1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Greetings Guest!!

    In order to combat SPAM on the forums, all users are required to have a minimum of 2 posts before they can submit links in any post or thread.

    Dismiss Notice

Fix the Connectivity or Shut Down UO

Discussion in 'UHall' started by Theo_GL, Nov 1, 2009.

  1. Theo_GL

    Theo_GL Grand Poobah
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2003
    Messages:
    6,414
    Likes Received:
    686
    I am downloading another MMORPG because UO is virtually unplayable with the current lag again tonight.

    I actually ping faster to all Western Shards (Baja/Pacific/Napa etc - 100 each or so) and even Europa and Drachs than I do to great lakes (219). I live in CHICAGO. I have a cable internet connection with a current speed test showing 13mbs download and 3.5mbs upload.

    I should be flying around in the game yet I take....one.....step......at.....a.....time.

    If you cannot fix the connectivity to your games you are going to lose subscribers. I do not pay $$ to simply sit around my house and sort bods because my connection to your servers is so bad I can't leave my house for fear of death.


    Who know - maybe blessing in disguise - maybe this game I'm D/L will be better than UO and I can just move on. I'm tired of dealing with a game that is being managed on a $.50 budget.

    Fix it or give it up.
     
  2. shanshu

    shanshu Seasoned Veteran
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2008
    Messages:
    304
    Likes Received:
    1
    I have no trouble. Are you sure it's not your system?
     
  3. Theo_GL

    Theo_GL Grand Poobah
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2003
    Messages:
    6,414
    Likes Received:
    686
    Two completely different systems. Same problem on both.

    When you say you have no problem - are you saying to Great Lakes?

    I am currently on Sonoma and its 3x faster than GL and it is 2,000 miles away from me.

    Whatever the reason -they ought to fix it. Have Amazon cloud host the shards or something.

    It is unplayable. What would my system have to do with ping to the shards anyways? That is network connectivity.
     
  4. falseprophet

    falseprophet Lore Master
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2004
    Messages:
    1,142
    Likes Received:
    12
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]


    [​IMG]

    i'm on the east coast by the way. also i am in no way complaining simply showing that somethings wrong.
     
  5. Widow Maker

    Widow Maker Slightly Crazed
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,391
    Likes Received:
    42
    I am sorry that you have no concept on how the internet actually works.

    I will not call you a dullard because, at this time, people are not born with the knowledge, although most any online game player has a smattering of the common knowledge of basic Internet concepts. Automatically blathering off that it is the UO servers is more than slightly premature...and immature. Chill the **** out and try to be more intelligent than the average one cell organism. It may very well be a Mythic issue...or it may not be. Discovery is the call of the day when these issues present themselves.

    I will ask just three questions;

    Have you run a trace route to any of the eastern servers.

    Do you then know how to read and interpret those readings?

    Can you post your trace route information so those of who do know can then help interpret them for you?

    Let's start there.
     
  6. Flutter

    Flutter Always Present
    Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    May 12, 2004
    Messages:
    21,553
    Likes Received:
    3,840
  7. Theo_GL

    Theo_GL Grand Poobah
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2003
    Messages:
    6,414
    Likes Received:
    686
    Nice. I'll run circles around your PC knowledge anyday. I work for a major software company and have complete understanding how the internet works.

    The traceroutes normally break down closer to the UO servers and not near my IP address.

    Even if the problem is out of EA's control - WHERE and HOW they host the servers is an option they have. Whatever data center they are using has issues. If not their own, then on the closest network hops.

    I am currently playing a more graphic intensive (and 100 times prettier) MMORPG and have NO connectivity issues.

    It is funny seeing another game and how beautiful it is compared to UO. It is commical.
     
  8. Zyron

    Zyron Guest

    must be ur internet i run 54 mbps. soo....

    its you, i have no problem, dont cry to EA cuz u have crappy internet
     
  9. Theo_GL

    Theo_GL Grand Poobah
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2003
    Messages:
    6,414
    Likes Received:
    686
    That is the dumbest thing I've heard all day.

    13 mbps is PLENTY to run a game that is passing a low bandwitdh amount of position indicators.

    It has nothing to do with bandwidth period. In the past I've had 20-30 ping to GL and right now it is over 200. I am showing 100 to WEST COAST servers. I'm faster on Sonoma than on a server that is in my same timezone. What does that have to do with speed?

    Am I supposed to be impressed by your connection? Only if I was streaming a TV channel from my house.
     
  10. Widow Maker

    Widow Maker Slightly Crazed
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,391
    Likes Received:
    42
    "The traceroutes normally break down closer to the UO servers and not near my IP address."

    Nice circle...LOL...not. Don't pat yourself on the back to much. Since you claim the knowledge, now I will refer to you as a dullard. :gee:

    How about you post that trace route and let the people who actually do know something give you some guidance. :thumbup:

    You may be amazed that asking for directions when you are lost, can get you to where you need to go
     
  11. Theo_GL

    Theo_GL Grand Poobah
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2003
    Messages:
    6,414
    Likes Received:
    686
    I am seeing exactly the same thing. Servers across the country faster than ones closer to me.

    This has been a trend lately.
     
  12. Viper09

    Viper09 Grand Poobah
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    6,680
    Likes Received:
    824
    Post your trace route here and in the tech forum. Perhaps there is someone here who can help you.
     
  13. Widow Maker

    Widow Maker Slightly Crazed
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,391
    Likes Received:
    42
    You seem to have an issue with listening to people who can assist you....


    POST THE TRACE ROUTE...


    And have a very nice day. :)
     
  14. Theo_GL

    Theo_GL Grand Poobah
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2003
    Messages:
    6,414
    Likes Received:
    686
    The problem is the same place as the problem has always been which is the fert server. Likely an EA server named for Fertbert which was one of the old UO devs.

    [​IMG]

    Happy? First three hops hidden to protect my identity. Note that pings are all reasonable (40-50ms or less) until you hit Fert with 200+. Last hop before the Great Lakes server.

    This is a tracert to greatlakes.owo.com.

    Compare this to a trace to Sonoma. Slow ping (70-80) but consistent across all hops.

    [​IMG]


    This is not new news. People have been complaining about the fert server for years. EA ought to step up and host this in a real data center. I'll bet they would be embarassed to tell us what sort of hardware they run for our environment.


    More threads on the same issue reported in the past....
    http://vboards.stratics.com/showthread.php?t=153658

    http://vboards.stratics.com/showthread.php?p=1440438
     
  15. THyRoID99

    THyRoID99 Guest

    The server is actually a vending machine in the lunch room :)
     
  16. Jhym

    Jhym Guest

    *shrug*
    I just ran a traceroute from here in maryland/dc FIOS, it routed through fert07 and 8, but there was a slowdown to 127 ms on that hop for one or more packets. Did the same to chessie, which is in the same group and got the same results, mostly sub 15 ms for each route point.

    It is possible they are having one router with an issue, best course it to send it in through the bug page, WITH THE TRACEROUTE TEXT and they'll look at it.

    I'm sorry you are having issues, but on the other hand it IS the internet and this crap happens. You really have no alternative once it is past your isp's routers, other than to let the end point know there may be an issue.
     
  17. Beleg Megil

    Beleg Megil Guest

    I'm training up a ninja/working my Valor virtue on GL right now at the Lord Oaks Champ Spawn in Ilsh. w/stratics open on dial-up. 28.8 kbps. Not having an issue at all. *shrugs*
     
  18. THyRoID99

    THyRoID99 Guest

    A 28.8 is so slow you wouldn't even notice the lag. Your ping must be crazy high.
     
  19. Beleg Megil

    Beleg Megil Guest

    Heck if I know. I use AOL too.

    I'm pretty sure you could play UO on an abacus with 2 cans and a string.

    I don't win many horse races, though.
     
  20. Theo_GL

    Theo_GL Grand Poobah
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2003
    Messages:
    6,414
    Likes Received:
    686
    Welp, something seems to have sorted itself out. Tracert looks somewhat normal now and pings are in the reasonable range again. East Coast shards now showing up as fastest pings for me and of course - I'm FLYING around GL like normal.

    Thanks to all you armchair Qb's in this thread though that seemed to think it was my machine or my internet bandwith. Still don't have 54 mbps but my pedestrian 13.5 is just fine for UO.
     
  21. Snakeman

    Snakeman UO Forum Moderator
    Moderator Professional Premium Wiki Moderator Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2002
    Messages:
    4,961
    Likes Received:
    165
    One thing I did notice today (Sunday Morning, not been in game this evening) playing Napa (Live on East coast) is Certain area's on napa I slowed to a crawl in speed. I would recall to & go into Teh dungeon & be fine, recall & go into one of 3 graveyards, or to lvl 3 in Deciet & I slowed to a hitch & go movement. Recall out to lets say Luna (crowded), or another dungeon & no lag or hitch & go. So I think it was only certain servers causing my problem, why who knows.
     
  22. T'Challa

    T'Challa Certifiable
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,969
    Likes Received:
    15
    Yup, I just came back and logged back in and all is well...

    This is Fert07, and has been for well over a year now.
     
  23. Pawain

    Pawain Crazed Zealot
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2003
    Messages:
    3,701
    Likes Received:
    143
    I see you went out and bought a new computer just to prove them wrong....
     
  24. Harlequin

    Harlequin Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
    Messages:
    2,716
    Likes Received:
    32
    Can you compare the routes now and the previous one and see if any of the hops changed?

    I don't have an issue, but others did. Resolved itself a month ago, but seemed to have come back.

    Based on the tracerts posted so far, it could be fert or the interface before it.

    But it needs to be troubleshooted by EA and the affected isps (some isps do not seem to be affected).

    First question should be why is it affecting a portion of the players? If they can isolate this, then they should be able to solve it shortly.

    Btw, it's mean to ask for UO to be shutdown just because you are dropping packets. Spare a thought for me, I am connecting just fine, so I don't get to play? >_<

    Ps: re the lag free mmo you were talking about. You would be connecting to UO fine if you happen to play Sonoma instead of GL or the MMO you downloaded...
     
  25. Widow Maker

    Widow Maker Slightly Crazed
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,391
    Likes Received:
    42
    Search ARIN WHOIS for: 159.153.224.238

    OrgName: Electronic Arts, Inc.
    OrgID: ELECTR-60
    Address: 209 Redwood Shores Parkway
    City: Redwood City
    StateProv: CA
    PostalCode: 94065
    Country: US

    NetRange: 159.153.0.0 - 159.153.255.255
    CIDR: 159.153.0.0/16
    NetName: EA
    NetHandle: NET-159-153-0-0-1
    Parent: NET-159-0-0-0-0
    NetType: Direct Assignment
    NameServer: SEDNS.EA.COM
    NameServer: SWDNS.EA.COM
    Comment:
    RegDate: 1992-04-29
    Updated: 2006-07-07

    As we can see, this is now proven to be a Mythic issue. Key word here is proven and not postulated. Now the next task is to get IT at Mythic to take a serious look at that router.

    Good luck with that.
     
  26. Is that what you call a Cuban sitcom?

    :lol:
     
  27. Mitzlplik_SP

    Mitzlplik_SP Guest

    Even though you already got your connection problem resolved,ya still may wanna check this game out. Just released in mid October. Its a pretty fun diversion from UO and it doesn`t cost a dime (unless you want it to).Me and a couple UO friends are playing it,aside from there only being 4 char classes atm,it is very entertaining. Its called Soul of the Ultimate Nation,heres the link.

    http://sun.ijji.com/

    Enjoy! :thumbup:
     
  28. Spree

    Spree Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2004
    Messages:
    2,596
    Likes Received:
    13
    You should be calling Comcrap when i got rid of them all my problems went away.
     
  29. Sarsmi

    Sarsmi Grand Poobah
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2001
    Messages:
    5,789
    Likes Received:
    6
    I still think it was your comp. It's female and was having it's time of the month. :p
     
  30. Kellgory

    Kellgory Certifiable
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,639
    Likes Received:
    1
    could be your ISP. Couple months ago about half of the people in the guild I'm in were having lag problems and all had the same ISP. Those that had different ISPs were just fine. About the only time I've seen a reply from EA/UO reps about the lag was when Atlantic was having horrible lag spikes and they came out and stated that it was a because of something that they had no control over. I think it was with the server/router/switch just before EA's.
     
  31. RaDian FlGith

    RaDian FlGith Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2002
    Messages:
    2,442
    Likes Received:
    323
    Nevermind... see it resolved itself.

    Not sure what it was, but I've been doing fine in the Chicago burbs to Great Lakes. Might not be at the same time of day as you though.
     
  32. That was funny.