1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Greetings Guest!!

    In order to combat SPAM on the forums, all users are required to have a minimum of 2 posts before they can submit links in any post or thread.

    Dismiss Notice

Getting an patch error, when trying starting UO and can't load uo.com

Discussion in 'UHall' started by FrejaSP, Dec 13, 2014.

  1. FrejaSP

    FrejaSP Queen of The Outlaws
    Professional Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend Campaign Patron The DarkOutlaws, TDO

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2001
    Messages:
    17,310
    Likes Received:
    3,281
    Not sure what is wrong but it seem like I have trouble, maybe with some DNS.
    If I try to start uo with uo assist, UO assist do have connections problems and it can't start UO.
    If I try start uo without uoassist, using the link to classics client, I get same patch errow as when I try to start it with uo assist.
    If I then find client.exe and start it this way, uo start up and run fine but no uo assist for me :(
    Seem like there may be other us pages that give me trouble too.
    I play from Denmark.
    when I try to open uo.com in my browser, it do get up after a while
    Anyone know what could be wrong
    If I ping UO.com, it get time out.

    C:\Users\Freja>ping uo.com
    Pinger uo.com [54.173.227.134] med 32 byte data:
    Anmodning fik timeout.
    Anmodning fik timeout.
    Anmodning fik timeout.
    Anmodning fik timeout.
    Ping-statistikker for 54.173.227.134:
    Pakker: Sendt = 4, modtaget = 0, tabt = 4 (100% tab),
     
    #1 FrejaSP, Dec 13, 2014
    Last edited: Dec 13, 2014
  2. Mandrake of DF

    Mandrake of DF Lore Keeper
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Messages:
    854
    Likes Received:
    323
    Can you run a traceroute to uo.com?

    Open command promt, then type; tracert www.uo.com

    See what problems you get, and you will also see where the hop is requesting too long time. It can be a ISP problem, or it can be for your internal network (router/modem) that is the problem.

    Also run a ad-aware and a anti virus scan.
     
  3. FrejaSP

    FrejaSP Queen of The Outlaws
    Professional Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend Campaign Patron The DarkOutlaws, TDO

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2001
    Messages:
    17,310
    Likes Received:
    3,281
    Right now, I can't ping it at all
    C:\Users\Freja>pin
    Ping-anmodning kun
    en.
    C:\Users\Freja>ping www.uo.com
    Ping-anmodning kunne ikke finde værten www.uo.com. Kontroller navnet, og prøv igen. (Ping request could not find host www.uo.com. Please check the name and try again)
    C:\Users\Freja>tracert www.uo.com
    Destinationssystemnavn www.uo.com kunne ikke oversættes.(Destination System Name www.uo.com could not be translated)
    C:\Users\Freja>ping uo.com
    Ping-anmodning kunne ikke finde værten uo.com. Kontroller navnet, og prøv igen.
    C:\Users\Freja>tracert uo.com
    Destinationssystemnavn uo.com kunne ikke oversættes.

    It seem very unstable.
    After several try, I got this:
    C:\Users\Freja>tracert uo.com
    Sporer rute til uo.com [54.86.210.28]
    over et maksimum af 30 hop:
    1 <1 ms <1 ms <1 ms 192.168.0.1
    2 <1 ms <1 ms <1 ms Hidded for secure reason
    3 3 ms 2 ms <1 ms 80.71.87.204
    4 24 ms 6 ms 1 ms 80.71.84.173
    5 2 ms 2 ms 2 ms 80.71.64.112
    6 2 ms 2 ms 2 ms ten1-2.core01.tsls.seas-nve.net [80.71.64.7]
    7 2 ms 2 ms 2 ms po1.20G.core01.trin.seas-nve.net [80.71.64.12]
    8 3 ms 2 ms 2 ms be5.40G.core01.taa1.seas-nve.net [80.71.64.29]
    9 2 ms 2 ms 7 ms po8.40G.bord01.taa1.seas-nve.net [80.71.64.61]
    10 5 ms 2 ms 3 ms seas-nve-gw.taas.cust.ip.nianet.dk [5.179.89.213
    ]
    11 35 ms 3 ms 3 ms 93.176.94.94
    12 2 ms 2 ms 2 ms 212.73.252.29
    13 105 ms 104 ms 104 ms 4.69.149.77
    14 155 ms 104 ms 105 ms 4.69.149.77
    15 104 ms 104 ms 104 ms 4.28.125.110
    16 106 ms 108 ms 107 ms 72.21.220.143
    17 109 ms 106 ms 105 ms 205.251.245.242
    18 * * * Anmodning fik timeout.
    19 * * * Anmodning fik timeout.
    20 * * * Anmodning fik timeout.
    21 * * * Anmodning fik timeout.
    22 * * * Anmodning fik timeout.
    23 * *
     
  4. Ludes

    Ludes Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2004
    Messages:
    2,382
    Likes Received:
    648
    Looks to me like your local internet is having some problems.. starting at hop 13 it jumps up there to over 100 ms..
     
  5. FrejaSP

    FrejaSP Queen of The Outlaws
    Professional Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend Campaign Patron The DarkOutlaws, TDO

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2001
    Messages:
    17,310
    Likes Received:
    3,281
    That normal, that's where I go over the sea from Europa to US. My ping to US from Denmark is always 100+
     
  6. Ludes

    Ludes Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2004
    Messages:
    2,382
    Likes Received:
    648
    Aahh .. Gee I'm stumped then..
     
  7. FrejaSP

    FrejaSP Queen of The Outlaws
    Professional Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend Campaign Patron The DarkOutlaws, TDO

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2001
    Messages:
    17,310
    Likes Received:
    3,281
    if you ping ping uo.com, do you then get this IP 54.173.227.134?
    if a dns changes, it take longer before the info get to Denmark. When stratics moved it took several days, I had to get the correct IP and and use that to load stratics
     
  8. Lord Obsidian

    Lord Obsidian Journeyman
    Professional Stratics Veteran Campaign Benefactor

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    Messages:
    202
    Likes Received:
    74
    www.uo.com = 54.173.227.134, that's correct; but you won't get a ping answer since icmp ping seems to be disabled on that server.
     
  9. FrejaSP

    FrejaSP Queen of The Outlaws
    Professional Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend Campaign Patron The DarkOutlaws, TDO

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2001
    Messages:
    17,310
    Likes Received:
    3,281
    ok that make sense.
    Anyway, it seem like everything works again, I can load the pages I had trouble with, I had not yet tried to restart UO Assist and UO but that may be ok again too. I got them both started after several tries earlier, where several pages still failed, so no hurry with closing it down :p
     
  10. TheScoundrelRico

    TheScoundrelRico Stratics Legend
    Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend Secret Society

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2001
    Messages:
    35,539
    Likes Received:
    909
    I was wondering what the problem was since I saw you in gen chat earlier...la


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk