1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Greetings Guest!!

    In order to combat SPAM on the forums, all users are required to have a minimum of 2 posts before they can submit links in any post or thread.

    Dismiss Notice

EC Problem.

Discussion in 'UHall' started by Smoot, Jul 21, 2014.

  1. Smoot

    Smoot Grand Poobah
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    6,753
    Likes Received:
    3,543
    I play EC very rarely, but currently no item names are showing up in my inventory when i mouse over them.

    How do i fix this? i looked to see if i had an option checked wrong but couldnt find anything.

    P.S. no pincos or anything, just default EC client.
     
  2. Storm

    Storm UO Forum Moderator
    Moderator Professional Premium Wiki Moderator Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2004
    Messages:
    7,469
    Likes Received:
    361
    make sure you are patched and up to date
     
  3. Smoot

    Smoot Grand Poobah
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    6,753
    Likes Received:
    3,543
    yep fully patched.
     
  4. BeaIank

    BeaIank Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran Campaign Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2011
    Messages:
    2,275
    Likes Received:
    1,574
    I recall having read that such problem is happening when you use legacy containers.
    Do you have legacy containers turned on? If so, try to check it off, close and open the container.
     
  5. Smoot

    Smoot Grand Poobah
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    6,753
    Likes Received:
    3,543
    thanks for the reply

    Of course i have legacy containers, doesnt everyone? i couldnt imagine browsing vendors without it.

    it did fix the problem temporarily, but i cant really continue using it like this.


    Devs, please fix this bad bug.
     
  6. Bleak

    Bleak UO Software Engineer
    VIP Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    369
    Likes Received:
    720
    I am working on a fix for this issue.
     
    CovenantX, MalagAste, DJAd and 4 others like this.
  7. Storm

    Storm UO Forum Moderator
    Moderator Professional Premium Wiki Moderator Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2004
    Messages:
    7,469
    Likes Received:
    361
    Thanks Bleak
     
  8. DJAd

    DJAd Stratics Legend
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2007
    Messages:
    7,928
    Likes Received:
    3,574
    Your soooooooooooo 1999 Smoot :D
     
  9. Spiritless

    Spiritless Seasoned Veteran
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    486
    Likes Received:
    466
    God no. The new containers + grids are great. I stock my vendor with legacy containers enabled though and noticed this last night. Glad there's a patch incoming.
     
    DJAd likes this.
  10. Bleak

    Bleak UO Software Engineer
    VIP Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    369
    Likes Received:
    720
    This has been resolved.
     
    DJAd, BeaIank, kronides and 3 others like this.
  11. Storm

    Storm UO Forum Moderator
    Moderator Professional Premium Wiki Moderator Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2004
    Messages:
    7,469
    Likes Received:
    361
    Thanks for the update Bleak
     
  12. Stranger

    Stranger Lord of the Dance
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    Messages:
    225
    Likes Received:
    123
    It's better, but not as good as it was before.
    The problem now is if items are too close together and you drag your mouse from one item to the next, the new item will highlight yellow, but the label will still display the old item.
    I can hop all over my backpack from item to item and it keeps the same old label up. So now apparently my runebooks a runebook. And my runes a runebook. And my daggers a runebook. And my dye tubs a runebook. And my ships a runebook. And my house tool is a runebook. And my apples are a runebook. Etc. At least that's what the stuck label says.
    This makes it really hard to shop powerscrolls and such when they are neatly stacked side by side. They all look like the same scroll!
    But thanks for the quick fix it is a lot better then no labels displaying at all :)
    Tighten the screw a little more and it should be back the way it was...
    YOU CAN DO IT BLEAK! :)

    I also use the legacy containers to stock vendors. You pretty much have to if you don't want your vendor to be a messy pile to CC users. But I do prefer the grid view for my bank, backpack, chests in my house, etc.
     
  13. Spiffykeen

    Spiffykeen Seasoned Veteran
    Governor Stratics Veteran Safe Haven

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Messages:
    483
    Likes Received:
    349
    I also use legacy containers in EC, and have been worried about this. I will go check out the fix....
     
  14. Spiffykeen

    Spiffykeen Seasoned Veteran
    Governor Stratics Veteran Safe Haven

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Messages:
    483
    Likes Received:
    349
    Yeah it seems the invisible footprint, so to speak, is much larger than the items, if you mouse away and back though it switches quickly enough. But you can't smoothly mouse over things that might be in a row along the bottom of your pack
     
  15. Stranger

    Stranger Lord of the Dance
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    Messages:
    225
    Likes Received:
    123
    The reason I don't use the legacy containers in the EC full time is because it's not as perfect as the CC.
    In the CC wherever you drop an item is where the item goes.
    In the EC it seems to shift. Or the item ENLARGES as its in your cursor and shrinks when you drop it so you can't tell where its gonna fall.
    That's what caused me to switch to the grid views.
    But I gotta admit I do miss the special charm that actually having the items in the backpack gave.
    The grids are very nice and convenient, but they take away the magical immersion that is/was UO.
    Oh and I still have to use legacy containers when I visit a friends house who uses the CC. I don't wanna mess up their stuff by moving it around with my grid view. Since when you move an item in grid view it shifts the item in the legacy container and shoves all the items on top of each other at the top of the backpack.
    So it is important to have the labels working correctly :)
     
  16. Smoot

    Smoot Grand Poobah
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    6,753
    Likes Received:
    3,543
    i just like legacy containers because its easier to arrange, saves space, rather than having a huge grid of items that have to be scrolled thru.