1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Greetings Guest!!

    In order to combat SPAM on the forums, all users are required to have a minimum of 2 posts before they can submit links in any post or thread.

    Dismiss Notice

East Coast Issues

Discussion in 'UHall' started by TheJunglist, Oct 20, 2009.

  1. TheJunglist

    TheJunglist Guest

    I personally do not connect to the Washington DC server so I do not suffer this connection issue. I am wondering if there are any plans to resolve this matter currently. As it stands I know a good number of people who will be deactivating there accounts soon unless this is taken care of.

    So EA, whats the gameplan?
     
  2. Crysta

    Crysta Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran Alumni

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    2,418
    Likes Received:
    73
    This is my first time hearing about any "issues"... what are you talking about exactly?
     
  3. Nine Dark Moons

    Nine Dark Moons Certifiable
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2006
    Messages:
    1,687
    Likes Received:
    43
    *confused*
    i play east coast servers and am not aware of any issues...
     
  4. DevilsOwn

    DevilsOwn Stratics Legend
    Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    8,922
    Likes Received:
    379
    other than the shutdown when trading (yes, still happens now and then) I've not had any trouble.... but, I don't normally go to heavily populated areas or pvp, so don't know about any issues there
     
  5. Jhym

    Jhym Guest

    There are no east coast shard connection issues, unless you are logging in from europe or asia.

    Thus, no problem, thus no particular reason anyone should do what you suggest.
     
  6. Tazar

    Tazar Guest

    I play east coast servers daily and am not having a problem...

    I can't find the info now on the server locations, but I don't even think there is one in Washington, DC.

    Have you used a trace routine to see where the problem is? Most likely it is somewhere along the route and not an EA issue.

    You might also want to try the tech-forum for more details on it.
     
  7. Vaen Swiftar

    Vaen Swiftar Guest

    There have been numerous trace routes posted on another board, all jacking up pings from the 20's to the 100's. I can back his claims.

    Here is one such tracert...

    [​IMG]
     
  8. Lynk

    Lynk Grand Poobah
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Messages:
    6,032
    Likes Received:
    145
    How can some people be so clueless and blindly say "there are no connection issues". I'm beginning to think you only read what you post.

    Players are complaining constantly about the lag and connection problems. It doesn't affect everyone, but there are plenty of traceroutes posted.
     
  9. Lynk

    Lynk Grand Poobah
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Messages:
    6,032
    Likes Received:
    145
    You know, the extreme lag that people have been complaining about for months?
     
  10. Storm

    Storm UO Forum Moderator
    Moderator Professional Premium Wiki Moderator Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2004
    Messages:
    7,469
    Likes Received:
    361
    There is a issue! The east coasT people are not having this problem! its people in thie mid and west parts of the country connecting to east coast and it is well documented! so well in fact that we should get a statement from the uo team!
     
  11. Beer_Cayse

    Beer_Cayse Guest

    While I've seen the posts AND live in the Eastern US, I haven't experienced the lag that's been written about when on Cats or Atl. My home shard is LA.

    Even so, some East Coast players say it lags, others say it doesn't. Do all the laggers go thru one certain node on the way to their favorite shard? Do all the others NOT go thru that node? Those are questions that need answered - at least.
     
  12. Lynk

    Lynk Grand Poobah
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Messages:
    6,032
    Likes Received:
    145
    Those questions have been asked, answered, documented, followed up with screenshots and in some cases graphs.

    I live in Wisconsin, I have AT&T DSL, I have no lag.

    I know people that live in Wyoming, Mississippi, and other states that all get hung up at the same place in the trace route.
     
  13. dukarlo

    dukarlo Seasoned Veteran
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2008
    Messages:
    371
    Likes Received:
    22
    Im having lag issues as well and have been for quite some time.A ping that is low 20s in the AM goes as high as 140 during the day. Its the whole Washington DC thing that EA doesnt seem to want to acknowledge. Something simialr happened years ago and it was quite a few months before EA did anything about it. I actualy worked a tamer up to 113 real taming because the lag was so bad all i could do was tame ridgebacks. Quite a few people have had this problem and many have started to play a free shard. EA needs to realize that they dont have the only UO around. They really do take for granted that UOs shrinking player base has been around a longtime but even so the patience wears thin. Take into account the speedhacking and the bad pings and UO is unplayable most of the day. I have no desire to tame ridgebacks again for 4 months.
     
  14. Tazar

    Tazar Guest

    Well... since Vaen's link did not work for me, I still have no answer to the question...

    Is it on EA's end? or somewhere else on the web?

    Should EA be the contact, or the local ISP?
     
  15. Vaen Swiftar

    Vaen Swiftar Guest

    The tracert in my picture jumps from 53 avg ping to 179 avg ping at fert07-eqis-iad-EA.com
     
  16. Storm

    Storm UO Forum Moderator
    Moderator Professional Premium Wiki Moderator Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2004
    Messages:
    7,469
    Likes Received:
    361
    exactly ! so it could be ea or a hops before even ! either way if it is EA they should fix it! if its not and its one of there providers they can put in a call I used to do it all the time for a large corporation I worked for! even if its a low priority they have a set amount of time to look into it! depending on the agreement they have! the point is it can and should be looked into and the ball is in EA court!
     
  17. Crysta

    Crysta Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran Alumni

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    2,418
    Likes Received:
    73
    Not heard anything aside from one friend asking me once if things were laggy for me, which they aren't.
     
  18. Maryland Atlantic

    Issues.

    Lag. Wierd lag for weeks. Almost cyclical. At luna or in the abyss.

    10 minutes fine. Bang hit by 30 seconds of lag that almost slows me by 75%. Then its gone. 10 or 15 minutes later its back.

    I have died several times to it just happening at the wrong time in the abyss.


    It its not always when there is a lot going on. Might just be 1 monster.

    This in 2d. Same comp for years. Same connection.

    I dont complain about it because what can I do. I figure it will get resolved sooner or later.
     
  19. Crysta

    Crysta Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran Alumni

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    2,418
    Likes Received:
    73
    Oh, that? God, I thought that was just me because of how bad my connection has been the last year or so because the router is on the fritz. Still hasn't affected me all too much anyway.. guess i'm used to lag like that.
     
  20. Exactly, Im use to it too. I figure its par for the course.
     
  21. TheJunglist

    TheJunglist Guest

    It is the Washington DC server.

    Everyone that has these issues can run a trace route and see that they connect to that server. The people having problems, have no connection issues or high ping until they hit that server.

    Its like the upload speed of it is messed up, so it recieves your signal fine, but send it to the ea servers very poorly.
     
  22. Flutter

    Flutter Always Present
    Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    May 12, 2004
    Messages:
    21,553
    Likes Received:
    3,840
    Yea I can't play for hours on end because of this. Sometimes it's fine mind you and I can catch people who are on foot while I am mounted, but most times, like presently, I can't get from the moongate to my house. It's really quite annoying to not even be able to play.

    This is my connection right now
    Ping statistics for 159.153.233.35:
    Packets: Sent = 8122, Received = 7969, Lost = 153,
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 108ms, Maximum = 389ms, Average = 157ms

    Anything over triple digits is unplayable if you PvP.
     
  23. Flutter

    Flutter Always Present
    Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    May 12, 2004
    Messages:
    21,553
    Likes Received:
    3,840
    2:20AM Normal Ping finally arrives:
    Reply from 159.153.233.35: bytes=32 time=46ms TTL=51
    Reply from 159.153.233.35: bytes=32 time=46ms TTL=51
    Reply from 159.153.233.35: bytes=32 time=45ms TTL=51
    Reply from 159.153.233.35: bytes=32 time=46ms TTL=51
    Reply from 159.153.233.35: bytes=32 time=63ms TTL=51
    Reply from 159.153.233.35: bytes=32 time=45ms TTL=51
    Reply from 159.153.233.35: bytes=32 time=45ms TTL=51
    Reply from 159.153.233.35: bytes=32 time=45ms TTL=51
    Reply from 159.153.233.35: bytes=32 time=53ms TTL=51
    Reply from 159.153.233.35: bytes=32 time=49ms TTL=51
    Reply from 159.153.233.35: bytes=32 time=45ms TTL=51
    Reply from 159.153.233.35: bytes=32 time=45ms TTL=51
    Reply from 159.153.233.35: bytes=32 time=45ms TTL=51
    Reply from 159.153.233.35: bytes=32 time=62ms TTL=51
    Reply from 159.153.233.35: bytes=32 time=55ms TTL=51
    Reply from 159.153.233.35: bytes=32 time=62ms TTL=51
    Reply from 159.153.233.35: bytes=32 time=69ms TTL=51
    Reply from 159.153.233.35: bytes=32 time=45ms TTL=51
    Reply from 159.153.233.35: bytes=32 time=61ms TTL=51
    Reply from 159.153.233.35: bytes=32 time=43ms TTL=51

    Ping statistics for 159.153.233.35:
    Packets: Sent = 20, Received = 20, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 43ms, Maximum = 69ms, Average = 50ms
     
  24. Coffin

    Coffin Guest

  25. Podolak

    Podolak Crazed Zealot
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,075
    Likes Received:
    658
    Right now my connections look like this:

    Work ISP (Dedicated Fiber)

    Pinging central-ae3.owo.com [159.153.233.35] with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 159.153.233.35: bytes=32 time=14ms TTL=54
    Reply from 159.153.233.35: bytes=32 time=14ms TTL=54
    Reply from 159.153.233.35: bytes=32 time=12ms TTL=54
    Reply from 159.153.233.35: bytes=32 time=12ms TTL=54
    Reply from 159.153.233.35: bytes=32 time=12ms TTL=54
    Reply from 159.153.233.35: bytes=32 time=13ms TTL=54
    Reply from 159.153.233.35: bytes=32 time=13ms TTL=54
    Reply from 159.153.233.35: bytes=32 time=12ms TTL=54
    Reply from 159.153.233.35: bytes=32 time=12ms TTL=54
    Reply from 159.153.233.35: bytes=32 time=12ms TTL=54
    Reply from 159.153.233.35: bytes=32 time=13ms TTL=54
    Reply from 159.153.233.35: bytes=32 time=12ms TTL=54
    Reply from 159.153.233.35: bytes=32 time=13ms TTL=54
    Reply from 159.153.233.35: bytes=32 time=12ms TTL=54
    Reply from 159.153.233.35: bytes=32 time=12ms TTL=54
    Reply from 159.153.233.35: bytes=32 time=13ms TTL=54
    Reply from 159.153.233.35: bytes=32 time=13ms TTL=54
    Reply from 159.153.233.35: bytes=32 time=13ms TTL=54
    Reply from 159.153.233.35: bytes=32 time=12ms TTL=54
    Reply from 159.153.233.35: bytes=32 time=13ms TTL=54
    Reply from 159.153.233.35: bytes=32 time=12ms TTL=54
    Reply from 159.153.233.35: bytes=32 time=12ms TTL=54
    Reply from 159.153.233.35: bytes=32 time=12ms TTL=54
    Reply from 159.153.233.35: bytes=32 time=12ms TTL=54
    Reply from 159.153.233.35: bytes=32 time=12ms TTL=54
    Reply from 159.153.233.35: bytes=32 time=12ms TTL=54
    Reply from 159.153.233.35: bytes=32 time=12ms TTL=54
    Reply from 159.153.233.35: bytes=32 time=12ms TTL=54
    Reply from 159.153.233.35: bytes=32 time=13ms TTL=54
    Reply from 159.153.233.35: bytes=32 time=13ms TTL=54
    Reply from 159.153.233.35: bytes=32 time=13ms TTL=54
    Reply from 159.153.233.35: bytes=32 time=12ms TTL=54
    Reply from 159.153.233.35: bytes=32 time=12ms TTL=54
    Reply from 159.153.233.35: bytes=32 time=12ms TTL=54
    Reply from 159.153.233.35: bytes=32 time=12ms TTL=54
    Reply from 159.153.233.35: bytes=32 time=12ms TTL=54
    Reply from 159.153.233.35: bytes=32 time=13ms TTL=54
    Reply from 159.153.233.35: bytes=32 time=12ms TTL=54
    Reply from 159.153.233.35: bytes=32 time=12ms TTL=54
    Reply from 159.153.233.35: bytes=32 time=13ms TTL=54
    Reply from 159.153.233.35: bytes=32 time=13ms TTL=54
    Reply from 159.153.233.35: bytes=32 time=13ms TTL=54
    Reply from 159.153.233.35: bytes=32 time=12ms TTL=54
    Reply from 159.153.233.35: bytes=32 time=12ms TTL=54
    Reply from 159.153.233.35: bytes=32 time=13ms TTL=54
    Reply from 159.153.233.35: bytes=32 time=12ms TTL=54
    Reply from 159.153.233.35: bytes=32 time=12ms TTL=54
    Reply from 159.153.233.35: bytes=32 time=13ms TTL=54
    Reply from 159.153.233.35: bytes=32 time=14ms TTL=54
    Ping statistics for 159.153.233.35:
    Packets: Sent = 99, Received = 99, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 12ms, Maximum = 16ms, Average = 12ms

    Home ISP (Cable):

    Pinging central-ae3.owo.com [159.153.233.35] with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 159.153.233.35: bytes=32 time=27ms TTL=53
    Reply from 159.153.233.35: bytes=32 time=28ms TTL=53
    Reply from 159.153.233.35: bytes=32 time=28ms TTL=53
    Reply from 159.153.233.35: bytes=32 time=27ms TTL=53
    Reply from 159.153.233.35: bytes=32 time=28ms TTL=53
    Reply from 159.153.233.35: bytes=32 time=26ms TTL=53
    Reply from 159.153.233.35: bytes=32 time=25ms TTL=53
    Reply from 159.153.233.35: bytes=32 time=26ms TTL=53
    Ping statistics for 159.153.233.35:
    Packets: Sent = 55, Received = 55, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 24ms, Maximum = 64ms, Average = 26ms


    However, later in the afternoon and especially when I get home I'll be lucky to get 140ms average. I'll post those later.
     
  26. Lynk

    Lynk Grand Poobah
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Messages:
    6,032
    Likes Received:
    145
    I compared my traceroute to a friends and it is really weird. We take the same routes and hit the same level3 servers.

    He has cable, I have AT&T DSL. My connection never has > 40 ping during the bad time. He takes the same route as me, hits the same server, and spikes to 150.

    Does anyone that is having this lag have DSL, or are you all cable customers?
     
  27. Podolak

    Podolak Crazed Zealot
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,075
    Likes Received:
    658
    Most of my locations are cable or fiber but I do have one location in Kentucky on AT&T DSL. I can try a ping from there during the bad time to see what happens.
     
  28. Coffin

    Coffin Guest

    Hmmm.. everyone I talk to who is lagging has cable, Comcast I'm assuming. I'm going to try and find someone in my area with DSL and see how well they fare. Maybe it's time for an ISP switch? Shrugs!
     
  29. Lynk

    Lynk Grand Poobah
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Messages:
    6,032
    Likes Received:
    145
    You shouldn't necessarily switch your ISP, but it would probably help diagnose the problem if everyone affected has Cable and DSL people are fine.
     
  30. Coffin

    Coffin Guest

    Here's a guy on a college network in Philadelphia

    [​IMG]
     
  31. soze

    soze Seasoned Veteran
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2007
    Messages:
    357
    Likes Received:
    9
    Lag has been an issue going on a year now....I remember it hit really bad during the Halloween event last year

    UO sort of addressed it, and then forgot about it....hoping we would too, i guess...or they are too busy to deal with it

    Either way, they seem to want to blame it on ISP other than their own servers
     
  32. RL'S pker

    RL'S pker Sage
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 24, 2008
    Messages:
    715
    Likes Received:
    19
    I've got comcast, and been lagging for around three months now. It's at the point where I just log in to restock my vendor once a week, then log out.
     
  33. Flutter

    Flutter Always Present
    Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    May 12, 2004
    Messages:
    21,553
    Likes Received:
    3,840
    I have a 10 meg cable connection.
     
  34. Jaimes

    Jaimes Guest

    I'm lagging on East Coast shards as well. It's rather frustrating since my ping is now usually around 165 (that's like, dialup speed, man). It used to be around 55.

    I'm a Comcast Cable customer. Doing a tracert shows a jump, just like with everyone else, on the EA servers. The one in mention is fert07-eqx-iad.ea.com

    Please PLEASE fix this EA, it's impossible to survive in PvP like this.
     
  35. Lythos-

    Lythos- Lore Keeper
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 20, 2007
    Messages:
    898
    Likes Received:
    575

    I am also Comcast 12meg BUT my last hop is fert08-eqx-iad.ea.com with no major ping issues.

    Last summer my ping was 24-29 but it suddenly jumped to 55. I thought it was because of line work but now im beginning to wonder.
     
  36. Coffin

    Coffin Guest

    I'm sorry to bump this thread, but these problems are still plaguing us. I know people in Florida who are affected. Some people in Texas. Anyone in the northwest area, and west coast are affected also, and it seems like people who are on cable have the most problems.

    A lot of you reading this are not affected and don't realize how terrible this problem is. We, the people who are lagging, move slowly and have no chance what so ever in PvP. It's a problem in the day time. Our ping goes to normal late at night and very early morning. It went away for one week, but it's back again.

    Maybe more of us can post our pings and trace routes, we have to be heard and keep this problem known.

    [​IMG]
     
  37. Heartseeker

    Heartseeker Guest

    THIS.
     
  38. Lady Michelle

    Lady Michelle Sprite Full SP
    Stratics Veteran The DarkOutlaws, TDO

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    2,452
    Likes Received:
    1,114
    The ones who posted they have comcast
    If your modem is over a year old have them bring you out a new one, or take it in yourself.
    also make sure all the cables are screwed on tight a loose cable can also cause you problems.
    Also a corrupted modem that someone else might have also can cause you to have problems, few years back because someone had a bad modem in my area caused me to have horrible lag, lose connection, and made me lock up Web sites wouldnt load up either. I called and complained they check my connection was fine. they had no idea what was wrong and that others also called with the same problem. they actually went to every customers house in the area to check their lines and modems, and that is how they found the guy a few streets over had a corrupted modem. Since then I have not had any issues with anything except a little bit of lag in highly populated areas.
     
  39. Theo_GL

    Theo_GL Grand Poobah
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2003
    Messages:
    6,415
    Likes Received:
    687
    I love all the arm-chair tech folks on the boards.

    Look - if it was a modem problem it would be a problem ALL THE TIME.

    IT IS NOT. It is a problem at certain periods of the day. Lag is horrific. I can barely move on GL. However, I can go log into Sonoma and speed around like speedracer. Sonoma is FARTHER from me than GL.

    Then - late night - it clears up and I get back to normal ping.

    How in the world would that be my modem?

    Seriously - the problem is not our computers, not our connections, not our video cards, not our windows patch level.... it is something happening between our house and the EA server.

    And when you look at the traceroute it is the hop just before the destination. The hops up until there are not an issue.

    So Michelle and others - thanks for trying to be helpful but if you don't know what you are talking about please be quiet and stop muddying the water with nonsense.

    This is not a modem issue.

    This has been going on for weeks and everyone is noticing the same pattern. Time of day, shards in question and crap ping numbers when hitting fert.
     
  40. T'Challa

    T'Challa Certifiable
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,969
    Likes Received:
    15

    This.
     
  41. Lady Michelle

    Lady Michelle Sprite Full SP
    Stratics Veteran The DarkOutlaws, TDO

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    2,452
    Likes Received:
    1,114
    Yes Im aware of your problem,and that what I posted wasn't going to solve your problem. but other players who have comcast might also be having these same problems, but not like your having them with the EA server, and it could be their modems causing their problems. If this was also posted or moved to the right forums then helpful players wouldn't be muddying up this thread by trying to be helpful.
     
  42. Coffin

    Coffin Guest

    We are posting in the Tech forums also, but nothing is changing. So, a couple of us are getting pretty desperate at this point.
     
  43. Theo_GL

    Theo_GL Grand Poobah
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2003
    Messages:
    6,415
    Likes Received:
    687
    Yup. I'm tired of GL not being 'playable' besides crafting and vendor stocking from 4pm CST to 11:30pm CST.

    Maybe it is a bunch of kids playing Pogo online through the same router or something that is killing traffic- I dunno. But it is NOT an issue with west coast shards - just east coast.

    I'm better playing Sonoma/Pacific/Origin during that time than GL and I live in Chicago.
     
  44. Flutter

    Flutter Always Present
    Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    May 12, 2004
    Messages:
    21,553
    Likes Received:
    3,840
    I wonder why we haven't heard anything about this? Not even a "it's not our problem" from our community rep.
     
  45. T'Challa

    T'Challa Certifiable
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,969
    Likes Received:
    15
    Rep got fired?

    *edit* btw, like clockwork...same thing, diff day...
     
  46. Theo_GL

    Theo_GL Grand Poobah
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2003
    Messages:
    6,415
    Likes Received:
    687
    Yup, same problems again today that cleared up around 11pm.

    I can't do anything in a dungeon before 11pm. I don't even bother to get on UO until then anymore.
     
  47. FireKitten

    FireKitten West Vesper Arena - Pit Mistress
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    28
    For the last week I have been pinging in the 140 to 160's.. Atlantic.. I just tried a ping with Europa and it was 120! Go figure!
     
  48. gjohnson5

    gjohnson5 Guest

    This is inaccurate. Peak times could easily peak bandwidth on certain lines. Not to mention routers could be configured for certain connections to go a certain route instead of where the highest bandwidth availability is. The only thing the end user can really do is attempt try another ISP for 30 days (if such an offer exists) to see if that lag exists

    But LOL @ the armchair tech comment and the proceeding inaccuracy
     
  49. Theo_GL

    Theo_GL Grand Poobah
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2003
    Messages:
    6,415
    Likes Received:
    687
    Another armchair tech

    Look - it is not a problem with MY modem. If it were a problem with my bandwidth - then ALL UO shards would be slow. They are NOT. It is only the East Coast Shards. My bandwidth tests are 11mbps or better. I can zip around in other on-line games no problem.

    It is amazing how many people don't have simple logic needed for troubleshooting.

    The problem is at or near fert08 which is the gateway used for the UO Great Lakes Server.

    Its been reported in about 100 threads and it is the LAST HOP from the UO server and likely within EA's hosting environment.

    I've been at this game for 8 years and am well aware of what I *should* be pinging to GL all things being equal.

    I should NOT be pinging better to all west coast shards than east coast.

    I am not the only one with this issue. It is happening to many people.


    If anyone at EA/Mythic still works on UO - you ought to post that at least you know about the issue and are looking into it.

    Silence sux. It is a problem every single day.

    I'm pinging 202 to GL at the moment with zero packet loss.

    I'm pinging 77 to Sonoma at the moment with zero packet loss.

    Sonoma has NEVER been faster for me than Great Lakes in 8 years of playing.

    Explain how all East Coast shards that go through Fert08 are slow as mollasses and how all West Coast shards that go through 159.153.209.30 have no problems???

    There is a problem with Fert08 and it is in EA's data center. FIX IT!

    I'd like someone to post a ping right now to greatlakes.owo.com that is *NOT* having an issue with Fert08.

    Post the date and time please.

    Right now I show no worse than 45ms for the first 11 hops. Then I show 200ms for fert08 and that is the last stop before great lakes.

    Its not a problem on my end - its either in the EA data center or in their network provider.


    10 45 ms 45 ms 44 ms ae-43-99.car3.Washington1.Level3.net [4.68.17.197]

    11 45 ms 41 ms 41 ms ELECTRONIC.car3.Washington1.Level3.net [4.79.169.74]

    12 175 ms 204 ms 204 ms fert08-eqx-iad.ea.com [159.153.224.238]

    13 233 ms 204 ms 204 ms 159.153.233.71
     
  50. statman

    statman Visitor
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0

    Here are the results from NC at 4:01 pm 11 Nov

    * snip of initial hops *
    16 50 ms 47 ms 48 ms gar2.ascva.ip.att.net [12.122.134.117]
    17 49 ms 49 ms 49 ms 12.116.77.34
    18 318 ms 204 ms 116 ms fert07-eqx-iad.ea.com [159.153.224.226]
    19 123 ms 48 ms 50 ms 159.153.233.71

    Note they are using fert07 now. At least that is the one I go through.


    I have run 10 more tracert calls and fert07 seems to be fine
    16 50 ms 47 ms 49 ms gar2.ascva.ip.att.net [12.122.134.117]
    17 55 ms 47 ms 48 ms 12.116.77.34
    18 50 ms 47 ms 47 ms fert07-eqx-iad.ea.com [159.153.224.226]
    19 51 ms 51 ms 48 ms 159.153.233.71


    I think to really understand what is going on would require recording tracert calls every 30 minutes for a week and track when the problem occurs or even if it is really a problem.

    I dont normally play GL, so not much to say. I play Sonoma and dont have any issues ever with lag.