1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Greetings Guest!!

    In order to combat SPAM on the forums, all users are required to have a minimum of 2 posts before they can submit links in any post or thread.

    Dismiss Notice

Hardware demanding Events............

Discussion in 'UHall' started by popps, Mar 28, 2011.

  1. popps

    popps Always Present
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2004
    Messages:
    13,445
    Likes Received:
    461
    While participating at the latest Virtuebane Event (but also from previous such Events...) and hearing really many players lamenting serious LAG issues to the verge, for some, of making the whole Event hardly playable, I would imagine due to the many players participating and to the heavy use of heavy graphics spells, I was wondering what type of hardware had those players capable of playing such heavy participation Events, smoothlessly.

    I am not interested to hear about T1 connection lines and 10,000 dollars computer systems, I am trying to find out, for all those players who might be interested to play Ultima Online also under heavy stress conditions, a reasonable minimum configuration both in computer hardware and in connection, capable to run also heavily demanding Events.

    The number 1 Questions, before anything else, is whether you feel it is the computer hardware that helps the most OR the speed of the connection.

    Of course, having both the best is preferable, but was this not possible, can better computer hardware "make it up" for a slower connection OR can a faster connection "make it up" for a more average computer hardware ?

    Question number 2 would be, as for computer hardware, what would be the most crucial hardware to look at for any given player who'd like to improve their mass participation Events to a level of smooth playing. CPU ? System RAM ? Video CPU ? Video Memory ?

    Is there a difference in the hardware needed for those players using the Classic Client versus those players using the Enhanced Client ? In what ways ?

    Again, clearly having the best is preferable, but since we are trying to give a hand to players who might be on a budget, pin pointing the most important pieces of one's own hardware might help players to improve their gaming experience in Ultima Online without having to change their entire system.......

    Sometimes the easiest thing might be to add system or video memory to an existing system. So, if that could do the trick (assuming that one has the bare minimal CPU power or Video CPU power...), many players could improve their UO game play with a reasonably little expense.... Changing video card might be more demanding, not to mention having to change CPU or even motherboard and CPU to meet the computing power needed to participate smoothly at massively attended UO Events.

    The third question would be the connection.
    Since there is all sorts of connection speeds out there, depending on where one may live and of the costs that one might afford, what would be the minimal speed connection that one might need to ensure smooth playing at massively participated Events ?
    Not all can have in their area cable as available and DSL can have various top speeds.

    Lastly, the Operating System. Are there out there Operating Systems which would be preferable over others because they make a better use of the software running and their usage of the system memory so as to make a player's participation at massively attended Events in Ultima Online more smooth ?

    Thanks.
     
  2. hungry4knowhow

    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2008
    Messages:
    579
    Likes Received:
    116
    Well i'll start by saying if you think T1 is crazy fast then thats your first problem. The max speed of a T1 line is 1.5mbps.

    Second I'd say that ping to the server your playing on is most important. That being directly correlated to your connection.

    Third, I'd say if your in classic client, RAM is more important than speed. If your in EC, then its Ram over Speed. But anyting in the Core 2 Duo E8800+ should be more than fine.

    Ram - If your running less than 3-4gb of RAM these days then its time to upgrade to a newer processor and Win7. All of this is pennies on the dollar. I'll add that if you have 4GB+ of RAM and are running less than Vista your not actually using the 4GB. And if your running Vista period you are doing your computer a disservice.

    Backround instances - Remember back in the day when running UO +ICQ +anything else would cause lag? Ok, with the EC, if your going to be running a **** ton of applications and expect it to work on par with the CC in the same instance your crazy. Shut some of that stuff down or upgrade your RAM/Processor/Connection. In that order.

    Thats all i can add.
     
  3. aarons6

    aarons6 Certifiable
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    1,897
    Likes Received:
    31
    i only lagged out on a couple of the large explosions that caused your screen to turn white.
    and even then it was just a small pause for a second or so.

    my system is by no means super powerful.
    its amd 64 single core 939 socket.
    clocked to 2.96ghz
    3 gb ram
    and an ati 5770 1gb x16 video card.

    i run only the EC client.
     
  4. Farsight

    Farsight Crazed Zealot
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    3,191
    Likes Received:
    36
    My system is a 7 year old system (chipset unknown, as I'm not at my play computer now) running windows XP.

    I lag at huge events, but otherwise I run fine.

    My laptop is 4 years old and runs Vista. I can't use the EC or sail ships on that account for reasons that has nothing to do with UO-design (well, it does, but that's not something I'll ever expect them to do something about since that computer is in the vast minority, and changing the graphics to suit my computer would be a waste of Dev-time).

    Anyway, for events, if I stay out of the center of the action I have few problems. I typically run a ressurection service and only run in on my archer for the big-bad. I get my share of phat lewt that way and can enjoy the game my way. I also have an extensive network of people who tell me if something good is dropping on something small, just in case (has happened only once).

    Moral of story: adapt. It's part of the game.
     
  5. popps

    popps Always Present
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2004
    Messages:
    13,445
    Likes Received:
    461
    Thanks to all for the replies so far...



    That's a necessity of life, I guess.......

    Nonetheless, sometimes, it "might" be possible with some small adjustments which do not empty one's own wallet, to be able to make one's own playing in Ultima Online a more enjoyable and complete one.

    The purpose of this thread, I hope, is to provide some usefull information to players who might find themselves at odds with Ultima Online, occasionally, when attending massively participated Events, to make small adjustments wherever possible, so that their gaming experience in UO could be enhanced.

    But in order to make such small adjustments, players need to know what to look for and what to change in their systems/connections and up to what point, should they be on a budget, wherever that might be possible.

    So, those who are capable of participating at massively attended Events in UO with no LAG or hardly any, without necessarily using the best computer hardware out there nor the best connection, might be of help to fellow players who might not currently be enjoying Events (and so UO) as they might want to.
     
  6. Stig

    Stig Guest

    My system is old, 6 years plus, on most days lag is not an issue , though sometimes there are periods of lag and even freezes.

    As for Events they were useally unplayable untill the past round of events where something must have been done as I can now participate, admitidly i still lag at theses events but not to the point that i cant take part.
     
  7. Smokin

    Smokin Guest

    First off learn to clean your system of crap. Cookies extra programs all kinds of little add on software adware spyware and viruses.

    Next I honestly would not advise anyone to upgrade a system that uses DDR PC3200 400 ram and under or AGP/PCI video cards. Even DDR2 is going to get expensive soon so if you you need it then run and grab some right away. Its going to go up in price soon. The only way if your using DDR ram or AGP to upgrade is to buy used cheap if you can.

    Building a new system is really quite easy and cheap. You could build an AMD system that runs UO really well, my guess for about 500 dollars. But that is going by Canadian prices. Read up on it if you have not done it before, things to check are what size power supply after you decide all the components you want is very important. Going over 4 GB of ram is a waste in my eyes unless your playing really demanding games. So if you want to stick with a 32 bit operating system that is all you will buy. It will only show as 3.5 or so but thats loads. I am pretty sure winXP is fine for UO because I don't they use DirectX 10 or 11 so you can stick with it. That will save a few bucks when building a new system.

    As for connect speed well some just can not help that, its about location and what you pay for, if you do not want to pay for the faster speeds then expect LAG sorry. If you do pay for it then contact your provider and complain. It could be a cable line problem or you have it split or something stupid like using gold connectors cause it helps LOL which it doesn't.
     
  8. Sevin0oo0

    Sevin0oo0 Guest

    true, silver, and even copper are better, but I think since most people don't do maintenance on connectors, they use gold because, over time, it doesn't form oxides making it perform best
     
  9. Nexus

    Nexus Site Support
    Administrator Professional Wiki Moderator Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend Campaign Patron

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    5,573
    Likes Received:
    1,837
    I'm running on a 5 year old eMachine which I got for free and boosted the RAM, added a video card, and swapped out the power supply (eMachines biggest fault is under powering their systems resulting to Board Failures etc.). I'm currently Running on a dual boot system, Windows Vista 64-bit and Linux Mint 10 64-bit. Each OS has it's own hard drive and I have both the EC and CC installed on each OS. I hate to say it but the EC runs better for me on a non-supported platform than it does on Windows.

    I honestly don't think the faults are those of the EC alone, I do think it has a memory leak, but I also think this fault is exaggerated by the shoddy resource hogging performance of Windows, it doesn't matter if you are talking XP, Vista, or Windows 7, they all 3 call on a significantly higher amount of system resources than any Linux Distribution I've experimented with.
     
  10. Lord Raven

    Lord Raven Seasoned Veteran
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2009
    Messages:
    326
    Likes Received:
    7
    I'm curious (and not much of an expert on hardware), does Windows XP have a limit on the amount of RAM it can use? I'm thinking of the old 640k DOS limit...

    I use a dual-core laptop with 2gigs of ram to play UO and was thinking of upping it to 4... which the laptop will take but will it actually do anything?
     
  11. Nexus

    Nexus Site Support
    Administrator Professional Wiki Moderator Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend Campaign Patron

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    5,573
    Likes Received:
    1,837
    Depends on if you are on a 32 or 64 bit OS.. Generally 32 Bit OS have the limitation of only being able to support 4 gb of RAM.
     
  12. Woodsman

    Woodsman Guest

    I run EC through the latest version of CrossOver for Mac thanks to the advice of somebody I met in-game as opposed to through a VM, and it runs great. I did some testing to make sure some of the EC crashes I was having were due to the EC and not being under Mac OS X and it seemed to run better under CrossOver than native Windows. It's very strange. I was emulating a Windows XP environment under CrossOver.

    I have a very good connection, a high-end CPU and graphics card, and plenty of RAM, and can still stutter in Luna. That is something that has not changed over the years. Actually it did change, it used to be a lot worse - I may stutter a few steps when walking into Luna, but it clears up pretty fast. In the past, It would take a few minutes.
     
  13. Nexus

    Nexus Site Support
    Administrator Professional Wiki Moderator Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend Campaign Patron

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    5,573
    Likes Received:
    1,837

    Same here, the only issue I run into is with sound, sometime it stutters, but that is more an issue with my sound card than anything else.
     
  14. Liquid_Ape

    Liquid_Ape Guest

    The Virtuebane event I attended, where Dawn died, I was on a recently built inexpensive "low end" system.

    Intel Core i3-530 Clarkdale 2.93GHz LGA 1156 73W Dual-Core Desktop Processor
    ZOTAC H55ITX-A-E LGA 1156 Intel H55 Mini ITX Motherboard
    Crucial 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1333 (PC3 10600)
    OCZ Agility 2 OCZSSD2-2AGTE60G 2.5" 60GB SATA II MLC Internal Solid State Drive (SSD)

    Using the on-board i3 graphics and running Windows 7 Pro 64 bit I experienced very little lag. Ping times to my shard of choice are in the mid 60's.

    This was with the classic client.
     
  15. MalagAste

    MalagAste Belaern d'Zhaunil
    Reporter Professional Governor Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend Campaign Supporter Royal Knight

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2000
    Messages:
    18,967
    Likes Received:
    5,453
    I used to always use the 2d client until I purchased a new pc last year. Since then I've found that the EC runs far better than 2d does on my new PC.

    New pc has Windows 7 with 6GB of Ram and a good graphics card. My biggest problem however is my ISP.... which supposedly offers High Speed internet "Up to" 20 Mbs... however what I've gotten of late has been more like 4mps..... that's on a GOOD day. Often in peak usage times I was getting 2mps.... and since they are pretty much the ONLY game in town when it comes to internet outside of dial-up... pretty much have you over a barrel. After MONTHS of complaining they finally have me up around 8 or 9mps on a good day and very occasionally I break up to 15mps...

    However I too am certain there is a memory leak with the EC and it is most visible when mobs do the Nova Blast (The large rings of fire that spread out over the entire screen). This causes my system to lag horribly and if the mob does it more than 2x's in a row like Corgul can do (I've seen him do it as many as 4 or 5 times in rapid secession) it causes my pc to lock up and will often crash the client. But then usually if I shut down the client and restart it then it's fine... though sometimes when it's REALLY bad I can't even shut down the client very easily.

    I'd say check your ping do a trace to UO see what sort of speeds your getting normally then go to luna and run the trace again..... see if you can see a big change. It may be that your internet is the fault and not your computer as I found out.
     
  16. Zosimus

    Zosimus Grand Inquisitor
    Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2004
    Messages:
    4,370
    Likes Received:
    720
    I am pretty sure that topics similar to this has been discussed in the tech forums. I have responded to some posts before about stuff like this. Not just for EM events but in general. Do some research Popps on the forums before you start posting. Ram and video card is your two main areas of focus. Background programs that are not needed and use to much ram memory can be turned off.