1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Greetings Guest!!

    In order to combat SPAM on the forums, all users are required to have a minimum of 2 posts before they can submit links in any post or thread.

    Dismiss Notice

(FYI)a terrible rumour about a bug on Origin

Discussion in 'UHall' started by athos_uo, Dec 12, 2010.

  1. athos_uo

    athos_uo Seasoned Veteran
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    497
    Likes Received:
    2
    I heard a terrible rumour that items locked down on steps disappeared after publish 69 on Origin.

    I think it should be fixed before pub69 will be rolled over worldwide.
     
  2. Petra Fyde

    Petra Fyde Peerless Chatterbox
    Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2001
    Messages:
    30,889
    Likes Received:
    5,175
    hmm, if this were so I'd have expected some posts on the issue from Origin players by now?

    On the other hand, I locked down a rune on the steps of the house I made on test for people to see the vet rewards and it's not there now.

    worrying.
     
  3. Goodmann

    Goodmann Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2008
    Messages:
    2,890
    Likes Received:
    1,124
    I noticed a few things go missing from peoples steps which i thought nothing about until this post!!!! Took down my two story statues just in case :) So i am pretty sure there is a bug .... Some of those items missing have been on steps for years!
     
  4. WarUltima

    WarUltima Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2004
    Messages:
    2,385
    Likes Received:
    0
    uh-oh... REVERT!!

    I removed 2 windspirit and a ladder from the steps of my keep.:thumbsup:
     
  5. Goodmann

    Goodmann Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2008
    Messages:
    2,890
    Likes Received:
    1,124
    I don't see a two day/3 day revert lol
     
  6. Bobar

    Bobar Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    2,043
    Likes Received:
    577
    If this is true I sure hope they fix it before release. I have no end of stuff locked down on steps and if that goes I may well follow it.
     
  7. Mapper

    Mapper Crazed Zealot
    Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2005
    Messages:
    3,528
    Likes Received:
    110
    EDIT: I've just ran around Luna on Origin and the steps of houses are full of items, I'm wondering if the OP has just custimized their house or something?
     
  8. Petra Fyde

    Petra Fyde Peerless Chatterbox
    Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2001
    Messages:
    30,889
    Likes Received:
    5,175
    The rune on test center is in the house's moving crate. Not lost. I just checked - Thanks Mapper for suggesting I did that.
     
  9. Babble

    Babble Guest

    EA's new version of 'Cleanup Britannia'
     
  10. Petra Fyde

    Petra Fyde Peerless Chatterbox
    Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2001
    Messages:
    30,889
    Likes Received:
    5,175
    It seems probable that customizing a house is throwing anything on the steps into the moving crate.

    This requires further input and clarification before panic ensues.
     
  11. Lady Storm

    Lady Storm Crazed Zealot
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Messages:
    3,750
    Likes Received:
    1,561
    Went and looked at all my houses on Origin an I am happy to report no items on porches are missing. (lot of houses on Origin) Most Neighbors in Luna who have items on steps can rest all are there.
     
  12. athos_uo

    athos_uo Seasoned Veteran
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    497
    Likes Received:
    2
    It was on the house in Abyss that items were lost. It seems that in this case the steps are not recognized as inside the house, and the conditions under which the bug happens are very restrictive.

    I think this report is reliable to a certain extent.

    There are some similar reports that items are lost, but in these cases circumstances are very vague and have little reliability.
     
  13. Petra Fyde

    Petra Fyde Peerless Chatterbox
    Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2001
    Messages:
    30,889
    Likes Received:
    5,175
    :) That narrows down the problem considerably - which makes fixing it somewhat easier I'm guessing.
     
  14. Peil

    Peil Lore Keeper
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 17, 2008
    Messages:
    783
    Likes Received:
    121
    Although I don't know whether it's truth or not cause I don't have a house in Origin,
    between Japanese players, this problem has become the big topic.

    Here is the pic which shows that the step is outside treatment.
    This is contributed to the fan site about uo in Japan.

    I said it only as a suggestion.
     

    Attached Files:

  15. Satana

    Satana Journeyman
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend Campaign Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2003
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    8
    this has also happened to me and i posted about it a week ago in this thread:
    http://vboards.stratics.com/uhall/229230-tc1-house-bug.html

    can't place items on steps, here's a pic:

    [​IMG]

    at the time i thought it had something to do with the classic home designs but since then i have been able to get those homes to give lockdowns on steps at other locations.

    but this location which is near covetous is still buggy and cant lock items down on the steps. weird..
     
  16. Viper09

    Viper09 Grand Poobah
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    6,680
    Likes Received:
    824
    You should be able to lockdown items on your steps regardless of the design. I think
    The issue is that when saying "I wish to lock this down" your character must be standing in the house and not on the steps. Then you should be able to do it. Issue is with where your character is when locking down items, not where the item is.
     
  17. ress me plz

    ress me plz Guest

    WIN
     
  18. Satana

    Satana Journeyman
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend Campaign Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2003
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    8
    nope, tried it standing in the house and i got the message "This object is not in the house I am in."
     
  19. Viper09

    Viper09 Grand Poobah
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    6,680
    Likes Received:
    824
    Well dang. Worked for me. However I do recall there were certain areas on the steps that just didn't work whereas other spots did work.

    Maybe the issue with this "bug" is that some people just aren't paying attention and assuming the item was locked down when in fact they were getting that message saying that the item can't be locked down.
     
  20. ikaikaman

    ikaikaman Guest

    from EAJ-twitter,Devs investigating this problem.so may put off P69.
     
  21. athos_uo

    athos_uo Seasoned Veteran
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    497
    Likes Received:
    2
    There was posted another report. According to the report: they have two houses in Tokuno on Origin. Items on steps were lost, locked down lamppost etc were moved one tile backwards, and locked down tables and chairs, etc, within the house were moved one tile backwards.
     
  22. DevilsOwn

    DevilsOwn Stratics Legend
    Governor Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    8,922
    Likes Received:
    378
    and that's a pretty big 'eeeep!'...... I cannot imagine moving everything in a house forward a tile
     
  23. athos_uo

    athos_uo Seasoned Veteran
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    497
    Likes Received:
    2
    EA Japan tweeted: "[About the problem of steps on Origin]Devs have added the fix for the problem to the latest build, so there should be no problem, when all the production shards will be published with the publish 69."

    And:"Because it was not Abyss specific problem (= therefore the fix for it affects the entire problem ), they (=EA Japan ) think it's OK."