1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Greetings Guest!!

    In order to combat SPAM on the forums, all users are required to have a minimum of 2 posts before they can submit links in any post or thread.

    Dismiss Notice

EC Window Closing on starting

Discussion in 'UO Resources' started by Madrid, May 22, 2011.

  1. Madrid

    Madrid Slightly Crazed
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    1,260
    Likes Received:
    268
    When I run the EC Client Exec the window starts to appear then closes itself. This just starting happening out of the blue.

    I'm thinking I may have some maleware or virus that's causing trouble.

    Has anyone had this happen where the client starts to load and the window appears then to boot then suddenly closes itself?

    I load EC....menu pops and up patches..then I hit the Play and game window appears to open then quickly closes itself.
     
  2. Madrid

    Madrid Slightly Crazed
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    1,260
    Likes Received:
    268
    I've run EC as Administrator in Windows Vista, downloaded the EC Client again...same thing happens. Client starts then closes itself.

    Windows Firewall turned off. Made sure SA client was unblocked. 2d Client works and I can get in game but I CANNOT play on that client.

    The previous night my computer froze and started running slow and I powered it down without rebooting. So I'm thinking I have some sort of maleware/virus and has caused something to change.

    Any chance that something was changed in the registry that is now preventing EC Client from loading?

    If anyone has any other advice or input I'd appreciate it.

    Otherwise I'm going to have to wipe my harddrive or get a new one.:cursing:
     
  3. Gilmour

    Gilmour Certifiable
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2003
    Messages:
    1,841
    Likes Received:
    274
  4. Madrid

    Madrid Slightly Crazed
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    1,260
    Likes Received:
    268
    Thanks for responding Gilmour.:thumbup:

    I've been playing the EC Client on this computer for about a year and a half now on Windows Vista. Yesterday I was doing fine.

    Then this morning computer was acting sluggish/weird and I powered off without closing down. Took 30 mins to get the computer to reboot back to desktop.

    So I'm wondering if something may have happened to the registry via a virus.

    I downloaded Direct X 11 today and still won't work.

    Should I try 9.0c?
     
  5. Madrid

    Madrid Slightly Crazed
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    1,260
    Likes Received:
    268
    I've installed EC Client on VMWare and tried to run in safe mode and get the following message :

    Could not create hardware renderer. Click OK to try software emulation. Please note this will seriously degrade performance

    Odd weird that I'm the first person have these issues.

    I'm not sure what that message means.

    Unless someone has an idea where or why I'm having trouble only thing I can see to do is to wipe my harddrive and re-install everything.
     
  6. Storm

    Storm UO Forum Moderator
    Moderator Professional Premium Wiki Moderator Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2004
    Messages:
    7,469
    Likes Received:
    361
    I have not seen or heard of this issue! have you run a virus scan?
     
  7. Madrid

    Madrid Slightly Crazed
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    1,260
    Likes Received:
    268
    I've done just about everything I can think of.

    Virus scan and Malware (AVG/CCLeaner/Maleware byes). Tried in safe mode and VM. Updated Video Drivers and Direct X.

    Re-installed EC Client.

    What was interesting was that trying to run the client in VM gave me the same error as safe mode.

    When I just try and open from desktop and hit play the window closes itself with no warning.

    I'm no expert but it's probably something simple.

    Hopefully this doesn't happen to anyone else cause it's a real bummer. I can't play in the godawful 2D Client!:sad2:
     
  8. Madrid

    Madrid Slightly Crazed
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    1,260
    Likes Received:
    268
    Just in case anyone else happens to read this thread...

    I ended up formating my hard drive, reinstalling Windows Vista and installing EC Client and now everything is back to normal.

    Thank god for external hard drives to store your data.:thumbup1:
     
  9. bellamae

    bellamae Visitor

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    7
    only problem I just started getting is when im in game about 30 min of play my screen shuts down and it says no signal....I get it from none of the other games i play online...
     
  10. RawHeadRex

    RawHeadRex Slightly Crazed
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,324
    Likes Received:
    12
    after thirty minutes it sounds like heat is building up in the gpu... is the video card fan spinning or is there any dust in the gpu heatsink ?
     
  11. bellamae

    bellamae Visitor

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    7
    No i checked that....I can play WWII onlinr for 7 hours and nothing happenes all started after last patch...just my luck