1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Greetings Guest!!

    In order to combat SPAM on the forums, all users are required to have a minimum of 2 posts before they can submit links in any post or thread.

    Dismiss Notice

fert strikes again

Discussion in 'UO Resources' started by Mr X, Aug 20, 2009.

  1. Mr X

    Mr X Guest

    The last few days I have been playing red light green light with my connection. tracert confirms it is fert08-eqx-iad.ea.com giving me the trouble. My ping is <40 until there and I am getting packet loss too. Anything I can do or wait until EA gets off their asses and fixes this?
     
  2. kelmo

    kelmo Old and in the way
    Professional Stratics Veteran Alumni Dread Lord

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    17,386
    Likes Received:
    4,709
  3. Mr X

    Mr X Guest

    I wasted enough time posting my problems on stratics just to be ignored. This might as well be in spiels and rants. This is the same problem people have had in the past and I am sure will have in the future.
     
  4. kelmo

    kelmo Old and in the way
    Professional Stratics Veteran Alumni Dread Lord

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    17,386
    Likes Received:
    4,709
    Mr X there is not much we at Stratics can do about ping. Just saying...
     
  5. Mr X

    Mr X Guest

    I know, but I guess it is not hampering enough people for anyone to make a big stink about it. Not enough people left I guess.
     
  6. IanJames

    IanJames Certifiable
    Stratics Veteran Alumni

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,770
    Likes Received:
    103
    So you are saying you have not submitted feedback to UO?

    How can they fix a problem if they don't know about it?
     
  7. Mr X

    Mr X Guest

    Do they fix problems when they do know about it?
     
  8. IanJames

    IanJames Certifiable
    Stratics Veteran Alumni

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,770
    Likes Received:
    103
    That's beside the point. If you dont' report the problem you can know it won't get fixed.

    And you still didn't answer the question.
     
  9. Mr X

    Mr X Guest

    Yes I reported it, and it has gotten worse, they must three of their best men on it.
     
  10. Skylark SP

    Skylark SP Available Storage: 0
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2004
    Messages:
    10,746
    Likes Received:
    8
    Mr. X...it would really help if you posted copies of your traces (just delete the first couple of hops for privacy). It is often hard to pinpoint exactly where a problem is on a route, even if there is a large response time or timeout consistently showing on one particular node. Also, routes sometimes change, and I have seen some horrible route changes on my own gaming connection (i.e. from 10 hops to nearly 30!) which thankfully didn't last long, but oh the pain while my connection to the game was traversing that route.

    Have you done a continuous ping (ping siege.owo.com -t) to both the ea server and the possible faulty node (I think you will need to use the fert router IP address to do this: 159.153.224.234). Let each test run for at least 10 minutes, and then check the averages, and more importantly, the packet loss %.

    EA/Mythic tech support is going to ask you for these things anyway, most likely.

    I know connection issues are incredibly frustrating, we are trying to help each other here...don't be a Mr. Crankypants. ;)

    -Skylark
     
  11. Mr X

    Mr X Guest

    3 8 ms 14 ms 12 ms te-2-2-ur08.elmhurst.il.chicago.comcast.net [68.86.115.213]
    4 10 ms 9 ms 9 ms te-0-12-0-0-ar01.area4.il.chicago.comcast.net [68.87.231.61]
    5 10 ms 11 ms 9 ms pos-1-13-0-0-cr01.chicago.il.ibone.comcast.net [68.86.90.49]
    6 22 ms 11 ms 11 ms xe-9-2-0.edge1.Chicago2.Level3.net [4.71.248.25]

    7 10 ms 9 ms 9 ms vlan52.ebr2.Chicago2.Level3.net [4.69.138.190]
    8 38 ms 40 ms 40 ms ae-2-2.ebr2.Washington1.Level3.net [4.69.132.70]

    9 43 ms 38 ms 50 ms ae-82-82.csw3.Washington1.Level3.net [4.69.134.1
    54]
    10 * * 39 ms ae-33-89.car3.Washington1.Level3.net [4.68.17.13
    3]
    11 40 ms 40 ms 40 ms ELECTRONIC.car3.Washington1.Level3.net [4.79.169
    .74]
    12 74 ms 74 ms 78 ms fert08-eqx-iad.ea.com [159.153.224.238]
    13 79 ms 82 ms 77 ms 159.153.233.47

    Trace complete.

    That is my traceroute. Minus the first two stops of course. As you can see my ping is excellent until fert. And my ping there is anywhere from 65-300ms with packet loss. My packet loss after my continuous ping was 5%. I did another continuous ping and it was 4%.

    Now mind you I only get this if I try to connect to east coast servers. If I go west coast there is no fert hop.
     
  12. Skylark SP

    Skylark SP Available Storage: 0
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2004
    Messages:
    10,746
    Likes Received:
    8
    That amount of packet loss will definitely kill the connection for a game.

    It appears that fert08-eqx-iad.ea.com is a cluster, and is used for both Siege, and Lake Superior.

    When I trace to Siege from my location, I get fert08-eqx-iad.ea.com with the IP address 159.153.224.234 as the next to last hop, and I get 0% packet loss over about 100 pings, and the average latency is 74ms. When I ping the IP address in your trace (159.153.224.238) directly, I also get 0% packet loss and 78ms average latency.

    I get these routers as the next to last hop for UO east coast servers:

    fert08-eqx.iad.ea.com
    siege [159.153.224.234]
    lake superior [159.153.224.234]

    fert07-eqx-iad.ea.com
    catskills [159.153.224.226]
    chesapeake [159.153.224.226]
    atlantic [159.153.224.226]
    great lakes [159.153.224.226]
    legends [159.153.224.226]

    I don't get any packet loss or high latency on pings to any of these from my location. If there was an actual problem with their fert08-eqx.iad.ea.com routers in the next to last hop I would expect a lot of people to have problems connecting to Siege and Lake Superior in general (that has happened before), but that doesn't appear to be the case.

    I see ComCast servers early in your traces. Is ComCast your ISP?

    -Skylark
     
  13. Mr X

    Mr X Guest

    Ya comcast is my isp. There is a thread in uhall about this too. So I am not the only one.
     
  14. Funny thing is, I am usually the first one hit by these lag spikes, and I think I've hit two in the past few months. I always have a big ping, but no lag to speak of.
     
  15. Harlequin

    Harlequin Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
    Messages:
    2,716
    Likes Received:
    32
    Your issue probably isn't fert, it's likely hop 10 (or the interface before it) -

    10 * * 39 ms ae-33-89.car3.Washington1.Level3.net [4.68.17.133]

    Notice that dropped first 2 packets?



    From your red light/green light description, I'm guessing it's not an overall slow down (40ms and 70 ms is normally barely distinguishable), but rather, you are frozen on the spot for a while, then move 2 tiles, then freeze again.

    That's signs of packet loss and very frustrating.

    Unfortunately, you are angry with the wrong folks. That hop isn't under EA's ISP. Send your tracert to your ISP, point out the packet loss at ae-33-89.car3.Washington1.Level3.net and tell them to sort it out with their routing partner Level 3 Communications, Inc.

    And keep calling them every day to bug them until it's solved :D
     
  16. Basara

    Basara UO Forum Moderator
    Moderator Professional Governor Wiki Moderator Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend Campaign Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2003
    Messages:
    8,492
    Likes Received:
    601
    Level 3 in Washington is a long-known-about issue, and one Stratics regular constantly Ranted about EA's problems when 80% of his traceroutes showed issues in the Level 3 hops right before EA (and we kept pointing them out).
     
  17. Mr X

    Mr X Guest

    Well I also pinged fert and got high ping and packet loss. It was not level3 all by its lonesome.
     
  18. Harlequin

    Harlequin Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
    Messages:
    2,716
    Likes Received:
    32
    Just to explain this better, for internet traffic, each hop will affect the traffic going to the subsequent hops.

    It's like a relay race. If the 3rd person drops the baton, the final runner will never recieve the baton. That's what packet loss is like.

    Similarly, if the 2nd runner is the one with butter fingers and drops the baton, it will never reach the 3rd and 4th runners.

    To identify where the problem is, you go after the runner that first dropped the baton. He's the one ruining the show for everyone else.

    Hopes that makes more sense.



    So in your case, the earliest time we notice the problem is at hop 10 (do a few more tracert and see if you can spot packet drops even earlier). Remember, this will affect delivery to every subsequent hops all the way to fert.

    Also, note that alot of routers are configured to treat ICMP (the type of traffic from ping and tracert) packets as low priority traffic, esp those directed at itself. Meaning if the router is busy, ICMP packets pinging it's health will be dropped first (it just won't give a reply). Those that it's supposed to route to the next hop, it will still try to route normally.

    Hence, sometimes you see 1 router dropping packets in a tracert, while the subsequent routers still seems to be able to respond to your ICMPs normally. However, this is only provided that overtaxed/misconfigured/faulty router can actually route that ICMP packet along. If many larger packets comes along and the router gets overloaded, it'll simply drop them too.

    Of course, most of the time, this effect actually adds to the usefulness of using ICMP packets to determine the health of your network.