1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Greetings Guest!!

    In order to combat SPAM on the forums, all users are required to have a minimum of 2 posts before they can submit links in any post or thread.

    Dismiss Notice

Expansion News Update.

Discussion in 'UO Time of Legends' started by Slayvite, Aug 11, 2015.

  1. Slayvite

    Slayvite Certifiable
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2005
    Messages:
    1,709
    Likes Received:
    350
    So it's been just over a week since the newsletter was sent out and sent everyone into a tizzy I thought was long gone from UO.
    Can we keep this hype going with a little more info being released?

    I know the Masteries are one that has everyone wondering......Teaser time? :popcorn:





    nb, Castles.... :banana:
     
    Spock's Beard and Zuckuss like this.
  2. Spock's Beard

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2014
    Messages:
    670
    Likes Received:
    982
    Yeah like maybe post one of the new spells or something.
     
  3. Larisa

    Larisa Reporting Manager
    Editor Reporter Moderator Professional Wiki Moderator Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend Editor Fallen Lords

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Messages:
    4,347
    Likes Received:
    1,959
  4. Lord Taliesin

    Lord Taliesin Seasoned Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2014
    Messages:
    373
    Likes Received:
    275
  5. Larisa

    Larisa Reporting Manager
    Editor Reporter Moderator Professional Wiki Moderator Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend Editor Fallen Lords

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Messages:
    4,347
    Likes Received:
    1,959
    Yep, looks like possibly they are done testing the currency conversion and now will put it on TC1 for the rest of us to see...which I find both exciting and terrifying....don't want all my golds to disappear lol.
     
    Capt. Lucky likes this.
  6. Gamer_Goblin

    Joined:
    May 27, 2015
    Messages:
    564
    Likes Received:
    403
    More interested in the new skills they mentioned.
     
  7. FrejaSP

    FrejaSP Queen of The Outlaws
    Professional Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend Campaign Patron The DarkOutlaws, TDO

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2001
    Messages:
    17,308
    Likes Received:
    3,281
    What new skills, I believe you did read that part wrong.
    •Skill Mastery System, 16 skills with more than 35 new spells & abilities
    I doubt we get 16 new skills but 16 of the skills we already have, get a Skill Mastery System with 2-3 new spells but I could be wrong.
    16 new skills do not make sense, that's really alot.

    Now I never played a bard but we already have Bard Masteries http://www.uoguide.com/Book_of_Bard_Masteries
     
    #7 FrejaSP, Aug 12, 2015
    Last edited: Aug 12, 2015
    Gamer_Goblin and Lord Gandalf like this.
  8. Lord Gandalf

    Lord Gandalf Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2006
    Messages:
    2,184
    Likes Received:
    722
    IanJames and Kat like this.
  9. Vor

    Vor Grand Inquisitor
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2003
    Messages:
    4,180
    Likes Received:
    875
    I'm very excited for the new expansion. Even though they've just killed my dream of a Greater WW with that meet and greet transcript :(
     
  10. Tanivar

    Tanivar Crazed Zealot
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    May 28, 2003
    Messages:
    3,596
    Likes Received:
    1,468
    Only real bug I've run across is the fire demons slipping down that south cliff of their area and to spot if you follow, you can't get back out. To hear people talk of the massive number of bugs in this game you'd think nothing worked right. Are all these apparent bugs actual bugs or just things that don't go the way people think they should?
     
    Minerva Foxglove and Capt. Lucky like this.
  11. Spock's Beard

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2014
    Messages:
    670
    Likes Received:
    982
    I want to know what the necromancy mastery is. I hope it's something to do with animate dead. I'd love to be able to heal them with a targeted spirit speak or something.
     
  12. Tanivar

    Tanivar Crazed Zealot
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    May 28, 2003
    Messages:
    3,596
    Likes Received:
    1,468
    Now that would get me to buy a couple soulstones. :)
     
  13. MalagAste

    MalagAste Belaern d'Zhaunil
    Reporter Professional Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend Campaign Supporter Royal Knight

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2000
    Messages:
    18,978
    Likes Received:
    5,463
    I used to think that I was only looking forward to a new Taming revamp... Now I don't know. I am kinda afraid of what that would bring and I'm beginning to wonder if it will ever happen.
     
  14. Slayvite

    Slayvite Certifiable
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2005
    Messages:
    1,709
    Likes Received:
    350
    Well we now know the new Tame'ables are Tigers (not the reward type) and Dragon turtle Eggs so far.
     
  15. Gamer_Goblin

    Joined:
    May 27, 2015
    Messages:
    564
    Likes Received:
    403
    EC is full of bugs. The healthbars stop tracking after about 30 minutes of play. A lot of people are disconnected after playing a short while.

    Running is bad in both clients. It's not smooth at all. It's not even as smooth as I remember it being when I was on dialup playing this game.

    In CC, sometimes the statuses you're afflicted with won't roll off until you die. You're no longer affected by them, but they show up on the bar. Tamed pets continue to attack after taming. Some don't respond at all to commands even if you have 100% controls. There are instances on my warrior where I'm in war mode and double clicking health bar templates but my character doesn't want to attack.

    There are a lot of bugs... this is just me thinking for 30 seconds.
     
  16. MalagAste

    MalagAste Belaern d'Zhaunil
    Reporter Professional Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend Campaign Supporter Royal Knight

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2000
    Messages:
    18,978
    Likes Received:
    5,463
    Oh I know there are bugs.... I believe that @Bleak told us that he had some of those bugs like the hotbars fixed for the next publish... I certainly hope he's right. I would love to see a lot more fixes for things like having the client lock up when there are tons of items on a corpse.

    I'd like to see Bleak take on doing an EM event in the EC and having a big end style boss there and see how his rig handles it when all is done and you go to loot the public corpse. Just stick around Bleak after a big end boss dies at an EM event and attempt to open the corpse in the EC. See what happens. Infact come do one with me and try to get bars at an EM event in the Default client.
     
    Parnoc and Spock's Beard like this.
  17. Nyre

    Nyre Adventurer
    K^S

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2014
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    36
    I play the EC Only and I have no issues with Running and with the Healthbars
     
    Storm and Parnoc like this.
  18. Barok

    Barok Grand Inquisitor
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2004
    Messages:
    4,894
    Likes Received:
    330
    I'm hoping they will set up 2 test centers so we can actually test transferring the new gold method between shards.
     
    Lord Frodo and MalagAste like this.
  19. Capt. Lucky

    Capt. Lucky Crazed Zealot

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2014
    Messages:
    3,015
    Likes Received:
    2,518
    Yessssss exactly lol
     
  20. Parnoc

    Parnoc Lore Master
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2004
    Messages:
    1,066
    Likes Received:
    483
    No problem here with healthbars. No disconnect problems. Running is fine and smooth for me and I'm a LONG way from the server. Statuses not rolling off is a gamewide problem, not just the EC. Same with tamed pets attacking. I haven't had any trouble controlling pets. No idea about the clicking and not targetting, never had that.
    Sounds to me like someone needs a big comp tweak job or updating or a new comp or at least a new video card.
     
    Vor likes this.
  21. PlayerSkillFTW

    PlayerSkillFTW Lore Master
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,020
    Likes Received:
    430
    That's likely due to the pet still having a DoT effect on you (such as a Bleed or Poison), or a delayed spellcast such as Explosion, Flamestrike or Fireball hitting you immediately after you succesfully tame it. Why it's a good habit to invis yourself for a few secs after a successful tame.
     
    Parnoc, Lord Frodo and Vor like this.
  22. Gamer_Goblin

    Joined:
    May 27, 2015
    Messages:
    564
    Likes Received:
    403
    It's still a bug.
     
    Spock's Beard likes this.
  23. Lord Frodo

    Lord Frodo Grand Poobah
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    5,845
    Likes Received:
    2,328
    Is it a bug or learning the game mechanics when it comes to taming. This is just something every Tamer deals with and this is the first complaint I have heard about this being a perceived problem. If this really bothers you you can always learn how to honor tame the big nasties.
     
    Parnoc likes this.
  24. Uvtha

    Uvtha Grand Poobah
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 24, 2008
    Messages:
    6,529
    Likes Received:
    2,915
    Not major bugs. Any bug should get fixed, but these kind of bugs shouldn't take priority over content.

    I for one almost never run into bugs. Compared to old bugs these are just not at all serious.
     
    Parnoc and Lord Frodo like this.
  25. Gamer_Goblin

    Joined:
    May 27, 2015
    Messages:
    564
    Likes Received:
    403
    Agreed, but they are there. One I encountered today was standing next to a treasure chest and still being told I cannot pick that up.
     
  26. Petra Fyde

    Petra Fyde Peerless Chatterbox
    Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2001
    Messages:
    30,889
    Likes Received:
    5,175
    Move - something is in the way. This isn't a bug, as such, and is not likely to be fixable. Treasure hunters for years have learned to move around till they find the spot at which their access to the chest is unimpaired.
     
    Parnoc, Cupid, Valura and 2 others like this.
  27. Gamer_Goblin

    Joined:
    May 27, 2015
    Messages:
    564
    Likes Received:
    403
    Look... I GET that there are workarounds. It doesn't mean they aren't bugs.

    When you can loot a chest from a single spot for 10 items and then that spot becomes blocked for no reason. That's a bug.

    I'm not dumb and just standing there trying to pull out the same item without moving. I get it. I know that you can move to fix the treasure chests, I know that I can relog to fix the healthbars in EC, I know that I can invis to get my recently tamed to not kill me, and I know you can move your boat into a place the pirate ships can't keep attacking after everyone on the boat is dead and destroyed.

    It doesn't mean they aren't bugs.
     
    Dot_Warner likes this.
  28. Murdok

    Murdok Slightly Crazed
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2004
    Messages:
    1,403
    Likes Received:
    74
    Chances are you have spawned a monster or a corpse disappeared causing a graphic change... annoying yes bug no
     
    Parnoc likes this.
  29. Gamer_Goblin

    Joined:
    May 27, 2015
    Messages:
    564
    Likes Received:
    403
    Monsters can spawn all day appear and disappear around other containers without issue. I'm sure while they created the chests they thought, it's our intention to make corpses block looting just these treasure chests and not anything else.

    I agree, these are all minor. But I don't agree that the game is bug free. I agree that I'd prefer content as well, but you all are in some denial or are just so used to having to do workarounds that you don't know what it's like to play a game that runs smoothly.

    I LOVE UO though. Don't get me wrong. None of these "Bugs" matter much.
     
    Dot_Warner likes this.
  30. SlobberKnocker

    SlobberKnocker Slightly Crazed

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2012
    Messages:
    1,388
    Likes Received:
    446
    would love for them to do away with the circle on spell weaving. maybe scale it up so you can only get a 6 level if your 120.
     
    Odin of LS likes this.
  31. Yadd of Legends

    Yadd of Legends Certifiable
    Campaign Supporter

    Joined:
    May 18, 2012
    Messages:
    1,875
    Likes Received:
    1,020
    We just had a thread about the EC client closing gumps by itself after you loot one item from a corpse - you can work around it with a use last macro but it shouldn't be happening in the first place. So if it looks like a bug and acts like a bug, is it not a bug? A bug by any other name ...
     
    Dot_Warner and MalagAste like this.
  32. Jirel of Joiry

    Jirel of Joiry Certifiable
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2004
    Messages:
    1,570
    Likes Received:
    504
    I hope they make the dang refinements stack-able! Geeezus I got chests full and they're a pita to try to sort. It'd help a lot if they were stack-able!
     
  33. MalagAste

    MalagAste Belaern d'Zhaunil
    Reporter Professional Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend Campaign Supporter Royal Knight

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2000
    Messages:
    18,978
    Likes Received:
    5,463
    I just throw them away for points. I see little to no use for them their penalties outweigh the uses, there are too many different kinds and actually getting and finding ones you need would probably take you longer than you've played already... I mean how many hide or studded leather ones are about out of the dozens of other possibilities.... too small IMO to really care or consider them a viable resource to gather. By the time you got enough together to refine ONE item... and got it up to the highest possible level it can be before using it well... would take so long you'd forget you were gathering them anyway ..... It hurts less on the brain to just throw them in the trash.

    Now if they had done it reasonably where you just pick up low level washes and combine those into higher ones period no washes for each and every type of armor there is.... just one for low... and you combine it till you get enough.... I would say they might be worth picking up.... but since they overcomplicated it.... (Rather reminds me of thinking that my Brother and his logic had something to do with this as any game we played eventually became so overly complicated and annoying with all the what ifs and added rules that eventually we'd just not want to play it anymore) I just never gave a hoot about them.

    Still don't.
     
  34. Gamer_Goblin

    Joined:
    May 27, 2015
    Messages:
    564
    Likes Received:
    403
    Encountered another bug that doesn't exist. I marked a rune inside my house for all my characters and they all have a runebook for favorite places like our house. Our house run is always the default location. On one of my characters I can recall by targeting the runebook all day and always get location blocked the first time, but have it work the second time. Consistently over and over. If I open the book and use the rune it always works.

    When I show up at my house, there's nothing around for miles.
     
  35. FrejaSP

    FrejaSP Queen of The Outlaws
    Professional Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend Campaign Patron The DarkOutlaws, TDO

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2001
    Messages:
    17,308
    Likes Received:
    3,281
    Have you tryed to remark the rune?
     
  36. Gamer_Goblin

    Joined:
    May 27, 2015
    Messages:
    564
    Likes Received:
    403
    Of course and I've tried to remove all runes from the book and put them back in. It works, for the day. But should I HAVE to? That's what you guys aren't getting I don't think. Of course there are workarounds... but should we HAVE to?
     
  37. Tanivar

    Tanivar Crazed Zealot
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    May 28, 2003
    Messages:
    3,596
    Likes Received:
    1,468
    Any of my characters who try to Recall (prodo) or Gate (Siege) from my ship to the house with a pet have their runes stop working, I have to set a rune a couple inches from the house for them. Remaking the rune, fixes the problem until the next trip ship to house with a pet. Runes in a container, in a runebook as default, or used by opening the book all go bad.

    Nothing is there blocking the rune location, I've had my second account character on the steps watching the spot.