1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Greetings Guest!!

    In order to combat SPAM on the forums, all users are required to have a minimum of 2 posts before they can submit links in any post or thread.

    Dismiss Notice

[Tech Help] ec and ventrillo

Discussion in 'UO Enhanced Client Discussion' started by longshanks, Sep 23, 2010.

  1. longshanks

    longshanks Guest

    probably has been asked but how can i toggle to speak in vent if its in the backround of the ec?

    i keep having to click the vent window than talk. :/

    thanks.
     
  2. Requiem_baja

    Requiem_baja Visitor

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    0
    I was having this problem last night but when I ran Vent as an admin it fixed it. This is in windows 7
     
  3. Cear Dallben Dragon

    Cear Dallben Dragon Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2005
    Messages:
    2,005
    Likes Received:
    17
    if you have virus protection, disable User Account Control for any new windows OS. It makes life a lot less hellish. and most everything works. ive been playing final doom for days.
     
  4. Be careful about any changes to UAC if you have Windows Vista. This can corrupt the user properties (I think that's what it's called). This happened to me and locked all my files and folders. There are posted fixes, but the only way I could get it to work again was to transfer the user account to a new one and delete the old user account. It was a mess.

    Better thought - if you have Windows Vista, upgrade.
     
  5. longshanks

    longshanks Guest

    this worked. right clicked the icon and went to properties, selected start as admin and viola.



    thank you.
     
  6. Martyna Zmuir

    Martyna Zmuir Crazed Zealot

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,052
    Likes Received:
    632
    The problem between Vent and the EC appears to be the patcher.

    If you skip it entirely and just run UOSA.exe from the install directory Vent works just fine without any tweaking.
     
  7. Merion

    Merion Lore Master
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    1,006
    Likes Received:
    9
    I had the same problem with teamspeak and it took me days to figure out, that both programs need to run as administrator. Then everythings is gumdrops and videogames :)
     
  8. Gilmour

    Gilmour Certifiable
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2003
    Messages:
    1,841
    Likes Received:
    274
    just need to run ventrilo as admin :)