1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Greetings Guest!!

    In order to combat SPAM on the forums, all users are required to have a minimum of 2 posts before they can submit links in any post or thread.

    Dismiss Notice

(OT) Europa hardware moved

Discussion in 'UO Europa' started by R Traveler, Mar 1, 2011.

  1. R Traveler

    R Traveler Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2005
    Messages:
    2,950
    Likes Received:
    231
    Europa does not have europa.owo.com address anymore. Its now 213.71.25.83 (as for today).

    I can't ping it to test how it good or bad compared to old europa.owo.com (159.153.156.138)

    To anyone who wonder, I got this address running "netstat -an" without and with running UO client.
     
  2. R Traveler

    R Traveler Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2005
    Messages:
    2,950
    Likes Received:
    231
    Oops, its now 213.71.25.81
     
  3. R Traveler

    R Traveler Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2005
    Messages:
    2,950
    Likes Received:
    231
    Old address:
    Pinging central-eu1.owo.com [159.153.156.138] with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 159.153.156.138: bytes=32 time=80ms TTL=50
    Reply from 159.153.156.138: bytes=32 time=80ms TTL=50
    Reply from 159.153.156.138: bytes=32 time=79ms TTL=50
    Reply from 159.153.156.138: bytes=32 time=79ms TTL=50

    Ping statistics for 159.153.156.138:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 79ms, Maximum = 80ms, Average = 79ms

    New address (from http://vboards.stratics.com/uhall/236266-complete-list-new-server-ip-addresses.html ):
    Pinging 213.71.25.65 with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 213.71.25.65: bytes=32 time=56ms TTL=52
    Reply from 213.71.25.65: bytes=32 time=57ms TTL=52
    Reply from 213.71.25.65: bytes=32 time=57ms TTL=52
    Reply from 213.71.25.65: bytes=32 time=57ms TTL=52

    Ping statistics for 213.71.25.65:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 56ms, Maximum = 57ms, Average = 56ms

    I got better connection now :thumbsup:
     
  4. Valas

    Valas Guest

    Bah its worse for me :( went from average 24ms to 43ms!
     
  5. SirZ

    SirZ Journeyman
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2008
    Messages:
    283
    Likes Received:
    19
    Thats nice, I have better ping to new servers.
     
  6. Mapper

    Mapper Crazed Zealot
    Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2005
    Messages:
    3,528
    Likes Received:
    110
    Ping to the old at 32ms, New 60ms.. :(
     
  7. Hardy

    Hardy Lore Master
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    Messages:
    1,192
    Likes Received:
    129
    This makes sense, just returned after a little break and I've turned into the dreaded Laaaaaaaaaaag monster.

    with a continual ping im hitting about 40-50ms then jumps to 200ms-300ms for about 5 pings every so often...
     
  8. Risso

    Risso Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    2,581
    Likes Received:
    102
    Was at 74, now 94...
     
  9. SirZ

    SirZ Journeyman
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2008
    Messages:
    283
    Likes Received:
    19
    In the UK? Are you seriously? I don't believe that.

    My old ping in Russia 65, new ping 61.
     
  10. Mapper

    Mapper Crazed Zealot
    Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2005
    Messages:
    3,528
    Likes Received:
    110
    Certain ISPs *cough* BT *cough* Love to cap speeds, I've had weeks of 80-100ms connections from the UK. :(
     
  11. Cailleach

    Cailleach Certifiable
    Stratics Veteran Alumni

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Messages:
    1,842
    Likes Received:
    127

    As long as you don't download a million movies a month or similar silly things, ring em up and insist they turn off the interleaving (sp?) as that can help a lot.

    Also, you may find this useful :)

    BBC News - Ofcom wants to ban misleading broadband speed ads
     
  12. Kiminality

    Kiminality Guest

    I usually run afoul of Virgin's bandwidth limiting any time Steam has a big sale on. Although it only ever seems to cap "speed" (to about 2 Kilobits/s, about 256 Kilobytes/s), without impacting latency.

    Can't speak for other ISP though, who may also deprioritise packets (Virgin apparently always prioritise gaming/voip/video streaming over other traffic, even if the rate is capped).
     
  13. King Frankie

    King Frankie Guest

    Heres mine i dont see any change... you sure they changed ip cus i cant even ping the ones you have posted... Althou i usualy ping around 4 to europa.

    Pinging central-eu1.owo.com [159.153.156.138] with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 159.153.156.138: bytes=32 time=8ms TTL=52
    Reply from 159.153.156.138: bytes=32 time=9ms TTL=52
    Reply from 159.153.156.138: bytes=32 time=8ms TTL=52
    Reply from 159.153.156.138: bytes=32 time=8ms TTL=52

    Ping statistics for 159.153.156.138:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 8ms, Maximum = 9ms, Average = 8ms
     
  14. R Traveler

    R Traveler Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2005
    Messages:
    2,950
    Likes Received:
    231
    You pinging old address, so you don't see change. :D
     
  15. King Frankie

    King Frankie Guest

    Yes i know but new IP i cant even ping as i clearly stated in my post. Read 1st then type...
     
  16. R Traveler

    R Traveler Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2005
    Messages:
    2,950
    Likes Received:
    231
    Even tried this?
     
  17. Winker

    Winker Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    2,302
    Likes Received:
    627


    Aye, Clown! :thumbup:
     
  18. King Frankie

    King Frankie Guest

    yeah i tried that ip somehow it now works lol 30 ping not to bad but far from before :(
     
  19. PJay

    PJay Seasoned Veteran
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 29, 2008
    Messages:
    396
    Likes Received:
    38
    Yup doubled my ping also was at 24ms now around 42ms Brilliant!

    Progress ROCKS!
     
  20. Kiminality

    Kiminality Guest

    Has anyone figured out where the severs were relocated to?
    They used to be in Canary Wharf, London, so such a dramatic change in ping probably put them very elsewhere.
    Like... Dortmund...
    14 34 ms 33 ms 56 ms EA-Mythic.Dortmund.de.ALTER.NET [139.4.234.26]
     
  21. Alaster The Insane

    Alaster The Insane Journeyman
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    24
    Well, i pinged around 20-24ms on old shard, i'm now pinging around 47-52ms.

    Still not bad though, but i surely felt the transition between the two shards...
     
  22. Risso

    Risso Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    2,581
    Likes Received:
    102
    My ping seems to have settled now at around 60ish, has anyone else seen a change for the better?
     
  23. Mapper

    Mapper Crazed Zealot
    Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2005
    Messages:
    3,528
    Likes Received:
    110
    I'm at about 80 today, From 60. So not really no. :(
     
  24. The Scandinavian

    The Scandinavian Certifiable
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    May 31, 2001
    Messages:
    1,865
    Likes Received:
    90
    Oh,

    so this is why I have worse connection now.
    :sad4:


    Regards
    The Scandinavian