time=28ms TTL=49
    Reply from 159.153.156.150: bytes=32 time=28ms TTL=49
    Reply from 159.153.156.150: bytes=32 time=28ms TTL=49
    Reply from 159.153.156.150: bytes=32 time=30ms TTL=49
    Reply from 159.153.156.150: bytes=32 time=29ms TTL=49
    Reply from 159.153.156.150: bytes=32 time=30ms TTL=49

    Ping statistics for 159.153.156.150:
    Packets: Sent = 14, Received = 14, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 28ms, Maximum = 30ms, Average = 29ms
     
  22. Miriandel

    Miriandel Seasoned Veteran
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    Messages:
    387
    Likes Received:
    7
    Just in case:

    >tracert drachenfels.owo.com

    Tracing route to central-eu2.owo.com [159.153.156.150] over a maximum of 30 hops:

    1 2 ms 1 ms 2 ms . [192.168.1.1]
    2 21 ms 20 ms 20 ms 1.186-66-87.adsl-dyn.isp.belgacom.be [87.66.186.1]
    3 23 ms 22 ms 22 ms 58.255-240-81.adsl-static.isp.belgacom.be [81.240.255.58]
    4 22 ms 23 ms 22 ms ge0-0.intlstr1.isp.belgacom.be [194.78.0.46]
    5 23 ms 22 ms 23 ms 80.66.135.181
    6 25 ms 23 ms 23 ms sl-bb20-bru-8-0.sprintlink.net [80.66.128.45]
    7 27 ms 29 ms 28 ms sl-bb22-lon-13-0.sprintlink.net [213.206.129.41]
    8 28 ms 29 ms 28 ms sl-crs2-lon-0-0-0-0.sprintlink.net [213.206.128.182]
    9 30 ms 29 ms 28 ms sl-gw29-lon-14-0-0.sprintlink.net [213.206.128.167]
    10 28 ms 29 ms 28 ms 213.206.159.166
    11 30 ms 29 ms 37 ms fert04-ixe-lhr.ea.com [159.153.156.98]
    12 30 ms 29 ms 29 ms 159.153.156.150

    Trace complete.
     
  23. Merion

    Merion Lore Master
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    1,006
    Likes Received:
    9
    It's definitely on the server side.

    Tonight, I was stuck in melee with Mephitis for like 20 seconds while my whole guild was experiencing the same lag. Normally this would have been my death. But mephitis didn't do squat in all that time. So, simply put, she had lag too.

    And this was just the most remarkable lag of all. It was really especially bad tonite, at least while fighting spawn and even more while fighting the champ.

    I noticed a raise in player numbers on Drachs, maybe our old server isn't used to so many players anymore?! ;)
     
  24. Zandros

    Zandros Guest

    Situation right now reminds me of the "good old days" back in 1998. After casting recall it took up to half hour until you got the target cursor.

    Half hour ago i already got it within 5 seconds. Not sure whether i should consider this as an improvement. :wall:
     
  25. Godiva_DF

    Godiva_DF Guest

    Same problem here

    every 30 seconds I experience a 2-3 second lag
     
  26. girana

    girana Adventurer
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    on some subserver are no problems (like the new gargoly land)
     
  27. jeza

    jeza Journeyman
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    296
    Likes Received:
    14
    Wow ! I never tested the ping before and mine is crap !
    100 average :cursing:
    And I'm not having any lag, meaning it's not worst than usually so it's probably what I have usually... lol it's no wonder that I die so often!

    I did the traceroute and I see that some are much much better, is there a way for me to force my connection to use one of the good ones instead of the one it's using now ?
     
  28. Lord Obsidian

    Lord Obsidian Journeyman
    Professional Stratics Veteran Campaign Benefactor

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    Messages:
    202
    Likes Received:
    74
    Maybe this is a bit "techie language", but it might help solving the problem:

    Every time you log on to Drachenfels, you will be connected to a random IP address in the range of drach server, which, afaik, is 159.153.156.150 to 159.153.156.159. The system with fixed IPs belonging to a subserver area seems to have gone a long time ago...

    I only experience heavy lags when being connected to IP 159.153.156.154; all other IPs of drachenfels look unaffected and let me play the game flawlessly. I suspect just this one single IP as being "bugged".

    Maybe some of my Drach fellow citizens could verify this while being logged on to the server:
    open a command prompt ("start"->"run"->type in "cmd") and type "netstat". You should see an IP in the range mentioned above... (Port 5001 on remote address). Is it ...154 when experiencing heavy lag?
    (see attached example pic.)

    If this proves to be true, I intend to send a bug report to EA/Mythic.
     

    Attached Files:

  29. Claire Repair

    Claire Repair Adventurer
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    17
    Hmm. Several Lag Spikes this morning.
    Like Obsidian recommended, I used cmd and netstat at the dos prompt and...tada...

    154

    relogged several times (difficult to get rid of this 154 address)
    until i got 153

    No lag so far! (after 30 minutes testing)

    Could be coincidence...
    or Obsidian is right. :)

    /Claire
     
  30. Godiva_DF

    Godiva_DF Guest

    152 - no lag

    156 - huge lag spikes
     
  31. MiNi MaGi

    MiNi MaGi Sage
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    706
    Likes Received:
    5
    someone needs to check on the hamsters running uo.... i think one of them is about to bite it :D
     
  32. CatLord

    CatLord Guest

    156... seconds of lag.

    rest... ok.

    Thanks for the tip!
     
  33. Frarc

    Frarc Stratics Legend
    Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2003
    Messages:
    7,770
    Likes Received:
    1,132


    Yup, for sure 156 is bad.
     
  34. Lord Obsidian

    Lord Obsidian Journeyman
    Professional Stratics Veteran Campaign Benefactor

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    Messages:
    202
    Likes Received:
    74
    hmm - thanks for all the feedback.
    I am a bit surprised to hear some of you got probs with 156. With an appropriate network monitor tool, I can easily make those outages visible on 154, but not on 156...

    This is what one of those typical outages look like: :popcorn:
    - first graph: simultaneous ping every 1 second to all IPs of Drachenfels
    - second graph: area4-eu2.owo.com (= 159.153.156.154) isolated out of first graph
    (this usually occurs 5 to 10 times within one hour)

    If someone at EA/Mythic reads this, could you pass this to your network guys?
     

    Attached Files:

  35. Zig_Mythic

    Zig_Mythic Guest

    I've passed this along! :)
     
  36. Lord Obsidian

    Lord Obsidian Journeyman
    Professional Stratics Veteran Campaign Benefactor

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    Messages:
    202
    Likes Received:
    74
    Thank you, Zig! :thumbup1:

    Hope they can sort this out. If needed, I could provide them with additional tech infos / graphs.
     
  37. Frarc

    Frarc Stratics Legend
    Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2003
    Messages:
    7,770
    Likes Received:
    1,132


    Thanks! :)
     
  38. Snakeman

    Snakeman UO Forum Moderator
    Moderator Professional Premium Wiki Moderator Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2002
    Messages:
    4,961
    Likes Received:
    165
    Didn't help us much today, and again tonight many of us on napa (East & West Coast players) would lag right out or start the 5 to 10 sec pause/lag outs. I did a quick trace & here is what was causing my lag (on numerous traces at different times I did these)

    [​IMG]
     
  39. girana

    girana Adventurer
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    drachenfels has still huge lag spikes



    fixxx this
     
  40. deraiky

    deraiky Guest

    We've been runnign around at yew fell and litterly had 10 second freezes every 2 seconds for about 5 mins..
    Unplayable anyone ?
     
  41. Nenime

    Nenime Guest

    I'm glad that you mentioned this.

    My keep is in Fel and when I craft there, the lag is unbelievable - no matter what sub-ID (though 154 is the worst). Mining and Lumberjacking in Fel is a constant stop and go too. Ter Mur, Malas and Trammel seems to be much better in this regard.

    Edit: While lagging, my CPU usage is at 10-20% and RAM at 20-30% so that's not the problem. No crowed places or unusual activities either. I'm using the EC.
     
  42. Lady_Mina

    Lady_Mina Guest

    even the Classic client players are not spared by the lag :(
     
  43. girana

    girana Adventurer
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Drachenfels Felu Yew Server still freezing like hell
     
  44. Megilhir

    Megilhir Guest

    Have a small tower on that Shard.

    Playing other shards (Atlantic/Pacific) until this one is fixed.