1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Greetings Guest!!

    In order to combat SPAM on the forums, all users are required to have a minimum of 2 posts before they can submit links in any post or thread.

    Dismiss Notice

Freesing Issues...

Discussion in 'UHall' started by SAVATAGE, Jun 6, 2008.

  1. SAVATAGE

    SAVATAGE Seasoned Veteran
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    Messages:
    407
    Likes Received:
    9
    I seem to be having bad freesing issues.. about every 5 minutes i freese and have to restart UO.... everything else is running fine..
     
  2. Jahira-Tor

    Jahira-Tor Lore Master
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2005
    Messages:
    1,197
    Likes Received:
    2
    What have you got running in the background? ICQ, MSN etc etc?
     
  3. Dermott of LS

    Dermott of LS UOEC Modder
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    5,320
    Likes Received:
    528
    ...

    Not enough detail...

    Client?
    System specs?
    OS?
    Are driver up to date?
    Is the system free of Malware?
    Does the case get good airflow to keep everything cool?
     
  4. SAVATAGE

    SAVATAGE Seasoned Veteran
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    Messages:
    407
    Likes Received:
    9
    Using 2d client
    AMD 64 3200+ overclocked to 2.4 gig
    1 gig ram
    Gforce 3 6800gt video
    all drivers up to date
    I do scans every 2 days and dont use IE ever...
    Case has 6 fans and runs about 40 degrees C with full load...
    All i run when playing UO is UOmap Ventilo uo uoa and icq. No other processes.

    So... I just play UO... about every 5-10 minutes... OR if i cross a major server line... i freese and have to restart UO... nothing else is effected.
     
  5. SAVATAGE

    SAVATAGE Seasoned Veteran
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    Messages:
    407
    Likes Received:
    9
    Just a little update... tring to fix this issue i blew out my wireless drivers..... did a full reinstall...... reinstalled UO........... still everything else works fine but uo freeses.

    Now when i freese i can just let it sit there and it will unfreese for a spit second every 30 seconds to a minute, but if i just shut down UO and restart it it runs fine again for a few minutes.......
     
  6. godski

    godski Guest

    Did you try setting the CPU and RAM to stock settings just to see if the crashing is due to that? You prolly know, but that can cause odd work with some, but not other app problems.

    Also, might try watching your task manager to see if some other program kicks in when this happens.
     
  7. SAVATAGE

    SAVATAGE Seasoned Veteran
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    Messages:
    407
    Likes Received:
    9
    I thought of that... but i been playing UO on this computer at these settings for 3 years now. I actualy have turned it down from where i had it set. WOW would crash all the time. But this is more of a connection issue....

    Thanks for the input thou u ol fisherman u...
     
  8. godski

    godski Guest

    I'm not sure if this is till the FQDN for Napa, but open a command prompt and run: ping -t napavalley.owo.com

    Leave it run a bit without the client and see if you get any time outs. Then let it run with the client and see what happens.

    Do you have another PC you could try on your network to see if it's specific to that one?

    Hmm, Is the network connection from your PC only wireless? If so, have you added any new wireless equipment? I know some wireless phones can interfere with wireless networking if they are on the same frequency or close to it.

    I sure hope it's not your ISP to EA. I've had that happen a couple times over the years and just waited until it cleared up.

    Not sure what else to ask. Hope ya get it worked out. I can't wait to turn in some old fishing loot. I been hoarding that stuff for years lol.
     
  9. SAVATAGE

    SAVATAGE Seasoned Veteran
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    Messages:
    407
    Likes Received:
    9
    Well.... i ran the ping for 15 minutes and no time outs... No new wireless equipment... and i been running this computer off this same wireless for 2 years now with no problem... And i know its not my ISP because while im frose..... i can surf the web, and i can just restart UO and it will run fine again for a few minutes.....
     
  10. SAVATAGE

    SAVATAGE Seasoned Veteran
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    Messages:
    407
    Likes Received:
    9
    As i got done typing the last message i had 1 time out, out of 655 packets sent....
     
  11. SAVATAGE

    SAVATAGE Seasoned Veteran
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    Messages:
    407
    Likes Received:
    9
    aaaaaaaaaand bump
     
  12. Crysta

    Crysta Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran Alumni

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    2,418
    Likes Received:
    73
    does the same thing happen with other memory intensive games? that is.. do you randomly have say.. massive temporary slowdown spikes in newer 3D games as well?

    Ones that otherwise run fine I mean.. obviously not ones that have constant slowdown throughout. :p
     
  13. SAVATAGE

    SAVATAGE Seasoned Veteran
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    Messages:
    407
    Likes Received:
    9
    Nope... other games run just fine :)
     
  14. Crysta

    Crysta Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran Alumni

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    2,418
    Likes Received:
    73
    Dang.. I got no ideas then. Sorry... ^^;