1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Greetings Guest!!

    In order to combat SPAM on the forums, all users are required to have a minimum of 2 posts before they can submit links in any post or thread.

    Dismiss Notice

Grand Fathered House In Trammel?

Discussion in 'UHall' started by Riply, Aug 20, 2014.

  1. Riply

    Riply Lore Keeper
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    Messages:
    937
    Likes Received:
    195
    I have a Trammel house that was created during the first week that Trammel was created. On the house sign it has the comment that it's grand Fathered. I have another house that was created during that same week but says that the house is automatically refreshed.
    Also the house which says grand fathered on the house sign never needs to be refreshed manually, but I believe that is now true on all grand fathered houses.
    Still curious why one says grand fathered and the others does not, any thoughts or info on this?
     
  2. MalagAste

    MalagAste Belaern d'Zhaunil
    Reporter Professional Governor Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend Campaign Supporter Royal Knight

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2000
    Messages:
    18,957
    Likes Received:
    5,449
    Because when they switched it so that you couldn't have two on one account then you had to "choose" one as your Primary. This one auto refreshes.... the other one became "grandfathered" so...... this means that if you were to do something that would mess up your 2 houses on one account the one that is "grandfathered" I think is the one that stays.... the other goes bye bye. It was set as your primary. Hard to remember way back then... especially since I got rid of mine ages ago. But I believe that is the correct thinking. Anyway they should both be fine so long as you don't customize them or try to place another house or resize either of your homes then you should keep them both.
     
    whiterabbit likes this.
  3. Riply

    Riply Lore Keeper
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    Messages:
    937
    Likes Received:
    195
    Only have one house on the grandfathered house, from what I remember grandfathered accounts were only for pre trammel houses.
     
  4. MalagAste

    MalagAste Belaern d'Zhaunil
    Reporter Professional Governor Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend Campaign Supporter Royal Knight

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2000
    Messages:
    18,957
    Likes Received:
    5,449
    No when I started there was trammel... and you could have a house on more than one shard. Then they changed that and I had a house on GL's and my son had one on Pacific. They were grandfathered. There were many reasons for houses to become grandfathered. Though way back when you could have a house per character or some such stuff like that. Then it was one per shard... and you could have one on every shard if you wanted. Wish I had wanted but back then it was hard to find even a 7x7 spot to place in. So it went to one per account period.
     
  5. Mandrake of DF

    Mandrake of DF Lore Keeper
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Messages:
    854
    Likes Received:
    323
    Grandfathered houses are from thoose that had multiple houses when they changed house policy. If you mess up your houses, no one will stay - both will fall. So NEVER place another house or trade one to you! You will loose all the other houses.

    If you won a prize house, that would also become grandfathered made by GM's.

    From what I remember, you had to choose one house as primary when they changed it - and had to refresh the other houses the first year/years then they changed them all to automatic refresh.
     
  6. Lord Nabin

    Lord Nabin High Council Sage - Greater Sosaria
    Professional Premium Stratics Veteran Supporter Glorious Lord ACW

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2007
    Messages:
    4,081
    Likes Received:
    2,259
    I have owned several Grandfathered houses. I have traded them. Placed houses on the accounts etc. Never ever had a problem with them going bad.

    @Nails Warstein could comment on this as well as he has delt with them often enough as well
     
  7. Fogsbane

    Fogsbane Seasoned Veteran
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2006
    Messages:
    308
    Likes Received:
    180
    For me, all my Grandfathered account homes display "This house is Grandfathered".

    My grandfathered account trammel homes say "grandfathered", not "automatically".
    The only grandfathered account home that does not say grandfathered is my Siege Perilous home -
    this one displays "This house is Automatically refreshed".

    My Grandfathered housing has NOT needed to be refreshed.

    The "Codex of Wisdom" help text that pops up when you click on the blue highlighted "Grandfathered" text link listed on the Information tab of the House sign incorrectly states that "Grandfathered" houses need to be manually refreshed. This has not been the case, for me, for as long as I can remember.

    If I am understanding correctly - it does seem odd that you would have a house on a grandfathered account that does not say grandfathered.
     
  8. Poo

    Poo The Grandest of the PooBah’s
    Professional Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend Campaign Benefactor 4H

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2003
    Messages:
    7,839
    Likes Received:
    2,394
    thats interesting.
    so when youve traded the 'Grandfathered houses' did they remain Grandfathered?
    i was always under the assumption that when we traded them they switched over to normal.
    also, you say youve traded houses on those accounts.
    so youve left the grandfathered one and trased the auto refreshing one with no problem?
    just curious, i dont have any left on my accounts but my good friend has an account with like 3 or 4 of them and he's often wondered.
     
  9. Poo

    Poo The Grandest of the PooBah’s
    Professional Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend Campaign Benefactor 4H

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2003
    Messages:
    7,839
    Likes Received:
    2,394
    id imagine that is probably due to the fact that they now allow everyone to place a house on siege and retain a house on normal shards - siege housing is now totally separate then the normal housing system off of the production shards.
     
    Fogsbane likes this.
  10. CovenantX

    CovenantX Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    Messages:
    2,725
    Likes Received:
    1,393
    I still have 5 houses on one account, none of them need to be refreshed, unless the account were to go down.
     
  11. Lord Nabin

    Lord Nabin High Council Sage - Greater Sosaria
    Professional Premium Stratics Veteran Supporter Glorious Lord ACW

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2007
    Messages:
    4,081
    Likes Received:
    2,259

    Yes I have traded the grandfathered Malas Castles over the years back and forth many times. Both with and without normal house placements attached to the accounts. In addition I have added and removed secondary houses on those accounts several times with no issues to the grandfathered status of a house on the same account.

    There are also various Grandfathered Housing lots in game where I have traded as well. Some of those plots were customized. While I did not change the foundation size I was able to remodel and design the houses at will without any issue in losing their grandfathered status.

    I have never tried to resize a grandfathered houses plot. No clue on what would happen with that.

    I have also never worked directly with the little 7x7 grandfathered houses from long long ago.
     
    #11 Lord Nabin, Aug 20, 2014
    Last edited: Aug 20, 2014
    Zuckuss and CovenantX like this.
  12. Fogsbane

    Fogsbane Seasoned Veteran
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2006
    Messages:
    308
    Likes Received:
    180
    Thank You Nabin for this Nugget of detail!
    I have wondered about this many, many times, but had never seen a specific direct answer to this.

    I still think I'll keep my classic design, but who knows perhaps one day the mood will suit me.

    again, Thank You ~
     
  13. Lord Nabin

    Lord Nabin High Council Sage - Greater Sosaria
    Professional Premium Stratics Veteran Supporter Glorious Lord ACW

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2007
    Messages:
    4,081
    Likes Received:
    2,259
    Keep in mind that this was not a classic style house plot it was a customization plot. I have never changed a plot from Classic to Customization plot nor have I tried the resize my house function on a grandfathered plot.
     
    CovenantX likes this.
  14. Fogsbane

    Fogsbane Seasoned Veteran
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2006
    Messages:
    308
    Likes Received:
    180
    Understood. I should have quoted the whole paragraph - I understood that from your original. Thanks for the clarification.
     
  15. Goodmann

    Goodmann Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2008
    Messages:
    2,890
    Likes Received:
    1,124
    With the introduction of trammel that was the end of grandfathered houses. I remember giving up 5 houses for a nice sandy plot in malas............................After trammel there was no such thing as grandfathered houses. They need to reopen it to at least 2 houses per account
     
  16. Lord Nabin

    Lord Nabin High Council Sage - Greater Sosaria
    Professional Premium Stratics Veteran Supporter Glorious Lord ACW

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2007
    Messages:
    4,081
    Likes Received:
    2,259
    They have.

    You can have a house on any shard and a house on Siege
     
    kelmo likes this.
  17. Goodmann

    Goodmann Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2008
    Messages:
    2,890
    Likes Received:
    1,124
    They should advertise Siege as a single player game bc it's certainly not a MMO
     
    Alstadt likes this.
  18. kelmo

    kelmo Old and in the way
    Professional Stratics Veteran Alumni Dread Lord

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    17,378
    Likes Received:
    4,696
  19. kelmo

    kelmo Old and in the way
    Professional Stratics Veteran Alumni Dread Lord

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    17,378
    Likes Received:
    4,696
  20. Lord Nabin

    Lord Nabin High Council Sage - Greater Sosaria
    Professional Premium Stratics Veteran Supporter Glorious Lord ACW

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2007
    Messages:
    4,081
    Likes Received:
    2,259
    Of Course its an MMO,

    someone is always either offering to help me or slaying me on the spot even though I am just a harmless old Sage wandering the lands of Sosaria.

    It's quite fun actually. Finally saved up enough to plant a good size classic house.
     
  21. Kolka

    Kolka Babbling Loonie
    Professional Campaign Patron

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2013
    Messages:
    2,403
    Likes Received:
    3,095
    Ha! I created a character to do just that. Its been a loooooong time since I had to start a character from zero though. And I feel a little cheated that I haven't been PK'd yet......
     
  22. Acid Rain

    Acid Rain Lore Keeper
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2006
    Messages:
    773
    Likes Received:
    599
    All grandfathered homes may be customized as long as you don't change the foundations.
    The exception being L-shaped and towers. L-shaped can't be customized without changing
    the footprint (foundation) which nulls grandfather status. Towers have the overhangs so
    customization isn't available either.

    All the old 7x7 may be customized as I have 2 on Atl (alt homes for chars). I made them
    3 story then added a 4th goza mat floor for garden sheds, lighthouses, map tables, etc,...
    It should be noted that when customizing the 7x7s you will lose one space in front as the
    game sees your steps (whether you have them or not) as potentially 'your' house. This will
    effectively make your home a 6x7 on the 1st floor (6 being north to south). The original
    7x7s by today's game standards were actually 8x7 as the game did not view steps as being
    part of the house (compared to customized homes).

    From what I can remember, original there was no limit to homes owned (as I lived out of
    2 blue and 2 green tents all placed by the same char back in the day). Then it went to one
    home per character per shard. Shortly after, it changed to one home per shard then one home
    per account. Of course now, as stated, its 2 homes per account as long as one is on Siege.

    I remember for months having to manually refresh all my homes across all shards because
    they didn't refresh unless doors were opened. Don't remember how long that lasted but I do
    remember the relief I felt one day when logging on to refresh them all and found them not
    needing it.

    One of my greatest wishes for UO would be to allow L-shaped homes to be squared off IF
    allowed by placement rules and made customize-able without changing grandfathered status.
    Then I could have my museum on Atl instead of on another shard where I have a larger
    customized home. Sadly, there are not enough players in this situation to ever have a loud
    enough voice for the powers that be to care.
     
    Zuckuss and Fogsbane like this.
  23. old gypsy

    old gypsy Grand Poobah
    Professional Stratics Veteran Campaign Patron PITMUCK

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
    Messages:
    5,836
    Likes Received:
    5,274
    If I ever tried Siege again [I have a hard time imagining it] I'd have to be a wandering beggar without much ambition, carrying nothing more than a muffin in my backpack. That's a tough world for someone who doesn't care much for hunting and avoids PvP like the plague. :rolleyes:
     
    #23 old gypsy, Aug 21, 2014
    Last edited: Aug 21, 2014
    Zuckuss likes this.