1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Greetings Guest!!

    In order to combat SPAM on the forums, all users are required to have a minimum of 2 posts before they can submit links in any post or thread.

    Dismiss Notice

Email already in use.

Discussion in 'UHall' started by Ludes, Oct 18, 2013.

  1. Ludes

    Ludes Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2004
    Messages:
    2,382
    Likes Received:
    648
    We were trying to set up a trial account for one of my boys and at the registration screen we filled in all the info and got an error message back saying "Email already in use."

    So we went to Yahoo and made him a brand new email on Yahoo and went back..

    We got the same error message "Email already in use."
    We thought.. "Maybe the email address is still too new." Waited a day.
    Went back, no luck...
    Contacted Support via email.. explained everything very carefully in email. After 4 days received an email back outlining how to retrieve a forgotten password.

    I'm extremely hard to frustrate but I'm getting there.

    Anyone know anything about this?
     
    startle and Lord Frodo like this.
  2. The Zog historian

    The Zog historian Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,165
    Likes Received:
    870
    Very strange indeed. Try clearing your browser cache and cookies. Sometimes I have to do that with the Origin store, because it seems to retain old information (if I mistype a CVV then no further entries will take), and the same programmers are probably behind the account management system too.
     
  3. Black Majick

    Black Majick Certifiable
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2004
    Messages:
    1,701
    Likes Received:
    91
    Could someone who possibly had an EA account at one point have used that email. Yahoo recently cleared out ALL inactive e-mail accounts to free up the names. Quite possibly if you just created it, this could be the issue.
     
  4. cdavbar

    cdavbar Lore Master
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,058
    Likes Received:
    276
    Black Majick said the same thing I was thinking. Yahoo did a ton or re-sets on email accounts. Microsoft also had some in the works to be re-set, not sure if they did any of those yet or not.
     
  5. Ludes

    Ludes Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2004
    Messages:
    2,382
    Likes Received:
    648
    Thanks for the help guys.. not sure what it was but we made yet another new Yahoo email account and third time was a charm we got it to work.