1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Greetings Guest!!

    In order to combat SPAM on the forums, all users are required to have a minimum of 2 posts before they can submit links in any post or thread.

    Dismiss Notice

[BUG] Hard time moving objects in legacy containers

Discussion in 'UO Enhanced Client Discussion' started by Miriandel, Aug 7, 2009.

  1. Miriandel

    Miriandel Seasoned Veteran
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    Messages:
    387
    Likes Received:
    7
    Hi guys, it seems since last patch I can't reliably move objects around in my containers.
    Either they plain don't select, or won't move even if selected.

    I got the same issue on the wife's computer.
     
  2. IanJames

    IanJames Certifiable
    Stratics Veteran Alumni

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,769
    Likes Received:
    101
    as though the end of the pointer doesn't match up with where the item is right?
     
  3. EnigmaMaitreya

    EnigmaMaitreya Crazed Zealot
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    3,402
    Likes Received:
    0
    Mostly yes, but there are times that no matter what, I can get the object highlighted and it wont move, wont pick up wont do nothing.

    Close the container, open it and walla all is well with the world once again.

    This has only happened to me in Legacy Containers.
     
  4. pgcd

    pgcd Guest

    It's been happening to me a lot when lumberjacking with a beetle, but it looks like you don't have to actually close the animal's backpack, and just moving it a bit resets things so you can grab what you need - if you need to move other stuff, rinse and repeat.
     
  5. Fink

    Fink Guest

    I've had this bug since the legacy container highlighting went in.

    To use/pick up/drop into any object you're having difficulty with, you have to mouse-over the item *without* highlighting it. It's backwards but it usually works.

    The highlight seems to flicker on and off with these objects. This seems to happen most often when items are overlapping.
     
  6. Arcus

    Arcus Grand Poobah
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2004
    Messages:
    6,452
    Likes Received:
    107
    Should have lloked around before starting my own thread. Im having the same problems. Seems to happen on all backpacks (mine ,vendors, etc) exactly as you described.
     
  7. Miriandel

    Miriandel Seasoned Veteran
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    Messages:
    387
    Likes Received:
    7
    While talking about this (which will most likely be fixed since it's gamebreaking), I really miss the drag and drop precision from the 2D client.

    With the SA client, items will never drop where I want them to and I have to try several times before they position where i want.
     
  8. EnigmaMaitreya

    EnigmaMaitreya Crazed Zealot
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    3,402
    Likes Received:
    0
    *Shrug* I suspect the problem, when fixed, will also fix the odd positioning.
     
  9. Arcus

    Arcus Grand Poobah
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2004
    Messages:
    6,452
    Likes Received:
    107
    I was only on for a few minutes after the patch last night and it seems this problem was solved, at least it didnt seems as bad.

    Anyone else see any improvement?
     
  10. Fink

    Fink Guest

    I think with the positioning of items they've done an admirable job of maintaining the "offset" the items have in Legacy.

    Take a full potion keg as an example; it is offset to the left of the cursor. You can place it in the left side of a pack and it positions itself beyond where you can place say a runebook or something. They have made this consistent between the two clients.

    That said, the actual positioning of items dropped into containers is very iffy.
     
  11. Harlequin

    Harlequin Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
    Messages:
    2,716
    Likes Received:
    32
    Ahhh! So it's not only me. Yeah, I had to move the cursor a bit until it's on a spot that doesn't turn the item yellow and show the propeties. Only happens in legacy container mode.

    In grid mode, no such issues since entire grid highlights.



    Yes, they fixed the offset a bit, but it's still off. The upper boundary and lower boundary where items can go is offset around 10 pixels too low as well. This makes things you try to place near the top appear in the centre. And things you try to put at the bottom go over the "rim" of the container opening.