1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Greetings Guest!!

    In order to combat SPAM on the forums, all users are required to have a minimum of 2 posts before they can submit links in any post or thread.

    Dismiss Notice

EA: "Quality Assurance? What's that?"

Discussion in 'UHall' started by Stanton Of Pac, Dec 12, 2009.

  1. Try this:

    - Open the 2D client

    - Go to Options and turn on the menu toolbar (if it's not already on)

    - Press "Chat"

    - Press "Create" on the Channel Selector

    - Press "Leave"

    Did your client crash? Good - then it's not just me.

    :cursing::rant2:
     
  2. Corwin

    Corwin Guest

    In before the lock!
     
  3. Viper09

    Viper09 Grand Poobah
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    6,680
    Likes Received:
    824
    Mine didn't :thumbup1:
     
  4. Oh, great. I must be special.
     
  5. Lythos-

    Lythos- Lore Keeper
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 20, 2007
    Messages:
    898
    Likes Received:
    575
    Yeah it does it for me too. Maybe leave really means "LEAVE GAME IMMEDIATELY".
     
  6. "It's not a bug - it's a feature!!!":wall:
     
  7. It Lives

    It Lives Lore Master
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
    Messages:
    1,086
    Likes Received:
    138
    It works fine for me..:thumbup1:
     
  8. Beer_Cayse

    Beer_Cayse Guest

    I got a crash message as well. did you attach yours to a bug report as it directs?
     
  9. kelmo

    kelmo Old and in the way
    Professional Stratics Veteran Alumni Dread Lord

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    17,386
    Likes Received:
    4,709
    This is still in testing phase, right?
     
  10. Kiminality

    Kiminality Guest

    Didn't they warn that there would be "oddities" until it's fully implemented with the coming publish?
     
  11. Konge

    Konge Lore Master
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2006
    Messages:
    1,045
    Likes Received:
    2
    They did, but you know, not EVERYONE reads the bug messages and just cry foul.
     
  12. Mapper

    Mapper Crazed Zealot
    Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2005
    Messages:
    3,528
    Likes Received:
    110
    Hmm mine didn't crash.. just closed the client completely. Did they accidently make it act as a 'quit' button? :D
     
  13. XD4_GL

    XD4_GL Guest

    Yup, crashed.
     
  14. Hey, they've been warning us about "oddities" until the feature de jour is fully implemented for 10 years. Could be worse: There was that time after lockdowns were implemented that some poor sod accidentally locked himself down in his house. Had to wait 8 hours for a GM to show up and go WTF??? :mf_prop:
     
  15. canary

    canary Guest

    That's the main issue with UO as opposed to ANY other online I play. We are ALWAYS in a 'testing phase'.

    There seems to be a certain level of... competence... lacking that I often see in most the other games. Just my opinion, of course.
     
  16. Tuna fish

    Tuna fish Visitor
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    for sure. every new things in uo are done at least twice.
    maybe cut there pay in half a week or two to help them get things right
     
  17. Sevin0oo0

    Sevin0oo0 Guest

    post count +1

    >>This is still in testing phase, right?
    NO, else it'd be on a TEST shard.

    >>Quality Assurance
    Go look on EA's site... QA is an Entry Level position
     
  18. Kiminality

    Kiminality Guest

    Flawed reasoning.
    Folk don't play TC the same way they do production shards, so TC isn't an adequate test of systems under normal gameplay conditions.

    Besides, a game like UO is in constant development. Even something considered "final" is still subject to change, if circumstances require it.
    Therefore, final isn't final, and everything can be considered in testing.
     
  19. CLIENT change aren't tested on a "Test" shard: Publishes are. This was a client change so the only ones who could "test" it were Mythic/EA's QA staff. Took me all of 10 seconds to find it - I deliberately tried to break the chat system, I succeeded. That shouldn't happen.

    I don't know what IT firm you work for but it's a wonder they're still in business if they're telling their staff that.
     
  20. Kiminality

    Kiminality Guest

    Yeah, well, the chat system is a client patch AND a publish.
    Why don't you hop on over to Test Centre, and see if your happy little crash bug happens over there.
    If it does, bug report it.
    If it doesn't they it's one of the "oddities" they specifically mentioned. In that case, congrats! You found a bug in something that was known to be bugged.

    Open your eyes and look at the history of changes. Systems that have remained in place for years can be changed, for the sake of balance, fixing of long-term bugs, or just plain progress.
    But, by all means, don't let reality get in the way of your keen business sense.