1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Greetings Guest!!

    In order to combat SPAM on the forums, all users are required to have a minimum of 2 posts before they can submit links in any post or thread.

    Dismiss Notice

Form bugged constantly...

Discussion in 'UHall' started by Mr X, Dec 8, 2008.

  1. Mr X

    Mr X Guest

    I get form bugged constantly. 120 ninja and do nothing but hide and try and cast animal form and it says you cannot use this ability right now. I have to then wait it out since I have no idea how to clear it. It lasts for like 3 minutes at a time. WTH?! It is ruining my game. They add a cooldown when I wasn't looking? Anyone else having this problem? I never had if before but the last few days constantly.
     
  2. Mr X

    Mr X Guest

    Update.

    I only seem to get bugged when I try and change forms not moving. I thought it was a problem with my macro so I pulled the spell from my book and double clicked it... same result. No form gump popped up and I was bugged. So the only form I can use now is wolf form, wtf?
     
  3. Flutter

    Flutter Always Present
    Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    May 12, 2004
    Messages:
    21,553
    Likes Received:
    3,840
    Are you getting the message that you are too busy to do that?
     
  4. Mr X

    Mr X Guest

    Yes, when I stand still and try and cast animal form I get that message.
     
  5. Divster

    Divster Guest

    have you been using shadow jump? there was a bug this created where you had to close and reopen your paperdoll to use forms or certain other actions which I thought had been fixed but which has been occuring to an extent recently.
     
  6. Mr X

    Mr X Guest

    Ya, I had not been shadow jumping at all, I just logged on. And I cannot clear this with the open/close paperdoll or spellbook or anything else I can think of. Basically my animal form spell while not moving is not working and bugging me.
     
  7. Mr X

    Mr X Guest

    I closed UO and restarted and that cleared it but I have no idea what is causing it.....
     
  8. Flutter

    Flutter Always Present
    Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    May 12, 2004
    Messages:
    21,553
    Likes Received:
    3,840
    Yep.
    No it's not fixed.
    If you try to cast a spell and fail for any reason (not fizzle but fail to like... target) you get hide/form bugged for a few seconds.
    Matter of life or death sometimes :p
    Tends to make things interesting. Hah.
     
  9. Nystul

    Nystul Lore Master
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    1,240
    Likes Received:
    3
    /\ What she said. It's very annoying and is often the death of my archr :x Just submit it to the bug report, email the 'new jeremey' (Can't remember her name) etc. and hope for the best.
     
  10. Traveller

    Traveller Guest

    Guys, I know the problem, and bug report probably won't help, because the problem is with UOAssist. You most likely use ninjitsu skill items, and have recorded the animal form macro into assist.

    When you are ressed, if you try to change into form through macro before requipping the ninja items, the animal form GUMP will have the animals you want to change mapped into different buttons. IF by any chance the macro hits a button the DOES NOT exist with your current ninjitsu level you mess up the client and the only way to have things working again is a restart.

    Only solution is to ALWAYS reequip before going into form. Hope that helps.
     
  11. Tina Small

    Tina Small Stratics Legend
    Stratics Veteran 4H

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    7,532
    Likes Received:
    1,917
    Good answer, Traveller. Would the same thing be happening even if you have reequipped everything but you are in faction skill loss when you go into animal form?
     
  12. Traveller

    Traveller Guest

    Yes. Anytime you have a ninjitsu level different than that you had when you mapped the macro you may run into this problem, so being discorded might be a problem too. And once it happens you mess up the client and often you have to restart the client to use form again. It happens to me often when I am in statloss, in that case the ony surefire way to avoid it is to use the skill "manually". Thank god I usually try to turn into a high-level form (wolf or bake) which means the buttons are assigned to other forms, so I realize my mistake by turning into a different form instead of having to restart the client.
     
  13. Sam the Scribe

    Sam the Scribe Visitor

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2007
    Messages:
    699
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am wondering how many "UO Bugs" are actually UO Assist/3rd party app issues. The first thing any UO Assist user should do if they run into a game problem is disable UO Assist and try running a "pure client."

    It's a simple debugging technique.

    The dev's have enough to do without trying to figure out bugs that aren't bugs at all. When a person posts about a game issue they should list any third party apps they are using.

    And guess what... if you're using any illegal apps (not directing this to anyone in this thread)... you have NO RIGHT TO COMPLAIN ABOUT ANYTHING.

    Ok, that's my third cup of coffee working through my system. Woot!

    Safe Travels, Sam
     
  14. Flutter

    Flutter Always Present
    Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    May 12, 2004
    Messages:
    21,553
    Likes Received:
    3,840
    I get this problem and I don't use ninjitsu items and never have.
     
  15. Divster

    Divster Guest

    same here :( although i'm sure this bug (or a similar bug) used to come into effect after any shadow jump whether succesfull or not whereas only somtimes occurs now. if this is a totally sep bug then srry hehe
     
  16. Traveller

    Traveller Guest

    Other possibilities:
    1) You are in statloss
    2) You are discorded
    3) You raised (or dropped) ninjutsu after recording the macro

    It never happened to me in contexts where my ninjitsu skill was the same I had when I recorded the macros.
     
  17. Traveller

    Traveller Guest

    Just did some tests, with successful and unsuccessful shadowjump. They seem separate issues to me.
     
  18. Flutter

    Flutter Always Present
    Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    May 12, 2004
    Messages:
    21,553
    Likes Received:
    3,840
    No, No, and No.
     
  19. Garrett

    Garrett Guest

    Dunno if it works for anyone else, but when I get that problem it seems to help to close and reopen your paperdoll... if you're using UOA you can set a macro to double click yourself to do that as well. It's a sort of a pain but it's better than waiting for five minutes...
     
  20. Mr X

    Mr X Guest

    For all the suggestions posted why non of them fit me. 120 ninja for years. Have not seen statloss in months. Rarely do I shadowjump, and it has happened within minutes of me logging on and the only skill I used prior was hide. Opening paperdoll or spellbook does not clear it either. I really have no idea what is causing it. Also even when I used the spell gump it would still be buggy. So I really have no idea what it causing it.
     
  21. Traveller

    Traveller Guest

    No need to be so aggressive...

    Got another idea. At a certain point in time, EA changed the gump of animal form. I remember that after that, to have things working properly I had to rerecord my UOA macros. Maybe you didn't rerecord your macros? Anyway, try rerecording them anyway, it might be that some minor changes might have foobarred them.