1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Greetings Guest!!

    In order to combat SPAM on the forums, all users are required to have a minimum of 2 posts before they can submit links in any post or thread.

    Dismiss Notice

Enter - Speaking option to CC ?

Discussion in 'UHall' started by Splup, Jan 19, 2010.

  1. Splup

    Splup Guest

    Heya,

    If it already exists, someone please point this out cause I havent found it.

    I play mainly mages, and I have tons of macros. I have a lot of macros ctrl+button and alt+button etc. Would be nice to leave that ctrl or alt from some macros, but I don't like having all that text running at bottom of my screen.

    Would it be possible to get option for Enter talking (first push enter and then type) to Classic Client?
     
  2. Tazar

    Tazar Guest

    Anything's possible...

    Even though I use the Enhanced client, I also use the Logitech G13 gamepad for the mage-macro's. Having an extra 25 macro keys is great.
     
  3. Mapper

    Mapper Crazed Zealot
    Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2005
    Messages:
    3,528
    Likes Received:
    110
    I've bolded option incase people think you want it to be the only default option.. I think its a great idea. :)
     
  4. MalagAste

    MalagAste Belaern d'Zhaunil
    Reporter Professional Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend Campaign Supporter Royal Knight

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2000
    Messages:
    18,978
    Likes Received:
    5,465
    Oh gods no!.....

    First off I hate that in the EC... secondly they already screwed up talking in so many ways... and I hate when they make changes to default settings.

    And if they do add this option.... it should be LONG After they finally fix the stinking default color of the emote to something that can be viewed in the journal!!!!
     
  5. Mapper

    Mapper Crazed Zealot
    Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2005
    Messages:
    3,528
    Likes Received:
    110
    ?? Not sure the original poster said anything about this, They want it as an OPTION. Bloody hell... *sighs*
     
  6. Konge

    Konge Lore Master
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2006
    Messages:
    1,045
    Likes Received:
    2
    They wont do it, it was a question on ask the devs regarding why they wont add anything to the CC and the reason they gave was....

    "The Classic Client is... well its old. And very difficult to add new features to. The Enhanced Client is designed in such a way that it is very simple for us to make minor modifications and improvements.

    We definitely haven't abandoned the Classic Client. We will still put every effort in to add these new features to both clients, but sometimes the amount of time it would take to implement them in the Classic Client just isn't worth it."

    That's from Supreem
     
  7. Tanivar

    Tanivar Crazed Zealot
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    May 28, 2003
    Messages:
    3,599
    Likes Received:
    1,470
    The devs do realize that many of us prefer a good Player Interface with clean graphics over a poor player interface with junk 3D graphics?

    If you want 2D players to change to the 3D client then fix the everloving graphics! I really don't care if the 3D client is easier to make changes to. It's graphics are very bad.

    You devs want a good suggestion? make a third client by combining the Classic Clients clean graphics to the Enhanced Clients player interface and make an excellent Player Interface you will be able to run for the rest of UO's life.

    Dang, at least go back to the KR graphics. :twak:
     
  8. Damien Softstep

    Damien Softstep Visitor

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,048
    Likes Received:
    0
    Stick with 2D and clean it up if i wanted good graphics i would play WoW...i mean in all honesty i dont play this game for graphics i play it because i like the gameplay...once 2D is gone ill quit like many others...
     
  9. Thav12

    Thav12 Seasoned Veteran
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Messages:
    416
    Likes Received:
    26

    Have you even tried the EC lately? it is fantastic, once you get the hang of it. Graphics are fine. Believe me, they don't make your eyes bleed, that only happens in the movies.

    Earth is really upside down when people start fricking requesting EC functions to appear in a ridiculously outdated old client. Play the new one, that was why it was developed. remake your macros and hey, it works even better!!!!
     
  10. Thav12

    Thav12 Seasoned Veteran
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Messages:
    416
    Likes Received:
    26
    See a 12 year old veteran playing a mage can do it! Play the EC, drop the old, embrace the new. You may not believe me, since I have only played for 10 years, but surely believe this true veteran!

    Tazar, I hope your eyes aren't bleeding? Mine aren't either!

    Play the EC, Play the EC !

    ("my computer can't run it" ---> go buy a 350-400 dollar new PC at wall mart and whooptedidoo: It RUNS!!! and that is only 10 crimi's and 20 imbued weapons in UO terms to those that whine that they can't afford it)
     
  11. Dermott of LS

    Dermott of LS UOEC Modder
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    5,320
    Likes Received:
    528
    ...

    If you want 2D players to change to the 3D client then fix the everloving graphics! I really don't care if the 3D client is easier to make changes to. It's graphics are very bad.


    You DO know that the EC graphics are overwhelmingly Legacy/2d graphics... right?

    As for hating "Enter to talk", it takes a little getting used to, but having the ENTIRE keyboard at your disposal for keybinding (and not having to spam spells while talking or spam the screen with aaabbbaatttwwwnnnaaa,,,,sdss after casting spells) is simply worth the few minutes it takes to get used to it.
     
  12. Ezekiel Zane

    Ezekiel Zane Grand Inquisitor
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2003
    Messages:
    4,556
    Likes Received:
    113
    It took me a short while to get used to using 'enter' to talk also. Not long though and I even would like it in the CC. I love having the entire keyboard for keybindings.

    Unfortunately I have to agree about the graphics. I don't care that 90% of it is legacy art or whatever. Then why doesn't it look the same? My houses look awful. Deco, storage crates, everything is not as crisp as in 2d. The land looks better in 2d also. Don't even begin to try and say mounted movement isn't disgustingly laughable. It's downright goofy looking.

    I'm playing the EC more and more. The functionality of it is simply beginning to outweigh the bad graphics for me. I've finally begun to get used to the grid view of backpacks and containers. The only thing I dislike is logging into 2d and everything is in a jumbled pile now even though I try to spread stuff out even placing hot bar stuff far down at the bottom of the grid.

    I have a Sapphire Radeon 4870 2gig and a 20' Viewsonic CRT screen. There's nothing I can't display. 2d looks better period.
     
  13. Dermott of LS

    Dermott of LS UOEC Modder
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    5,320
    Likes Received:
    528
    ...

    Don't get me wrong, I have my complaints about the EC graphics as well. They were simply downgraded too far. I hope they get SOMETHING done for them because it really is a shame how badly they were downgraded IMO.
     
  14. Treacy

    Treacy Guest

    I have to agree on the graphics. It's not just fuzzy vs crisp, some things don't even show up the same color. I have an arcane circle that is a pretty pale blue in my house in the CC and matches everything else in the room. In the EC it is maroon and really looks silly. Why?:confused:
     
  15. Warsong of LS

    Warsong of LS Seasoned Veteran
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 24, 2008
    Messages:
    337
    Likes Received:
    14
    you know what really chaffs me with this quote from supreem? Gee we get a brand new insurance gump in the 2D client, I have tried it, it is there. So...I do not want to hear about how difficult it is, if it is that important they will put it in. If they just want to force players into the enhanced client just come out and say so. Yes I have played the enhanced client and I do not know what exactly it is about it, but I can not play long than 45 minutes without getting a headache. I can play for hours on end in the classic. No other new game does this to me.
     
  16. Dolphoenix

    Dolphoenix Guest

    What really chaffs me is people getting pissed about things they know nothing about!
     
  17. Basara

    Basara UO Forum Moderator
    Moderator Professional Governor Wiki Moderator Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend Campaign Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2003
    Messages:
    8,491
    Likes Received:
    601
    I'm just glad they listened to my suggestion from Columbus 2007 Town Hall, and moved the default keys for the EC client from KR's "1234567890-=" to F1-F12.

    I'm adult ADD, and have trouble remembering what TWELVE macros are, let alone scattering stuff willy-nilly in the typing area, where it interfered (spells/actions tied to the numbers even triggered when push to talk was turned off).

    When I use EC, I keep all my spells on bars to click on, not keybound. I prefer not accidentally attacking pets and friends.

    And is there a way to bring up all the corpse names in EC, or switch from one corpse, to opening the next one below it (like last object does in CC)? I can't seem to find any, and these obstructions to easy looting (when you actually can loot much easier IF you can find the corpse) keeps me from playing EC client more.
     
  18. Splup

    Splup Guest

    When I get target queue, range check, way to record my mounting macro without the new targeting system, undressing to secure container and dressing from secure container, macro for using trapbox - I will change EC.

    I could maybe do without queue and range check but the rest atleast are a must.

    I have nothing against EC, but it just doesnt fulfil my needs in PvP yet.
     
  19. Fink

    Fink Guest

    You can either do it with object handles (filtered to "corpse") and click away the handles as they're used, or just make a macro that opens the nearest object(s). My macro opens 5 corpses, generally enough, and I have another for backup that opens the nearest 20 in case I miss any. There's a macro guide on the EC forum.


    *edit*


    Regarding Enter-to-talk, perhaps Tugsoft could come up with something like that for UO:Assist. The macro key definitions in UO:A can be set to either block or pass on those keystrokes to the client, so I gather the facility is there. Maybe UO:A could have a toggle activated by the Enter key to prohibit macros from manifesting as chat or vice versa.
     
  20. Ezekiel Zane

    Ezekiel Zane Grand Inquisitor
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2003
    Messages:
    4,556
    Likes Received:
    113
    Cool, thx Fink. I've been having the same problem with corpses as Basara. I'll give those options a try.
     
  21. Basara

    Basara UO Forum Moderator
    Moderator Professional Governor Wiki Moderator Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend Campaign Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2003
    Messages:
    8,491
    Likes Received:
    601
    Tried both of those - both were completely non-functional. I set it to corpses and NO handles appeared in an area with nearly 50 corpses.

    How does one even bring up object handles in SA, in case I'm doing it wrong?
     
  22. Ezekiel Zane

    Ezekiel Zane Grand Inquisitor
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2003
    Messages:
    4,556
    Likes Received:
    113
    Left-cntrl, then left-shift. If you hit them both at the same time it doesn't work.
     
  23. Ezekiel Zane

    Ezekiel Zane Grand Inquisitor
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2003
    Messages:
    4,556
    Likes Received:
    113
    Wow! That macro worked right the first try.

    I made a macro 'Target nearest object' + 'Use Targeted Object' and it opened the corpse I was standing by instantly. I'll add repeat to it. Cool.
     
  24. Splup

    Splup Guest

    Ok, I'm having a character with 3 different sets of spells and man it's frustrating trying to fit the macros properly without having to fire up spells while typing... Please give us the option on CC for enter to type.

    So that made me want to bumb this thread once...