1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Greetings Guest!!

    In order to combat SPAM on the forums, all users are required to have a minimum of 2 posts before they can submit links in any post or thread.

    Dismiss Notice

EC Crash when running around

Discussion in 'UO Enhanced Client Discussion' started by lucitus, Dec 15, 2011.

  1. lucitus

    lucitus UOEC Modder
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Messages:
    1,426
    Likes Received:
    45
    I have now tested this bug very often, it is easy to reproduce, you only have to run around after 20 - 30 minutes of running around britannia the client crashes.

    It doesn't play any role what is on the screen. Disableling Vsync and using only one core on a multi core processor reduces the problem. But also the performance is very bad after that time.

    This bug isn't new and existing since winter 2007 when the legacy art got intigrated in the Kingdom Reborn client and the movement gets changed to work faster.

    Devs this is a very, no the worst bug in the client at the moment, please fix it ASAP and post an aware of the issue please, thank you very much!

    Happy crashing holidays!

    Lucitus
     
  2. Gilmour

    Gilmour Certifiable
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2003
    Messages:
    1,842
    Likes Received:
    274
  3. lucitus

    lucitus UOEC Modder
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Messages:
    1,426
    Likes Received:
    45
    Sorry for that but this is a placebo. Also Roland never said that it fixes his problem.

    I tested much around with many different machines and Operating Systems the problem is on all the same. What brings a success is only using one core on multicore processors, but this doesnt fix it because it is unplayable after a while, so you can choose unplayable performance or crashing?

    If you look at the other games out there, this Enhanced Client is a joke in any way, the graphics is ugly, the performance bad and not stable. If you think that that bad program is used by people, how bad must be the alternative 2d client?!?

    But they can kiss my back iam done with those! :lick:

    Merry Christmas!
     
  4. Gilmour

    Gilmour Certifiable
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2003
    Messages:
    1,842
    Likes Received:
    274
    I JUST posted it 15 min ago, could you at least give it a go, before saying it wont work? :p

    as i said, it worked for me when i started crashing.
     
  5. Pinco

    Pinco UOEC Modder
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2005
    Messages:
    5,675
    Likes Received:
    865
    Actually I've tried this solution time ago. By default I have the indexing active, disabling it makes the game totally unstable and is crashed before entering the game :D
     
  6. Storm

    Storm UO Forum Moderator
    Moderator Professional Premium Wiki Moderator Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2004
    Messages:
    7,469
    Likes Received:
    361
    This is one problem that seems very hard to narrow down. I run duel cores and am having no problems while a few others are! I was having problems at one point and made some changes to how my graphics setting were and this helped me others it has helped also but others it has not? I dont have the answer ..maybe there are more than one thing effecting this?

    It is frustrating I know but if we put half as much towards looking for a answer as cursing the client maybe we would figure it out?

    it not the best for sure but it is what we have to play with for the time being!
     
  7. lucitus

    lucitus UOEC Modder
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Messages:
    1,426
    Likes Received:
    45
    Be sure you doing the right thing to test it, i never found a system be it Intel Dual Core, AMD Dual Core or Quad or more Cores, which handles it stable.

    You have to run around best is lets say from Britain to Minoc and back again, with a dual core i can reach 3 rounds, with my 6 cores i only reach 1 and half round. It is that what the most calling random movement crash bug, it is not random, i would say it is a memory leak.

    The reason i opend this thread is to report how you can reproduce it. I also cant understand after 1 and a half year, the devs introduced a new crash reporting tool (thats why the client crashes to the desktop, when the client crashes an exeception handler is called) and they were not able to fix that, i dont know what they doing all the day or are they only working once per week for UO?
     
  8. Storm

    Storm UO Forum Moderator
    Moderator Professional Premium Wiki Moderator Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2004
    Messages:
    7,469
    Likes Received:
    361
    I have correction i just crashed going through a wisp gate on wakatu
     
  9. Storm

    Storm UO Forum Moderator
    Moderator Professional Premium Wiki Moderator Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2004
    Messages:
    7,469
    Likes Received:
    361
    I am not a expert here but is there anyway to get a log of the crash? like in windows when it messes up?
     
  10. I'm not getting this crash any more since I changed my cache setting.

    I just ran 4 full trips, Brit to Minoc banks, back through Vesper and Cove, past Wind and Shrine of Chaos, back through valley near Shrine of Compassion, and no crash! I finally just quite out of sheer boredom.
     
  11. Ezekiel Zane

    Ezekiel Zane Grand Inquisitor
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2003
    Messages:
    4,556
    Likes Received:
    113
    I crash to desktop regularly on four different computers. All are multi-core, dual, tri and quad, three are AMD and one is Intel.
     
  12. lucitus

    lucitus UOEC Modder
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Messages:
    1,426
    Likes Received:
    45
    Hmm my latest post got deleted by recovery, however i got it much more stable now with the following settings.

    I set the cache setting to 256 MB (default)
    I disabled Vsync
    I disabled the Indexing of the folder but not the UI folder need it for modding
    I am using now Creative Alchemy for sound

    I think it is a sound problem, but iam not 100% sure, the one who crash have you enabled playing footsteps?
     
  13. Roland'

    Roland' Lore Keeper
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2006
    Messages:
    864
    Likes Received:
    2
    im back with a 7 day trial. if the game works without crashing ill play again. if not i give up.

    all of you on here need to call tech support and make them sit on the phone with you for an hour or 4 (yes i had them on teh phone for 4 hours). maybe if enough people make them try and fix this problem they will help.

    also do not let them send you to emails for specialists. i have them get the specialists on teh phone (they will get them for you. be persistant, your spending good money and have spent alot in the past as well).

    hopefully if we bug them enough they will fix this. obviously the forums are not helping.
     
  14. Storm

    Storm UO Forum Moderator
    Moderator Professional Premium Wiki Moderator Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2004
    Messages:
    7,469
    Likes Received:
    361
    Someone recently suggested disabling foot steps and this has helped for many people! I was not crashing often but now I have not crashed in at least 3 weeks
     
  15. lucitus

    lucitus UOEC Modder
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Messages:
    1,426
    Likes Received:
    45
    Not tested it, but this is what iam interested in, i found it out by only using one core to hold the client stable, after a while the footsteps became choppy.

    This is why the most crashes are when you are begin to run or running arround. But from here on the devs should look at the soundsystem, maybe a problem with the new 3d soundsystem, by the way they should fix the bug that you cant hear any sound when you are only 1 - 3 tiles over the target, a z axis problem in the system.
     
  16. Roland'

    Roland' Lore Keeper
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2006
    Messages:
    864
    Likes Received:
    2
    crashed at yew fel. i can run around luna for days but the vendors at yew are to full i guess...

    for me its always at navrey or yew fel (usualy near the gate but not always) i crash. there have been other places but these are hot spots.
     
  17. lucitus

    lucitus UOEC Modder
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Messages:
    1,426
    Likes Received:
    45
    Hehe i think we have to accept that we cant do anything against it with settings, our hands are bound, nothing is really usefull against this bug.
     
  18. lucitus

    lucitus UOEC Modder
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Messages:
    1,426
    Likes Received:
    45
    I found out a crashbug reproduceable.

    You have to autorun here but see yourself:

    [YOUTUBE]gjW-mAYf34w[/YOUTUBE]

    EDIT:

    This is despice felucca in the bone bit SW side of the island.
     
  19. Meat Elemental

    Meat Elemental Journeyman
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2010
    Messages:
    294
    Likes Received:
    25
    I just deleted my profile data on my char that i mainly crash on and so far running very smooth, was crashing all the time at the twisted weald and labyrinth sometimes crashing non stop.
    Just was a pain re-doing my macros up again...